>Daffy For Dear Life

>

Considering how I’ve felt the past two weeks, I thought I would share this little tale…

My younger sister and I both are borderline anemic, and when we were very young, we would get sick pretty easily. I can remember biting a thermometer in half once and my mom nearly having a heart attack! I was fine, though…

Anyway, one summer when I was about five or six and had a high fever for some reason, my mom got creative. She called her sister from across the street-and when I saw my aunt, I knew it wasn’t going to be good for me….I remember not liking fevers-cold cloths are COLD when you have a fever!

Mom filled the bathtub with lots and lots of cool water and ice, dressed me in my bathing suit, got out my Daffy Duck floaty (the kind that went around the waist and had a huge head in the front) and put me in the water. I remember crying a lot-the cold hurt! And I remember holding on to Daffy so hard…But, as I got older, I could see the care Mom took to try and make me feel better…I got to wear my bathing suit and have Daffy (I loved Daffy when I was a child)…I still smile when I remember that particular episode…

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on June 12, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. >Oh…none of my children were particularly fond of the fever baths either…we didn't usually have to bathe them…just take off everything down to underwear and then the cold clothes.Poor things would just whimper…I always felt so bad.The things mothers have to go through for their little 'darlings'.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

