>My Hopeful Summer Reading List….

>

Well, it’s about to be the first official holiday of the summer season. I haven’t read anything much in the past several months and that’s extremely unusual…I can read 7 books in one week (that’s my record-the Harry Potter series…) and I haven’t read that many in the past 7 months! Dang!

So, in reverse order, my hopeful reading list for the next few months: The new Artemis Fowl book. I love YA books-they’re highly imaginative, action packed, and not full of all the adult stuff that gets old after a while….This one comes out in August….

The just released 4th in the Nicholas Flamel series…Wow, these are good. I, along with several parents at the Center (teachers themselves) are reading these and they’re pretty cool. Did you know Nicholas Flamel, also mentioned in Harry Potter, was a real person? Or, that there really is a mystery surrounding him, his life, and his missing body? Check it out on Google sometime…interesting….

Just got this from Barnes and Noble in paperback. So sad that the author died before he could see the huge success his books became. I am looking forward to this one. I hope it lives up to my expectations…. there’s a movie coming out based on this series, too….

I got this one yesterday, too, on the bargain table. I’ve wanted it for a while….I grew up during the Cold War…I read Alas, Babylon and just knew we were going to be bombed by the U.S.S.R….this one is about Russian political intrigue, along with some sci-fi for good measure….the next book I want to read, after the one listed below…

Love me some Neil Gaiman. He wrote Coraline, which I haven’t read, but the movie was terrific and the music was better, if it’s possible. He also wrote The Graveyard Book, which was sweet and melancholy. Neverwhere is strange and sad and sweet and bizarre and surprising….and I nearly threw it against the wall when I was almost finished with it…if it hadn’t ended the way it had, boy oh boy….I needed something to read on my lunch break and this was in my cabinet…I read it sometime early last year and loved it….a good book is always worth a re-read….or two….

What’s on your summer reading list?

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on May 28, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >If I EVER get all caught up with my art…I might be able to take up reading again!My gosh…I used to read several books a week…mostly light reading (Agatha Christie..Rex Stout..and I can't remember all of the others I used to read faithfully)..Then my kids..and my husband..talked me into J.K.Rowling…and I LOVE those books!I want to re-read them before Movie 7 comes out…hopefully I'll be able to.

  2. >I haven't heard of Rex Stout, will have to give him a look-see. I like Agatha Christie, and I never figure it out! You might like the Nicholas Flamel series…want me to tell you a secret? Keep books in the powder room….read during a long hot bath…or 15 minutes before turning off the bedroom light. I haven't read much at all and I feel deprived. While reading Twilight, I *eek* read at stoplights!!! *bad girl!* I am a full blown book worm/addict…

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

