>Slay Some Monsters? I’m In!!!

>

When you were a child, did someone chase away the monsters for you? Did they look in your closet and under the bed to make sure you were safe? Have you done that with your kids or grandkids, or nieces or nephews?

At work, I’m constantly reassuring some child or another that there are no monsters. This is, in fact, a lie. We all know monsters wear perfectly normal faces, complete with smiles and respectability. We may not always spot them quickly, but we are diligent in teaching our children to be careful and aware. And, usually, we can remove even these monsters from the lives of children we care about.

But what about monsters we can’t see? What about the ones that appear randomly, out of nowhere, with no rhyme or reason? They exist. We know their name. Legion would be an apt compilation for it because it comes in many forms and in many ways and targets anyone it wishes. What’s it’s name? Cancer.

We all know many forms are treatable, especially if found early. We also know that a tremendous amount of research goes on all over the world to find cures, treatments, and vaccines for many of the forms out there. What I did not know until Sunday night was that not all forms have funding for research. While reading Theresa Milstein’s blog, Substitute Teacher’s Saga, I found out that very rare forms of cancer, because they don’t affect or threaten lots of people, don’t receive funding for research. So, if someone’s child gets diagnosed with a rare form of this frightening disease, what hope do they have? What’s being done to combat the monster inside their body? The answer is not much.

One father wasn’t happy about this information and began his own organization for a rare form of cancer, which his child was diagnosed with, called ASPS. (This particular form of cancer targets children and young adults.) This is short for Alveolar Soft Part Sarcoma. Every year, they participate in the Pan-Massachusetts Challenge-a bike a thon that raises monies for cancer research. All the monies raised by the ASPS team goes strictly to research on ASPS.

Theresa is sponsoring a Platform Contest over on her blog to raise money and awareness. Several people, including myself, are offering gift cards with a matching donation. Mine will be a $15 card and I’ll donate the same amount to the site. Anyone wishing to enter the contest needs to head on over to her blog and follow the instructions. Please do a post, put it on your sidebar, tweet it, facebook it, myspace it….anything you can do to help this organization raise funding for further research.

The website is iCureASPS. For information about the bike a thon, go here.

Let’s be the heroes that chase away this terrible monster.
 

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on August 9, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. >Thank you so much for the links to my fundraising. Your first paragraphs hooked me, and I didn't even know it was about my post.

  2. >lost my sis to gallbladder cancer, so can empathize 😦

  3. >*Theresa-glad you liked it, and you're welcome. It's an honor to be a part of this, so thank YOU.

  4. >Laughingwolf-I'm so sorry. My grandfather had bone cancer, then pancreatic cancer. It completely sucks.

  5. >Cancer is indeed a monster. It took my mother, though she battled it for years. There is no Van Helsing that can kill it … yet.But with you and others funding the right research, there is hope. Roland

  6. >Cancer is very much a monster, it always seems more tragic when it strikes the very young. My family has never felt the effects but cancer has claimed several close friends in the past few years.

  7. >Wow, what a thoughtful post and a great cause. I wish the best of luck. I hope someday cancer is made our B-otch!

  8. >For a year I took my husband to all of the chemo and radiation treatments…hospital stays…so many different doctor visits. I know what this monster looks like…and it sucks!!On Imagekind I am part of the Art for Cancer group in which part of each sale of certain prints goes to a cancer charity of my choice. I will have to add some new prints and include the ASPS group. Hopefully that will help.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

