>Monsters….Closer Than We Think…

>

It’s supposed to be a very productive day. To that end, well, let’s just say I’ve had more productive days…I have accomplished some things, but not nearly enough. What can I say? I’m easily distracted.

While feeling a bit snack-y and munching on some popcorn (and sincerely planning to finish my tasks afterward…) I made the mistake of trolling through the channels on TV. Mistake! I like history and mystery so when I came upon a movie with Johnny Depp about Jack the Ripper, I decided to just record it. And, you know, just watch a little while I finished off my snack. K, the movie was really weird and definitely had it’s own take on the historical evidence. It did offer an intriguing theory…it was like the proverbial train wreck-I couldn’t look away…

After the movie, I decided to Google info about when the documents were unsealed that had been previously locked away by Queen Victoria. I knew it was for 100 years, but I couldn’t remember when I watched the special on TV. Turns out the TV special must have been in 1988, 100 years after the records were sealed. (History/Mystery-not a new thing.) While scrolling down the offerings Google presented me with, I saw a site that was supposed to be a really authentic depository of information and records relating to the White Chapel murders. Turns out, it really is legit. They dispense with the mythology and present data, real and unsubstantiated. And the unsubstantiated parts, they point out the reasons for their lack of acceptance.

What I found most disturbing were the few photos. Not of Mary Kelly, as I am (oh so thankfully) unable to figure out what I’m looking at, and then only briefly, but the mortuary pictures. And the coroner-type person’s report on Mary Kelly’s crime scene. Dang. These were women who, for whatever reason, lived a life of unimaginable degradation, pain, sorrow, and desolation. And, you know, maybe sometimes they even thought that death would bring release, an end to the futility of the reality in which they found themselves. Remember, that was a time in which children worked in factories like disposable machines-cheap assets easily replaced. There was no sympathy for women working the streets. If death was a release for them, it’s manner was most definitely not. The complete disregard for their humanity, the way they were abused, like something carelessly tossed or kicked aside…and the way they were sensationalized…it grieves me to know that we, as humans, have the capacity, not only for such violence, but arrogance. To be able to think, to make it okay in one’s mind to simply take a person, their life, the lives of everyone around them, and just do with it as one pleases…like a frog on a dissection table (I absolutely HATE biology classes!!!!!). What gives anyone the right to subjugate and decree such things on their fellow humans? Bloody Hell!!! (Seriously, no pun intended-it’s my fav swear phrase…) The pictures, while disturbing just because of what they are, bothered me because their dignity was taken away. They were brutalized, then left for public show. These women already sacrificed their dignity and modesty for personal reasons. But, any last shred rightfully theirs just because they were human beings and thus deserved respect at their deaths, was viciously torn from them by the manner in which they were left-on display, as if the monster wanted to demonstrate his assumed superior status over these “less than nothings” he disposed of like so much rubbish.

As I write this, I want to wish the monster suffered horribly before he eventually died of whatever. But I am checked. In truth, we do things like this everyday, with words. Got to go chew on that for a while….dang.

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on May 2, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >After reading your post, I was reminded that most people's lives are never touched with such madness..which is a good thing. Oddly enough my own life has been touched, directly and indirectly, more than once.You have inspired me to write a post (or 2) about my own experiences with this madness…

  2. >wow… i'm sorry to hear that. i will be looking…

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

