>Small Things

>If there is one quote that gets repeated about a thousand gajillion times, it’s “it’s the little things…”. Well, it really is the little things.

Today, two boys in my class actually told me they had to poop BEFORE they did it in their pants. AND, they made it to the bathroom without any slippage. Wow. It might seem like a small achievement in the grand scheme of things, but let me tell you, those boys were proud. So of course, I had to alert all the available teachers and Director and Assistant. Much shouting, clapping, and high-fiving ensued, as did the administering of stickers and hand-drawn smiley tattoos on the backs of hands. Poop that makes it to the potty is a BIG deal.

A little girl in my class will one day, no doubt, be a famous artist. I have several pieces stowed away, (gifts, mind you, freely given) for the day when her art becomes astronomically expensive. Then, I intend to pull out those little marker scribblings and auction them off. Maybe that trip to Europe I’ve always wanted will finally happen…when we marvel over her renderings, she just beams. She really is fantastic for her age. And, she gives me one everyday. Just because.

Co-Teacher brought lunch today-delicious homemade spaghetti. Like the little old lady in the Bible, she gave out of her little and created much. Also, Co-Teacher will always listen with empathy, even when she is barely holding it together. Just offering her ear…it’s not necessarily much, but it’s everything.

Assistant gives hugs for no apparent reason. It reminds my inner self that the Great Lie still exists, but that it’s a lie.

Director tells wonderful stories about her family experiences and for a few moments, I can feel the glow off them as if I had been a part of a family that actually cared about each other.

Former Co-Teacher, while dropping her daughter off and then heading to Hospital for a Procedure, brought a small container of a dish I can’t cook. Aaawww, how much more thoughtful can you get?

Husband always, ALWAYS asks how my day is going or went. And he really wants to know and he listens.

Today, I was sad for a little bit. Today, it felt like a load of bricks landed on the back of my head and the pain was almost more than I could bear. Today, Co-Teacher had to fill in for absent teachers, leaving me alone with a class full of Spring Fever Sufferers. (Yes, children really do get spring fever-just hide out in any classroom and watch.) Today, bunches of small things saved me from myself, circumstances, and The Great Lie.

Never dismiss the little things. They could be saving you.

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on March 23, 2010, in dark/sparkle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

