>It’s That Time Again….

>

Hey friends! I’m just posting a short little thing for now…we’re in the process of getting ready for open house at work. Things we normally do slowly, over a period of a few weeks (changing out artwork, changing bulletin boards, regular cleaning, etc.) has to be done more quickly because it’s as if we’re doing two classes at the same time-the old and the new-and we have to make them both welcome and ‘at home’ without either of them feeling like they’re not part of the ‘group.’

On top of that, we have staff on vacay, maternity leave, out sick….and the floaters are spread pretty thin…so we can’t just do the ‘teacher’ stuff anytime we want cuz somebody has to be interacting with the kids!

So, to help keep us on track, Co-Teacher has stayed much later than her 3:30 clock out time and I’ve brought stuff home….

Plus, I’m trying like crazy to find out about my class orientation….so far without any luck. Hmmm.

However, the deep sea creature theme has been a massive hit. The book of pics is a fav and the two vids I downloaded yesterday were blockbusters. The kids screamed and exclaimed and yelled and pointed the whole time both of them played. They were thrilled to see fish that glowed and flickered and that were scary looking. They were even more excited that they recognized many of them. Thanks, Laughingwolf! I found out there’s a 12 foot spider crab species that lives off the coast of Japan. I got to see if I can find that vid again.

So anyway, all this to say that it’s an insanely busy time right now and I will get caught up on everyone’s blogs during the weekend.

Hope you’re all having a great week and take care! See ya soon!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on August 4, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. >Pace yourself. Inch by inch, and it'll be a cinch. The world's greatest potatoe peeler was asked the secret to his success. He said, "I just peel 'em one potatoe at a time."Have as good a time as you can manage, Roland

  2. >Sorry about the potato misspell. I'm at work, and no time to edit. R

  3. >Best of luck on the open house! Sounds like a lot of work but rewarding too. Hmm… kind of like writing. 🙂

  4. >i think teachers are the best! have a great time at your open house! xo, carla

  5. >Great to hear that school is starting again! I still have two months of vacation left before I go to college and I actually want these last two months to fly, but they're not. They seem slower than the beginning months of summer for some odd reason. I wish you luck with all the back-to-school cleaning and orientation stuff and write on!

  6. >Yikes, is it time for school to start? I always enjoyed the summers with the boys. They were more excited to return to school than I was to send them. I miss shopping for back to school clothes and class lists! Hope you don't have to be all work and can enjoy the incoming children.BestBonnie

  7. >Great to hear the theme went down well :)best of luck with your open houseLynW.I.P. It: A Writer's Journey

  8. >*Roland-one of the things I struggle with is doing one thing at a time. I see the whole thing, get overwhelmed, and shut down. I learned this year that I have adult ADHD and my director is helping me with some of the related issues. But, I am pacing myself better than I used to; it's part of why I haven't been here too much lately. And, because I no longer speak normal English and I've learned to translate all sorts of gibberish (the kids', co-workers, mine…) I didn't even process that potato was misspelled!*VR Barkowski-a very good analogy! It's the same with holidays-insane, crazy, busy, and a blast!*Carla-awwww, thank you, you're sweet! I hope it's successful. Last year we had a pretty big turnout. Grown ups scare me, so Co-Teacher usually begins things and then I hope in when I find a good spot. *gulp**Vatche-really? You have two more months? AND you want them to hurry up? I was like that in school-it was my fav place to be. Make sure you get in all that you can before getting a job-working and school is tiring and I'm burned out. In a year or so, or when I can the take courses I want, I'll feel differently. And thanks!*Bonnie-I still go through the stores, smelling that 'back to school' smell-all the pencils, pens, erasers, notebooks, paper, markers, crayons….and I have to buy some. I usually give most of it away but I just NEED TO BUY IT!!! :P*Lynda-thanks for the well wishes. You would have thought you were at a rock concert when the kids watched the two vids. They were super excited when they recognized real fish/creatures they'd seen in their new book. It's moments like that that make this amazingly stressful job worthwhile….

  9. >It sounds like you have such a gift for teaching…anyone who can get kids to be enthusiastic about what they are learning needs a Giant GOLD Star!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

