>Mom’s Sick Policy Traditions

>

After writing the Daffy post, I thought about my mom’s traditional sick policy she had with us when we were children and I wanted to include it. However, it didn’t seem right to put it with Daffy, so…here it is…

Anytime we got sick, the first thing Mom would do, after getting us in bed (no easy task), would be to feed us a bowl of chicken noodle soup. To this day, when I feel bad, I want a bowl of this stuff..MmmMmmGood!

If we ate all of our soup (and kept it down if we had upset tummies…) we got our all time, absolute favorite: banana popsicles!!!! Yummm!!!!! They’re still a favorite and I’m flooded with warm memories whenever I eat them…

Later, Mom would break out the cherished box of Crayolas. Don’t you just love the smell of a new box of crayons? And, it was really cool if you got the big box with the sharpener in the back! Coloring is still a very relaxing activity for many adults I know….in fact, Co-Teacher got me a coloring book for Christmas! Love it!!!!

My mom would color with us, when we were sick especially, but often, just for no reason at all. I think it relaxed her, too. She was very artistic and crafty and I have to wonder, had the opportunity been there, what she could have done with her talents…

At any holiday, it was a tradition for my sister and me to get sick. Really, it’s comical the timing we used to have. Christmas was especially great because our stockings would always have a giant coloring book. We would fill up every single page during the following months….

What kind of sick policy traditions did you have when you were a child, or with your children?

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on June 12, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. >What a cute post! My treat was a club sandwich and in those days it was a treat. That was, of course, after the stomach settles down. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  2. >Oh, I love club sandwiches! There's a pub I used to work at (in the kitchen if you can believe it!!!) that has great club sandwiches (and pecan pie). One of the perks of working there was getting free food…freebies of choice: clubs n pie! Have a great weekend!

  3. >I loved this post! My mom would read to us and we'd have coloring books, but she never colored with us. How special. Those banana pops look good. I'll have to try some.

  4. >Oh my goodness! Nostalgia! My mom did pretty much the same and so did I. In fact, as each of our children went off to college, I packed them a bag with chicken noodle soup, kleenex and cough drops!! They've often said they missed being sick at home because they loved lounging on the couch and being special! No, Old Blue is not ours. In fact, this is the first year I've seen the truck at market. Best,Bonnie

  5. >I am old enough not to remember being on the receiving end…just the giving.Yes…the chicken noodle soup…the popsicles…some jello……….and lots of the favorite cartoons.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

