>Livin’ Large….

>

Technically, today is Memorial Day and I have the day off….

Honey has to work, as do most other people I know-at least the ones in town….so here I am…sitting at home, watching re-runs of NCIS. Not in a reading mood, not in a movie mood, and it’s storming like crazy, so…..

But as I pondered the movie possibility, along with the weather outside, it did remind me of something…

When I was a child, my mom and either her sister or one of her friends, would occasionally pile all of us kids into a car and take us to the drive in.

Going to the drive in was a big deal, practically an event. We were outside, late at night, past our bedtimes-and it was like a party. There was popcorn, corn dogs, hamburgers, cherry sodas, bottle caps, cracker jacks…..

We could even sit outside-in a chair, on the car, in a sleeping bag…what could be better? Of course, we often fell asleep before the end of the feature, and the mosquitoes feasted like it was Christmas, but we didn’t care. A drive in movie with friends and family, and all the “exotic” foods we could eat was a child’s version of living large.

The Aristocats is the first movie I recall ever seeing….it had cats!….and I saw it at the drive in…sweet!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on May 31, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >Drive in movies….that's what I 'grew up' on. As a teen, I seldom went to indoor movie houses…always the drive in.There are so many memories that come to my mind…

  2. >Until about the mid '80's, there used to be 2 that still showed double features on the weekend. I miss them; they were a cultural right of passage. And they were pretty cheap!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

