>Um, About Those Pictures….

>

 Okay, I have a confession to make. Actually, a couple. First, I stole some pictures from National Geographic and, *eek* Laughingwolf. I’m sorry Blog Buddy!!! Earlier in the month, Laughingwolf posted some really awesome pictures of sea creatures newly discovered/dwelling down deep on his blog. My first reaction, after thinking how cool they were, was that the kids in my class would go crazy over them.

So, Sunday afternoon, I went about my merry way on the interwebs, saving all sorts of cool creatures from Laughingwolf’s blog and National Geographic’s website. After I downloaded the ones I wanted, I put them in Print Shop so I could resize them, getting as many to a page as possible, and printed them off.

On the way home from work Thursday, I stopped in at Hobby Lobby, where MatStacks were on sale (cool!). If you know scrapbooking, you know what I’m talking about. I picked the ones that were sparkly/glittery-I thought they’d go great with some of the creatures that have their own lighting systems, and they look like shiny sand when laminated.

I printed the pics, adhered them to the various colored cardstock, wrote the names of the creatures below, and laminated them. All I have to do now is find a 5 x 7 binder to put them in….

The lesson plan for the week is Deep Sea Creatures. Hmmm, I guess I have to make another confession. It seems I’m also a bit of a rebel. I tend to go off the grid when it comes to lesson planning. We have a general outline to go by, but….you know? The kids love something new sometimes…. I feel I’m not a good influence on Co-Teacher. She’s more of a rule follower than I am….I’ll have to see what I can do about that…;~}

 This is the picture that started the whole thing…(Shell Dwelling Squid-Nautilus) did you get that? A squid, that lives in a shell?
 ….and I’ve seen this guy on tv-he’s way cool! (Deep Sea Anglerfish)
This is a baby octopus. How could I not share all these (and several more) with the kids in my class?

You know, it occurs to me as I re-read and proof this, that I really seem to have little regard for rules in general….can I just have my huggie jacket now? I’ll go sit quietly in the corner, where I can’t break any more rules. For a while, anyway…but no promises….
About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on August 1, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. >Those are amazing pictures! Beautiful. I would've wanted to "steal" them too.

  2. >*Theresa-thanks! I've just had a fun conversation with Laughingwolf-I warned him about what I'd done…It's hard to find stuff that goes with lesson plans without having to check out 20 different library books. And these guys are 3, so…books get torn up and laminated stuff lasts a lot longer. Now, I'm trying to figure out how to download video to my computer-we no longer have wireless access at work-too many viruses got into the office 'puter…hope you have a great week!

  3. >lol… always a pleasure to inspire wee ones, even if vicariously ;)nazdarovja!

  4. >Great pictures and fessing up works in most cases. At least in laughingwolf's it did! :)Thanks for sharing!~that rebel, Olivia

  5. >Laughing Wolf is a great person. And sharing knowledge is a great duty of all of us. You and Laughing Wolf make a good team.Have a healing week, Roland

  6. >I'm sure your 'kids' will appreciate something 'different'…rules, I think, are meant to be 'bent a little'. Coloring outside the lines tends to spark the imagination!

  7. >They are really cool pictures. šŸ™‚

  8. >…most excellent pics:)The octopus kinda resembles a skull and cross bones at thirty thousand feet down.

  9. >*Laughingwolf-since I didn't find a binder till this evening, only a few of the kids saw the pics. Now, I have them in a cool binder just the right size and tomorrow, they can look at it all by themselves. So far, they've been a big hit, so thanks! Um what's 'nasdarovja'?…*Olivia-that's so true, and ain't that sweet of him to let me off so easy?*Roland-that's very sweet of you to say, and he is pretty cool, you're right. So, are we Butch and Sundance or Smokey and the Bandit? lol…*Charlene-figuratively, I color outside the lines all the time…and, if the truth were known, I just plain shatter rules :)*Golden Eagle-thanks, Laughingwolf turned me on to them…*Elliot-I looked at the octopus, and you're right! How cool!

  10. >what a fun project, and the images are amazingly sharp. very cool.

  11. >russkie, for: cheers! šŸ˜‰ lol

  12. >Very cool pictures, very fun project!! Can I stay with you for awhile šŸ™‚

  13. >*Ed-I love putting together stuff like this, it feels less like work and more like fun. I may do a post with all the pics at some point…*Laughingwolf-you are a true renaissance man-Russian? Wow…*Jen-sure, come on! Uh, do you like to cook?

  14. >I love those picture! My son is really into marine biology. He liked them too!

  15. >Wow they are amazing pictures. I can see why the kids would love them.W.I.P. It: A Writer's Journey

  16. >*Lydia-Laughingwolf has many great pics on his blog post about these amazing creatures and so does National Geographic. I'm glad you and your son enjoyed them!*Lynda-Hey, nice to meet you! I think the shell dwelling squid is pretty amazing…you should check out the natgeo site for more!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

