>Freakin Jammies

>
Tomorrow is the last day of Dr. Seuss week at the Center. And, it’s pajama day. Where else in the world can you go to work in your jammies? The children will all be crazy because one: they’re in their jammies, and two: it’s out of routine. One could ask why, with everything else we get to deal with on a daily basis, would we add to the mayhem? Cuz it’s a freakin blast!

I began working at the Center one July a few years ago. I was brandy new. I didn’t know parents, grandparents, staff, or even the kids’ names. My co-teacher, (the first one) who was VERY pregnant at the time, put masking tape on the backs of their shirts the first day with their names written on it. That little trick was actually a great help and has been used since then. Did I mention my co-teacher was very pregnant? Well, her pregnancy was eventful, to say the least. One day, she left early. It was in September. It was Grandparent’s Day. We were supposed to perform some little thing during snack (our lunchroom has a stage in it-lucky us!). Our plan was to read the Napping House and at the end, go kind of crazy. (You should read the book, it’s neat). Because the story is about everyone taking a nap…you guessed it. We wore jammies. (This was my very first time doing so, by the way). The children, as you might imagine, were a bit rambunctious. So, it’s snack time. I am alone. The children are rowdy. They’re only 2 years old. The person who said they would come and help me never showed up. OMG. I have 14 two year olds, herding them onto the stage (no easy feat, mind you) to read a story. The lunchroom is PACKED with grandparents. Did I mention I only started there in July? That I was brandy new? The children, upon spying their relatives in the audience, proceeded to scramble off the stage and run to them. Every. Last. One. Of. Them. What a disaster. I was so stressed I thought I would pass out. I was so embarrassed. Devastated. Everyone was laughing! Aaarrrggg!!!

Know what? They weren’t laughing at me. They were laughing because it was freakin hilarious! And that’s when I learned to simply go with the chaos and enjoy the ride. Good thing, too because I couldn’t begin to tell you how many times those kinds of things have happened since then. Children are like the weather-you can predict, given particular sets of circumstances, what their behavior will be like. But don’t always bank on it. They know how to live in the moment and, if you let them, they’ll take you with them on some pretty cool rides.

So, tomorrow I get to go to work in jammies. Truth be known, work is the only reason I buy jammies (I prefer t-shirts and shorts). The children will swing from the rafters and bounce off the walls and scream like lunatics. But that’s okay. Their teachers know that it’s the perfect opportunity to do some screaming and bouncing and swinging of their own. And the children think we’re a freakin blast!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on March 4, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

