>Around The House

>

I am always seeing gorgeous pictures of flowers on people’s blogs…and thought I would try my hand at it….hahahahaha…silly me! My camera won’t get close enough to show the details I see in other people’s pics, but still….

I have no idea what these little red berry-like things are…they’re on bushes in the back of our house and they’re there pretty much year round. In the winter, they’re a brilliant, fiery red…now they’re looking kind of faded and tired….


I do know what these are…Tiger Lilies!!!! I think they’re also called Day Lilies….?

My sister and I used to pick them off Grandma’s bank, next to the road, and put them in a Mason jar for Mom…

I like them, they’re spunky…feisty…and not afraid of cars!

…now all I need are some “lightning bugs” and I will feel like a child again…and maybe some honeysuckle…

We have two magnolia trees in the back yard…Honey wants to have them cut down…I disagree. In the winter, they provide some green against all the bare oaks….

And I love the pretty flowers they produce…
This blossom was up high and I tried to find a good angle-with little luck. I see that a new blossom will be opening up soon…sweet…


These are some little pink flowers from in front of the house…they’re in a place that probably, under normal circumstances, would be nicely landscaped…right now, the whole area is overgrown…gonna have to get either my brother or my nephew out here to come up with an affordable plan…I love wildflowers, but not necessarily the “wild” look-yikes!!!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on June 1, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >I love Magnolia trees. We used to have one in our front yard when we lived in Nashville. I wished we could grow them in the Midwest..

  2. >See, that's where I'm ignorant. I don't really know what will grow where…

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

