>Rules!?! I Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Rules!!!!

>

Okay, I give up. I’m throwing all the rules out the window and doing this one my way. (I just heard Sinatra…)

Say what you will about Stephenie Meyer….she did get a couple things amazingly right with this series. One, she totally captured the angst associated with friendship, family, and love. Two, she, without using any explicit or even very descriptive language AT ALL, put so much steam into these books that I’m surprised they don’t smoke! Whew! I really liked the books (read them all in about four days while working and going to school) but I wish the movies could be better. Oh well….this is my choice for Teaser Tuesday hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading. And, not only am I not currently reading this, I’m posting about a paragraph. Got a problem with that? *wink*

Edward’s face went white as snow. His hands curved into claws. Totally egotistical and indifferent, Rosalie twisted in her chair so that her back was to him. He leaned forward, shifting into a crouch.


Allow me, I suggested.


He paused, raising one eyebrow.


Silently, I lifted my doggy bowl off the floor. Then, with a quick, powerful flip of my wrist, I threw it into the back of Blondie’s head so hard that- with an earsplitting bang-it smashed flat before it ricocheted across the room and snapped the round top piece off the thick newel post at the foot of the stairs.


Breaking Dawn, pages 303-304


And, just for giggles, here’s something you might find interesting…..

I will see you guys later in the week. Till then, take care!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on August 2, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. >I'm still wondering if I should at least read the first book. I loved the Anne Rice vampire books. I'm a great fan of the horror genre as well as having a fascination for serial killers. Yikes, that must make me sound odd. But truly, I read mostly new literature from the NY Times and old literature from early, early New England and old England. And now I'm off to bed with Elizabeth Berg–well, not literally!!Best,Bonnie

  2. >*Bonnie-I read some horror, and Interview a long time ago. The Twilight books aren't horror really. More of a fairy tale with some humor, darkness, and steam! Enjoy your read!

  3. >I found the TWILIGHT book mainly teenage angst and sexual frustration symbolized by a vampire who wanted but didn't dare touch. But I'm a guy.Women would go for it. But Bonnie, if you into horror, vampires, fae, werewolves and action — try Patricia Briggs' MERCY THOMPSON SERIES.It begins with MOON-CALLED about the only coyote shape-shifter left unkilled by the vampires trying to live in the modern world where all the Brothers Grimm tales are true.Have a great week, Word Crafter, Roland

  4. >LOL to that trailer. ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. >I haven't read the book and have only seen the first movie so far . . . I'm assuming the books are way better?

  6. >Very funny trailer! I may have to see that one. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. >looks goofy enough to be fun! lol

  8. >Hey, The Words Crafter!I just want to say thank you for all the comments you always put up on my blog. I really do appreciate seeing your comments all the time; they are just awesome to read and make my day. As for Twilight, I'm not a big fan of the hype of it all, but I do give Stephanie Meyer credit for making it into such a giant sensation. Write on and thanks a million!

  9. >If the movie is a goofy as the trailer count me in. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  10. >I like the trailer too. My kind of movie.

  11. >Not reading the Twilight books but hear a lot of good things about them from my daughters and daughter-in-law! They LOVE them…and do feel the same about the movies.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

