>Nephew’s Childhood Game

>

My nephew stopped by for a quick surprise visit a few minutes ago, and he brought me a little gift from their trip to the beach…

“You used to buy these for me all the time and when you see them, you’re gonna LOVE it!!!” His words to me as he hides something in his hands…

Okay, gimmie! He hands me a pack of Lucky Lights candy cigarettes…

Wow, didn’t see that one coming! I was excited and chagrined….I asked him if he remembered our little thing we used to do…of course he remembers!

See, Nephew is like my very own son. I used to work second shift (and later, third), and every chance I got, especially on the weekends, I would pick him up and take him home with me. We would
rent movies, go to the park, putt-putt, go to movies, play games, “camp out”
in the living room-we’d pull mattresses into the living room and light
candles….

We ate pizza and made sundaes….even when I had no money and, therefore no cable or TV, we would listen to books on CD (I’ll tell you about a super fantastic set at the bottom)….we always had a great time….okay, so here’s what this is about….don’t yell-times were different and I was younger…

We would put on our sunglasses, get some candy cigarettes and IBC root beer, and drive all over town…Nephew would laugh so hard! “You think a cop is gonna pull us over ‘cuz he thinks we’re drinking?!!! Won’t that be hilarious when he finds out it’s just root beer?!!!” Oh, how he wanted a cop to stop us….he really wanted to see the stunned, confused look on their face…ironic, since his major is Criminal Justice….just sayin’….

Our little game doesn’t seem to have had any harmful side effects….he detests people drinking and driving…if they go out, they always have a DD…and he won’t touch a real cigarette….whew! I think about all that now and cringe! Times are so different….but it was lots of fun and it was sweet to see not only that he remembered our game, but to see that he still thought of it as being funny…

If you want some really cool, dramatic and extremely well done “radio” theater, check out Focus on the Family’s website…I have several of the Narnia CD’s and I would actually put them up against the movies and call them equal….

Side note: When I lived in the isolated city and was about to lose my mobile home, it was Christmas and Nephew, almost a teenager, and Niece wanted to spend the weekend with me. I didn’t have a TV….only my old stereo/CD player….. We pulled out the mattresses, popped popcorn, made hot chocolate, lit all the candles, and camped out-listening to The Lion, The Witch, And The Wardrobe….it was magical!

Kids don’t always need entertainment from hi-tech games and gizmos….they need your imagination and creativity….and mostly your attention…

Wow-didn’t know I was going there….

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on May 30, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >Yes…it was definitely the 'time' you spent together that touched your nephew the most. What a wonderful memory to share with us….made me smile!

  2. >*happy nostalgic grin*

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

