>Simple Things

>

In the afternoons when I get home, part of my usual routine, aside from making sure she has water and food, is to play with Kitty Boss a few minutes. Honey brought her home in August of 2008. For most of that time, her favorite thing to play with, besides us, is a sparklie piece of scrapbooking string about three feet long. Since getting her the tree for Christmas, she’ll meow and take off running, and hide in it. Our part is to get the string and dangle it around the various places she hides inside the tree so she can jump out and scare the crap out of us grab it, playing tug of war and keep away in the process. She loves it. As I played with her, I thought of the simple things that amuse and pacify us:  As a baby, we put masking tape on Brother’s fingers and he’d explore its sticky abilities for half an hour. Nephew, as a child, would love to go for walks on the trails at the two larger parks where I live. Or swing. The kids in my class love the catalogs Director gets that contain pictures (and prices) of daycare materials (beds, books, toys, playground equip., etc.). They want to take them home…The kids also like to paint everything with water. I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like bubbles. Me? I like swings. Rocking. Rocking a baby. Watching small creatures in the back yard. Watching the fish in a pretty tank (did you know it lowers your BP?). Listening to rain…daydreaming… listening to the conversations in my classroom…when I was a child, I used to climb to the top of the pine trees and just sit, looking out at the world around me. In the fall, I would go out at night and just be…feeling the chill and absorbing the fragrance of the frost on the ground….cloud watching…

What simple things amuse or pacify you? Do simple things still exist?

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on July 1, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. >I have a mechanical hamster that my dogs like to chase! Pets are awesome, aren't they? They make all the little annoyances at work go away. 🙂

  2. >You're not kidding! I would love to watch your dogs chasing the hamster. What kind of dogs do you have?

  3. >The sound of rain on the roof and the whirring of cicadas in the field and the laugh of a baby are on my list. I hope you are having a geat day. Blessings…Mary

  4. >and scare the crap out of us!hysterical!animals bring us so much peace and joy. am looking forward to having another dog in my life soon.i talk walks now, along the beach and to a public fountain.

  5. >*Mary-Rain. Enough said. One of my top three favorite things in the world…*Ed-Love pets. I don't know what I would have done at one point in my life if I hadn't had a certain feline to keep me company…and they ask for so little in return. And yep, Kitty is really good at making me scream. She's quite the 'hide and jump out to see how loud mommy can yell' gamester…

  6. >Great post…and reminder that it's so easy to get absorbed in the things that comprise our daily life.I mostly enjoy watching my kids..and grandkids…interact and play and just 'be'.Recently I put a bird feeder up in the tree in my back yard…so that I can look out and watch the birds 'gather' at times throughout the day. This is one of my favorite things…I love my week-ends….taking a lesson from my youngest daughter…Saturdays are 'no work' days…Sundays are to spend with loved ones.But…I love to create and experiment…I guess my job is a pretty good one to have:)

  7. >*Charlene-I think so too and I love how you plan out your weekends. I can sit and watch birds and squirrels, and the occasional chipmunk for hours. They're so fun and interesting…

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

