>Artful Penpals…

>

Hello Readers-
I have some news I wish to share…I follow several blogs and last night, while unable to sleep, I found something on one of them that really caught my attention. It’s called Artful Penpals and it’s hosted by Shelagh at AliceinParisLovesArtandTea. This will be her second penpal project and I’m signed up already! Below is a copy & paste of Shelagh’s article on the ArtfulPenpal blog:

Time for round 2 of Artful Penpals! It has been exactly a year since I did this and it was fun. I think there were just over 50 writers! Almost everybody got a letter. Sometimes things do happen and best intentions go awry so I am sorry for those who did not get one. Once I send off the info to the scribes, it is out of my hands.
I had written a post last year about the joy of the written word and how precious it is to hold a lovely letter in your hand. Exciting to go to your post box and discover a personal treasure just for you, waiting to be opened. I was surprised at how many people felt the same way and longed for that personal touch. So I thought I would facilitate a small, return to the handwritten letter ….”festival”!
To participate, all you have to do is send one letter, the kind of letter you would like to receive, to your penpal and they will do the same in kind. Lovely stationery, big bulky, slender elegant, something enclosed, it is up to you. I will match you with a writing partner. You don’t need to have a blog to sign on. I will add your name/blog to the side bar once you have signed up:)
Now, here’s what you have to do…..
Send an email to me here: artfulpenpals AT gmail.com
and please tell me……
1.Your correct mailing address and an email where I can reach you easily.
2.Your blog address if you have one which I will post on the sidebar if you are participating.
3.Tell me if you are willing to send a letter anywhere in the world or just North America or Europe etc.
4. *IMPORTANT* Let me know about yourself so I will have an easier time of matching you with your perfect penpal, hobbies, crafts, books, foods, movies, children, goals, dreams etc:) As much as you can. It is hard to match somebody up with someone who says “I like to write letters.” It will make your experience more fulfilling and make it easier for me to make a match. You will be writing to the person I match you with and they to you. I will send the info you email me about yourself to to your partner.
5.Registration is open until June 14th midnight 🙂
After the 14th of June I will then send each of you an email with your partner’s address and some details and away you go!! Letters should be mailed to your partners by June 28th at the very latest. That gives you two weeks:)
Cheers,
Shelagh Duffett

As a child growing up, I always wanted a penpal, but really never had the opportunity. I thought I was silly for wanting one as an adult. The blog is really fantastic for meeting wonderful and interesting people (meaning all of you!) …but there are people out there I haven’t met…and what an opportunity! So, if you’re interested, follow the above instructions….but hurry-there’s only 6 days left to sign up!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on June 8, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. >This is a really great idea! My critique buddies are my penpals because they live so far away. Otherwise I'd do it, too!

  2. >Thank, Aubrie! I hope lots of people participate; it's kind of a childhood dream of mine…silly at my age, but who cares, right? I also think it's great that you have your own network of "penpals"…there's nothing quite like looking forward to something in the mail/post…I hope the new WIP is zinging along!

  3. >Thanks so much for posting this:)Cheers, Shelagh

  4. >Thanks for letting us know about this. It's a wonderful idea and I hope the response is terrific. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  5. >I'll have to follow and see how this goes for you.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

