>An Ode….Of Sorts…?

>If you believe what is written in the Bible, we were created to worship. Lucifer was created with pipes and timbrels inside of him. In the book of Ezekiel, angels sing praises all the time. This is just to introduce the concept that music is within us all.….or maybe the love of music…..

Music is powerful. It transcends language, ability, cognition, and culture. People are passionate about it. Millions of dollars are spent each year buying music and accessories on which to play or listen to it.

Did you know our DNA is musical? An ancient theory, now proven. A new theory concerns Stonehenge. Scientists and archeologists now believe that the ancient stones aided in ceremonies that induced a trance-like state. Using instruments that perfectly recreated the music produced hundreds of years ago, they found that the stones reverberated, quite powerfully, drum beats. Drum beats can actually alter the rhythm of the heart and affects part of the brain, inducing a calm, trance-like state. Some help was provided by the consumption of various plants….but that doesn’t take away from the power of the music.

In theory, listening to Mozart helps children learn, especially in mathematics. For me, classical music isn’t helpful. It makes me tense. Too much makes me angry. Maybe because it’s very technical. I love cello (Ron Clearfield) and piano (Harrison Edwards) all sorts of other instrumental music (2002, Arkenstone, Winston, others)…just in a more flexible way….

Music can change moods, bring smiles and tears. It can uplift or feed anger. It can inspire…..our MS, perhaps?

I’ve always wondered which I love more, words or music. Right now, and for the past few weeks, the answer is music. I can put a book away for a while before I begin to feel ‘hungry’ for a new adventure (or an old one). But every morning, I listen to music on the way to work. I have to. What I listen to changes, according to my mood or what the day ahead holds, or if it’s raining….

I listen to Handel’s Messiah (just two songs). Or Starship’s Laying It On The Line. I like Billy Squire’s Lonely Is The Night and  Eddie Money’s She Takes My Breath Away. I wear out the tracks I have from Dead Can Dance. Oman, Glorafin, Rakim, Enigma of the Absolute, American Dreaming-Brendan Perry and Lisa Gerrard have the most amazing voices…..He Reigns by Newsboys and Modern Day Moses by Kendall Payne can become anthems in my mind. Peter Gabriel’s live Secret World discs, U2’s live Bad or Where the Streets Have No Name… and so many many more…..

Sometimes I rearrange words or make my own and sing them with the artists. Juke Joint Jezebel and Whisper to a Scream. Do Ya and Take a Picture. 

Sometimes it’s just music without words….pictures painted on the walls of my psyche that create for me worlds where I am anyone, anything, anywhere and in anytime. Music is magic to me. It moves inside me and becomes…..I hold on and let go. I find myself and get completely lost. Time ceases to exist and I am consumed.

When it is time to come back from someplace Other, I am sad, but full. I have eaten a different kind of manna and I have, for the moment, been healed and sustained. I go about life with the knowledge that I have, for a moment, visited a secret world and taken part in something larger than the physical mind can comprehend. I miss it….and though I know I will go there again soon, I also know that maybe next time I will need a different  key. A new song, or an old one that I haven’t listened to in a while….

Magic….Power….Other….

Here are a few songs that I love…I had to restrain myself because I wanted to put several more on here….I hope you take a few minutes and listen….

Because OMG Dave Evans (aka Edge) ROCKS!!!

And because I have loved this song forever and he brings such a variety of culture to his music….(went with the short studio version)

A little something angry and haunting…..

….and a little something different (love me some 2002!)

and something fun for the road….

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on August 15, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. >Music is such an important part of our lives! Great post!

  2. >oh yeah, my mood determines what i listen to, whether it's intellectual or just something from the gut!

  3. >I often write to music. I pick out a song that fits the scene I'm writing and write to it. It seems to bring out the best in me.I used Nightwish's DARK CHEST OF WONDERS when writing a nightmarish battle sequence in a realm some called Hell.Aubrie and Laughing Wolf are right. It was a great post. I have an ethereal music video on my latest post just because I'm so weary.Have a great new week, Roland

  4. >…mood is an important attribute, and music carries with it the power to control one's mood like the weather during a holiday. I too often write to music. I have a playlist with my faves which I use as support during those difficult scenes.Great post:)

  5. >You have a wonderfully eclectic taste in music. Mood and music are inseparable – in my opinion anyway. I tend to play mine very low so it will soothe the savage beast. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  6. >Hey, The Words Crafter, I know you're probably busy, but check out my blog and you'll see that you have just won an award!!! Write on and thanks for everything!

  7. >I love music!!! It's so important and powerful in everyone's life! Thanks for putting a mix together for us, this was awesome!PS Congrats on your award over at Vatche πŸ™‚

  8. >*Aubrie-thanks and I agree. If I had talent in equal measure with the appreciation, I'd be pretty well off! :)*Laughingwolf-I love your 'intellectual' and 'from the gut'…really makes me curious what kinds of music genres are covered by those two categories…yep, my moods definitely drive me.*Roland-I've heard a few songs lately and immediately, I see scenes with my MC…after I post these comments, I'm going over to see if I can find the song you mentioned. Thanks and get some rest!*Elliot-aaahhhh, you're so right! Music can control a mood, alter it even. Does your playlist change with character/MS changes? Thanks!*Mary-why thank you! I do like variety….I've never thought about whether they're inseparable, but that's an interesting observation. I think you're right. I actually laughed out loud at the thought you might mean yourself as the savage beast! You seem way to kind. Then again, you do work around knives…. *wink**Vatche-loved the award and I will get around to posting and passing it along this week. Thanks so much, for the award and your sweet words.*Jen-thank you and I agree-it's so much a part of our lives that I think we don't realize how much is even in the background. Glad you liked the mix-I really could have gone at least 5 more…sigh. I'm an addict when it comes to music πŸ™‚

  9. >This was interesting.I love your music choices. I'll have to come back and listen to them while I'm editing my short story tonight.Mony Mony brings back so many memories of younger days, and my brother and his Navy buddies coming home on leave and us all out dancing at The Village. Of course, the Sailor's had their own words to sing between Mony Mony – but I'll be polite and not utter them here………dhole

  10. >Life without music would be empty. I like all of your video choices. For the most part my mood determines my music choices but also my activities. When I am doing yard/garden work for example my mp3 is loaded with a mix of AC/DC, Rammstein, Judas Priest, etc.

  11. >Oh…I think I will have to make it a point to listen to more music!! I get so caught up in working that I just put on the Weather Channel in the background…I bet Music would be soooo much better!!

  12. >very interesting about our dna being musical. music simply cannot be underestimated. i saw a drum circle over the weekend, and the energy associated with that music and everyone's interaction was amazingly huge. i mean, music can convert people.great post!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

