>Pets, Faries and Naughtiness

>On Friday, we’re having a “pet show” in our classroom. We’re talking about pets- what they eat, where they sleep, what they can do, which have fur, scales, spikes, and what makes them special. Some of the kids don’t actually have a pet so they get to talk about a toy pet, or, in one case, an adopted pet at Nana’s house.

I was thinking about what to do at the pet show (I’ve never been to one, so I’m pretty clueless) and Googled some info. There’s some really neat ideas I can springboard off of: have the kids hold the animals they’re bringing Friday and “obey commands” such as sit, roll over, speak, etc. They’ll love that. Then they can do tricks, whatever they think of. Also, with hula hoops, there are all sorts of things we can do. I’m thinking about doing a scavenger hunt and a “hide and seek the doggy bone” game. All these activities they have to do while holding their animals. That will really test their coordination and concentration. At the end of the show, I have ribbons and trophies I found at Party City and each child and their “pet” can receive one.

The thing is, most games and activities are dog based. I’m trying to think of other things….processing live and out loud here…we could hide something in the sand box and have the kids find it-like cats “hide” things in sand *tee hee*. Okay, I’m naughty! Just so you know, kids do it too, sometimes!!! Ha-we could use paper cups, get a mouthful of water and see how far we could squirt it out of our mouths to represent the fish pet category…hmmmm, to represent mice and gerbils/hamsters….we could put our hands behind our backs and eat cheese cubes off napkins….?….what about lizards/iguanas? Sorry, I’m not eating flies, frogs, or worms!!! Maybe we could slither across the gym floor while rolling a plastic egg with our noses? The gym may be off limits due to the preparation for Center Celebration…I really don’t know anything about hedgehogs…Bouncy balls! Cats chase anything and we could chase bouncy balls!!!! Note to self: go to Party City-get hula hoops and bouncy balls. Also, batteries for camera. Birds! I forgot birds! Birds like mirrors, bells, and….maybe they could pick up paper towels with their toes? Dang, I sound crazy!

Updates: Ordered 3 pieces of jewelry from Val. Gorgeous pieces. Found some really cool artwork I’m going to have to have, too.

The only headaches I’ve had lately have been the occasional sinus/allergy kind that gets knocked out with sinus/allergy stuff. Sweet.

Today was MUCH calmer than yesterday. No imaginary items were fought over, no cupcakes stolen. Lots of little humorous moments to aid weary teachers who are adjusting to the children’s adjustment to warm weather. Did you get that?

Since we’re working all day on Saturday for the big Center event, Director is giving us a free comp day. Cool.

Well, my brain is wandering off without me so I guess it’s time to sign off.

Till tomorrow….

Birds eat worms. Gummies? But what to do with them? Maybe while I’m asleep the Idea Fairies will drop by…and bring the house cleaning fairies…..good night! Zzzzzzzzzzzz…..

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on April 20, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

