>Disappeared….

>

Do you ever just get in one of those moods where you want to watch some fav movies? Well, tonight I watched Transformers 2 for about the 6th time, and afterward, Inkheart for about the 5th time….what can I say? I love a good story….Anyway, I finally decided to get a shower and go to bed. While in that process, an idea popped into my head about a line of blog posts, including the first in the series….I’ve learned to listen to that Idea Voice (check for that specific story sometime in the poetry blog…) So, a preface: my mom and grandparents were great story tellers. Not meaning they made up great tales. No, they told family history in such a way that it made you feel as if you were experiencing it with them, along with all the appropriate emotions….the same way Director does. I say that to say this: I don’t know if I can present these posts with the same talent….but I will try….here goes…..

Disappeared

I grew up in a very rural area and during a time when everyone knew everyone else, including all their related gossipy issues. If you had a telephone, you were on a party line…people look at me strangely when I say “party line.” If we (kids) were out and misbehaving, it was expected for any nearby adult to make sure we got back in line or they could administer consequences of their choice (no one ever did anything other than yell at us and call our parents). If there was a crisis, the whole community would gather together to see it through and lend whatever support or resources that were needed. Are you getting the picture? Okay…

During the summer, my mom, grandmother, and aunts would can vegetables, freeze fruit, cook and freeze soup, etc. (Grandparents had given each of their 6 kids an acre of land and it was pretty much situated around Grandparent’s house-so we were close in all sorts of ways.) Usually, the canning took place at Grandma’s, which was convenient because while us grand-kids were still babies, we could be left in our cribs at naptime-our moms were less than 50 yards away. In fact, back then, if you wanted something and couldn’t use the phone (remember, party line) it was quite common for everyone to just open their front or back door and give a shout-probably where the term came from, don’t you think? I digress…

One time, while I was about 2 and my sister was still a baby (we’re 18 months apart) mom came from grandma’s to check on us (about a minute’s walk)-apparently we had been napping-I in mom’s bed and Sister in her crib. Mom said she saw Sister in her crib but when she looked in the bed, I was gone. She looked under the bed, in the closet, all through the other rooms, including closets and under beds, and began looking outside. She went back to grandma’s, in a panic now, and they all began looking for me around all their houses. They still couldn’t find me. They called all the neighbors and began a neighborhood search. I was 2, how far could I go?

After no one could find me, mom went home to get Sister and go back to grandma’s to call the police. When she uncovered Sister to pick her up, the mystery was solved. She told me that somehow I had managed to climb into the crib and got under the covers with my sister, and was sound asleep. Neither of us woke up during the time everyone was calling for me-we were both blissfully unaware, sleeping face to face. I always liked sleeping under the covers when I was little and that was why mom never saw me. She thought I was Sister’s stuffed tiger…

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on May 22, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >Oh how sweet…I remember my grandparents having a party line…and how much trouble I would get into whenever I was discovered 'listening in' on other people's conversations:)

  2. >Um, guilty! But it was so interesting!!!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

