>Looking For Some Joe…

>

I know it’s bad for me, caffeine, but, for now, I need it. I did recently try to cut back-I was down to 1 soda a day. The result: wicked, awesome headaches that felt as if there was a monkey/gremlin creature on my head stabbing me with a knife.

However, after my trip to the doctor on Wednesday, and learning that my BP was elevated, I’m going to try again. Just not so drastically. Also, all the sugar and other chemicals in soda-well, I’d just be better off without it.

All this stinks because at one time, I didn’t drink sodas at all. Then I got a sinus infection (I should get kickbacks for all the Z-packs I’ve purchased!) and discovered that water didn’t taste so good at that time. So, needing something with flavor, I jumped off the water wagon and back into the soda ocean….

So anyway, the doctor I saw said he’d been 6 weeks without a soda (go Doc!). We talked about the headaches and he said just decrease very slowly…

A thing you should know about me, a very bad thing…I’m one of those people who wants what they want when they want it. So, here’s my thinking….I can help decrease the sugar/chemical intake if I substitute some of the soda (especially morning soda) with coffee.

I can drink coffee black (and what would be the point of cutting out sugar if I add a bunch of creamer?). I’m just not good at making coffee-I’m a coffee newbie. I have a little 4 cup maker (my husband won’t touch the stuff). I love all the fancy coffee drinks, but they’re packed with stuff that’s as bad, if not worse, than soda…I just want it black.

Here’s the thing…is there anyone out there who can tell me how to make a good cup of coffee, just plain (I will probably get some flavored kind like caramel or hazelnut…)…? If I just want to make 2 cups, med/strong, how much do I add? Do I store coffee in the fridge? Can I make it iced? Do I sound pathetic? Is there a particular flavor or not very expensive brand that tastes really good black

That’s where my brain is right now. I’m sluggish this morning and I’ve got to get it together-it’s our Center’s graduation ceremony today. I hope to have some good pics for later. However, if it’s like last year, I’ll be too engrossed in the kids to think about snapping pics. I will try…

Seriously, though, looking for coffee advice. SIMPLE advice. Newb, remember? Thanks!!! =)

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on June 6, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >You might want to try the website the Endless Coffee Break for "how to" instructions on making good coffee. http://www.endlesscoffeebreak.com/making_good_coffee.htm.Someplace on my blog I also have instructions for making Swedish coffee which is PDG.Here's hoping you tame those headaches. Have a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

  2. >Thanks Mary! I will check on both sites…the Swedish coffee sounds really good…Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

