>About…Family, Shopping, And Remembering

>

Yesterday was a very busy, albeit wonderful day. I went to see Squirmy and PoohBear (the name I’m giving my sister in law-it’s what Brother calls her, sort of). When I remember to ask PoohBear for permission, I’ll post pics of Squirmy. She’s really growing-you’d never know she was a preemie! She moves around so much I think she’ll be crawling before long. She has the cutest laugh and I can see a lot that reminds me of Brother when he was a baby….but…for now, the pics and their stories:
Bro and Pooh rent a house from some old family friends. Inside the porch light, a bird couple has taken up permanent residence. PoohBear said that earlier that morning, Mom and Pop Bird were having a fit-Baby Bird decided to go for a (successful) test flight!

One of PoohBear’s fav chicken-pets. She says this chick is crazy but a great mom. She wouldn’t hold still long enough for me to get a good pic,…
…but she was quite comical! And her little chickies are sweet looking!

Just a piece of their giant back yard…there’s a barn and also a good sized creek through those trees-we used to go swimming and tubing there all the time when we were younger. Bro and Pooh take Squirmy there and have picnics…cool. Just watch out for all the snakes!

There are turkeys, goats, and more chickens that live with Bro and Pooh. These two pretty much go anywhere they want. PoohBear has to pick them up every evening and put them in their roosts-they prefer the yard, but there are hawks and foxes, so….and actually, I think the white one is a rooster-I can’t tell the difference just by looking at them. They all have names….I’m terrible with names….

This is Sophie-the Middle Child, PoohBear calls her. Squirmy is hers. She usually bites people. She licked me. I guess I’m one of the few she likes. She’s helping herself to PoohBear’s drink. I hope it’s water and not Sundrop! She and her sister, Mollie, are great watch dogs. Their brother, Bennett, is in Heaven, playing with lots of family…human, feline, canine, feathered….

As I drove home, I noticed this fabulous cloud. Of course, my camera doesn’t do it justice. This is the view over our neighbor’s house…

Five minutes after getting home, Nephew and CG (Cover Girl, the name for Nephew’s wife, she’s beautiful and used to model…) stopped by to let Moose, their new furbaby vistit…

…Moose can visit any time he wants. He’s the perfect house guest! He didn’t bother anything, didn’t chase Kitty Boss-he’s a Mama’s Boy. Look at him just chillin’ at her feet!

Then, of course, I’ve been doing some online shopping! Pay week! (I actually got this Thursday night, I just wanted to include it here…) A treat! A Val Pendant that I’ve wanted since I saw it posted…I wasn’t going to do any shopping but…First-Val did a buy one get one (BOGO) and I took a chance, and sure enough, I was one of the next five! Woohoo! I love this tree! (I kinda have a thing for trees…)

Second, I caught up on Facebook, and RusticGoth posted this. Oh. My. Gosh!!!! Phoenixes are my ‘life’ symbol!!!! I just knew the price would be out of my range, but it wasn’t (still, I had to use a credit card…) but Honey said he didn’t care (not asking permission, just if he minded) so, I GOT IT!!!!! Isn’t he handsome!?!

And earlier, I was on Amazon and found what I’d been looking for. Aubrie’s book, The Voices of Ire. It has great reviews and I love YA. It arrives on the 24th, so Amazon says…my postal guy stays busy here…
Now, I have lots to do…so I got to get off here…
one more thing…
My mom was my father figure and I used to get her Father’s Day cards. I think she liked those better than the Mother’s Day cards…so-Happy Father’s Day, Mom!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on June 20, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. >I enjoyed your post–especially the last part about your mom being your father figure!! Great necklace! Love it when the postman brings me "presents".Best,Bonnie

  2. >That's sweet of you to buy a card for your Mom on Father's Day! Hey if the shoe fits, where it!!I love all the pictures, and that is one giant backyard!

  3. >Just popped by to thank you for your visit to Mucky Boots Farm! We have a bird's nest in our porch, too, now hosting its second bird family of the season, and the babies are getting ready to fly the nest! It's up high enough we haven't really been able to see anything except Mama and Papa swooping in and out, but we can hear everything, and man, are those baby birds loud!

  4. >You charmed me again today. I really loved this post. I hope you are having a geat day. Blessings…Mary

  5. >What a wonderful post…so love hearing bits and snips of your life!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!