>Breaking The Rules For Teaser Tuesday…

>

I was over at L’Aussie Writing and found out about a thing called Teaser Tuesdays. It’s hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. I’ve never done this before, but it seemed like fun. Here are the rules:

•Grab your current read

•Open to a random page

•Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page

•BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

•Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants (and anyone reading the post) can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 


Okay, I’m cheating. Two times. First, I copied and pasted the rules from L’Aussie Writing. Second, Co-Teacher’s son is bringing me a book tomorrow, so I haven’t started anything, thus-no current read. So I just went through all my shelves and grabbed a book. Ready?

Rex laughed. It was a cold mean laugh. Unlike the Oddkins two floors overhead, Rex was not a good toy

p. 14 Oddkins by Dean Koontz

photo courtesy of cci.org

Um, okay, I see I cheated again. That’s three sentences. I’m not a very good rule follower…

Oddkins is out of print, but many libraries still have it and there are copies floating around on the interwebs. My husband got my copy from somewhere out there for my birthday a long time ago. I love it.

CCI.org is Canine Companions for Independence, an organization that pairs people with some kind of handicap with a canine companion/aid. The Koontz’s have donated millions of dollars over the years, most recently in memory of Trixie, their own beloved companion.

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on July 19, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. >I'm a Dean Koontz fan, so loved this. Glad you did TT..:)Loved the pic too.

  2. >no, you are not a very good rule follower:)but it's more fun that way. way more fun. sometimes, anyway.

  3. >I've just read your blog from a few days back–the explanation of "the angel". It is beautifully written and I'm most intrigued! Is there more somewhere that I should be looking for? Isn't Lenoir where one begins the ascent into Blowing Rock?Best,Bonnie

  4. >I have a character named Fallen (a fallen angel not too surprisingly) who breaks all the rules she cannot bend. It's more fun, isn't it?Loved your post, Roland

  5. >*L'Aussie-yay for Koontz fans! Thanks for the post that let me know about it!*Ed-you're right, it is (usually more fun). I actually sorta kinda make up my own rules, too…(yikes!)*Bonnie-yep, Lenoir is basically THE foothill and Blowing Rock and Boone are really developing. I think, about the angel story, I've mentioned it…as for more…I don't think so. This story actually happened. The one, Prologue on one of the side bar pages, was purely fiction, although spun from truth…? And, I'm glad you liked it, thank you.*Roland-funny how the guys are the ones mentioning how much fun breaking the rules can be. For the record, the gals do it too. I'd like to 'meet' Fallen. I especially like 'who breaks all the rules she cannot bend.' That's classic, and yes, it is more fun!

  6. >That's a cool post. I love those lines. Are they consecutive?

  7. >I’m not a good rule follower either ;)Love the teaser! I used to be a huge Koontz fan. I keep meaning to give him a try again.

  8. >It's been a while since i read Dean koontz.perhaps i should read his book again. nice one!here's mine;http://darlynandbooks.blogspot.com/2010/07/teaser-tuesdays-shadow-kiss.htmlhappy Tuesday!

  9. >I've never read anything by Dean Koontz, but the teaser sounds interesting. 🙂

  10. >I haven't read this book yet, but I love Koontz! My Teaser is here.

  11. >Sounds interesting! I've never read any of Koontz's books. My teaser is at The Crowded Leaf.

  12. >Great teaser! Mine comes from Bram Stoker's Dracula this week. Here's the link.

  13. >Thats a great teaser, and post! Keep on breaking the rules :)My Teaser is from a book that I JUST began: http://readseverything.blogspot.com/

  14. >Cheater, cheater, pumpkin eater. 🙂 Still a great teaser!Our teaser is at BookSake.

  15. >You find such interesting things to share with us. Keep on breaking the rules. That's what makes life fun. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  16. >Great teaser! It's fun to break the rules sometimes 🙂

  17. >Welcome to Teaser Tuesday. I break the rules quite regularly!My teaser is from The Passage this week.

  18. >***Man!!! I was almost finished replying to all your comments and then I lost them somehow!!! GRRRR! Sorry-I'm just gonna do a big one instead of the whole thing again…I stopped by everyone's teaser post and was pretty intrigued by all the selections posted. Wow, what a variety! I've added several books to my wish list. For the people interested in reading Koontz, try Odd Thomas or Lightning or Intensity. I chose Oddkins because not a lot of people know about it since it's out of print. It can be found in most libraries and on the internet (half.com and amazon.com). This was fun and informative, I'll play again next week. Thank you all for stopping by!

  19. >What's wrong with breaking a rule now or then? I have broken so many blogging rules I have lost count, LOL!Besides this teaser makes more sense with three sentences. I had forgotten about Oddkins. The title didn't ring a bell but the teaser did. I'll have to pick up a copy.

  20. >*SquirrelQueen-wow, I'm impressed that you know about it! Yeah, I break more rules than I want to admit to, lol…

  21. >Rules??? What rules??Maybe that's my problem…seems I'm always bending..breaking…re-shaping..(not the law..that's different..just the rules.) The story of my life:)

  22. >*Charlene-hey, I'm right there with you! I have to agree with everyone else, it's more fun!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

