>The Magic of Rain

>
I tell people it’s the Irish in me. I just love rainy, cloudy, gray days. They’re soft and gentle. They smell good. They make the colors everywhere more intense: the greens are deeper and richer; the browns of the trees and the soil are almost black, providing wonderful contrast to all the other colors…there’s a clean, shiny feeling, much like when snow is fresh on the ground. A pale slate kind of gray is a really beautiful backdrop for all the myriad things that make up the world around us. Colors either blend in a soft, pretty kind of way, or they pop, creating a pleasing contrast. Rain seems to take the edges off the corners of my day, cushioning me, drowning out the noise (internal as well as external) that constantly bombards me. Rain makes me calm; it’s peaceful; it soothes my soul. (I’m not talking about the angry, harsh downpours-just the soft showery kind.) Ever wonder why people say they like the sound of rain on the roof? Why they say it makes them sleep well? Rain speaks to our inner child. Babies and children sleep better when there is some sort of white noise, a steady thrum, audible, but in the background. It is said it reminds them of their mothers’ heartbeat, heard in the womb.

Music soothes the savage beast. I believe it. Rain eases the weary spirit of our inner child. I know it.


About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on March 13, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

