>Well Trained Pets

>Another gorgeous day, nice and cool and quiet. Love having the windows open, especially since, for the past eight years, that hasn’t been a real option (apartment living). The only downside today is the wicked little monkey/gremlin creature seems to be paying me a visit…

Having the windows open seems to be rather a treat for Kitty, too. She’s quite comical when she’s on the back porch, sitting on the dryer, hunkered down and watching birds and other small animals. Her tail swishes furiously, her body quivers, and her whiskers twitch. Yesterday, I watched her while she observed a robin. He sat on the neighbor’s fence, chirping away (and doing some business), never knowing that only a screen was keeping him from a painful and messy death.

Yeah, Kitty likes the windows open, perhaps too much. We have to keep the blinds down (but open) in our bedroom because we’re afraid she’ll get too excited and break the screen.

We also have two doors on our back porch so we open one for her, allowing her access to the washer and dryer, and of course the windows. She now thinks (Kitty is a very quick study) that just because I’ve opened the doors early the past few days (I’m on vacay, so I can) that I’m supposed to open them all the time for her. This morning, Kitty came and woke me at 4am. I checked for food. She had some. She didn’t head to her tree for play. Nope. She went right to the back door. I looked at her and asked Are you kidding me? For real? You woke me up at this time of morning just so you could go “outside”? Aaaarrrrgggg!!! She just meowed at me and waited for me to finish my whispered tirade. Honey was still asleep and I was trying to be very quiet-he had to be up at 5:30am.

I’m wondering, who’s the master and who’s the pet? And, do I really want to know?

One more thing. Cats are the world’s most effective predator (it’s a fact-they hunt over a 1,000 species). Why is there still a monkey/gremlin creature in our house? Seems like Kitty Boss should be doing a few things in return, you know, the way people give dogs treats when they perform…? I’m just sayin…

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on April 4, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

