>Baby Girl

>

So I was ‘talking’ to a blogger friend today, you know, about this and that. Afterward, I was thinking how strange and wonderful it is that, although we are scattered all over this planet, we share the same pain; we walk down the same dark roads…

This is a letter I wrote to myself several years ago. I used to have a picture of me as a baby and I addressed the letter to her…as far as I know, they’re the only words of encouragement that child ever got…

Hello Baby Girl,

If I could, I would like to wrap my arms around you and run, far, far away. The darkness would never find you. Cruel words and terrible deeds would never tear your soul apart. Shameful tears would never fall from your eyes. The bitter sting of rejection would never wound you so deeply. Death would never seem like the lesser of any evils.

If I could, Baby Girl, I would like to make your way easier. Take away so much that would cause you pain, damage you in ways most people can’t imagine. And I would like to prevent so many mistakes from being made, choices that only compound all of the sorrow.

The road, the life that lies ahead of you is hard, almost unbearable, and dark. But if I were given the ability to change it for you, Baby Girl, I would not. You must be strong. If you look, you will find light in the darkness, laughter in the midst of the tears and strength to endure in the pain. Cruelty will teach you compassion and sorrow will teach you wisdom. And though it may seem to take forever, good does overcome evil and finds those who wait for it.

I’m sorry, Baby Girl, for the things that await you, for you will always bear the scars of hidden wounds. But you will survive. Furthermore, you will find happiness that, before, you would never have been able to imagine. You will find courage you never dreamed you had. And, more importantly, you will be able to help pull others from the devouring darkness. Even love will find you, though you will run from it at first. And one day, you will be able to look back at your life and say, “If I could go back and change things, I wouldn’t do it. It’s been worth it all.”

Cherish hope, Baby Girl, and don’t ever give up. 

And I’ll see you around….

RSM 2003
photo: zedge.net

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on June 27, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. >What a sad letter. But it's a hopeful letter too because although you wish you could go back and protect the little you, you're also demonstrating that you've moved past much of it. And that you're stronger.So many of us weren't provided with the childhoods we deserved.

  2. >Hey, Theresa…yeah, I think of it as a somewhat triumphant, in your face statement to the fates (or people) who sought to destroy that little girl's psyche/soul…she's come out the other side a much better person than she could have imagined (with lots of higher help)…it's always why I say I wouldn't change anything…

  3. >Wonderful letter. I wish we could protect all the little kids growing up with rejections and other problems. My mom was always there to encourage me.

  4. >Hey, Words Crafter! I would like to just say thanks for your comment on my recent blog post, I really appreciated it and responded back, so check that out when you can!As for this letter, I feel the anger, the sadness, and the hope in all its words. You did survive and you're continuing to survive! Write on, fight on, and dream on! Like you say, "Cherish hope."

  5. >I could have written that letter myself, but I never did. Cherish hope. That's all we had. And you're right, we couldn't change a thing because we wouldn't be here where we are right now. All things in the past lead us to the present.

  6. >There's a lot I relate to there as well. It sounds like you are through the other side and I am so glad. Hope is a flame that burns brightest in the darkness, so I've found.

  7. >As a parent…and grandparent…I try to 'protect' my loved ones from the trials and tribulations that is part of 'life'."Here"…I say to them…"learn from my own pain and experience!"But…it is something they each have to learn on their own!Truly all the parts of our lives…even the hurtful and ugly…shape us into 'who' we become!Such a beautiful and bittersweet post…so glad you came through the pain with such beauty and hope!!

  8. >what an evolved letter to yourself. it really is a gift to yourself and i dig that you read it as a reader. how cool. it's addressed to baby girl but is all adult in nature.

  9. >sending you lots of love… i know you will find what you are looking for. xoxo

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

