>Back Among The Human…..I Think

>

I had typed a whole rant about inconsiderate, irresponsible, and discourteous parents sending sick kids to school. I deleted it. I’m trying to be nice.

So, Thursday, I felt pretty crappy but knew Friday I’d have to go in to work. Director was out of town unexpectedly. Assistant was on vacay. One teacher on maternity leave, another out of town enrolling her son in college. One floater was out of state enrolling in college and Parker was back in college. The remaining floater was in a classroom and a teacher had to remain with the summer campers. No one to spare. We worked it out so that I could leave Friday after breaks were done. That was the first time I can remember not letting anyone sit on my lap or not giving hugs since I came to work at the Center over five years ago. I didn’t want anyone to get whatever it was that I had.

Sometime in the wee hours of Saturday morning I slept for about three hours. That was the last time I slept until Monday night. For real. I was taking (real) Sudafed, ibuprofen, Tylenol, and a daily iron pill (anemic), so that, along with the feeling really bad, probably had something to do with it. I actually felt wired.

I’m usually a 97.4-8F kind of person, so it’s hard for me to get a fever. But I did. All the way past 102.3 (Saturday). Friday night I didn’t take it because I felt too bad, but I felt much worse than the 102. Making sense? When I would walk down the hallway, the air on my skin nearly brought me to tears, so I’m thinking it was higher than 102. I’ve had five doctors and two nurse practitioners tell me that since I run a degree lower than average, I should add a degree to any temp I get. That would be a bit scary sometimes…..

Anyway, by Sunday evening, it was pretty bad. My throat felt very swollen and I had expected it to feel better. When I sneezed once and felt as if I was about to blow a hole in my throat, I figured it was time to suck it up and get to a doctor. All the urgent cares were closed by then, so I went Monday morning. Strep. Woohoo.  I didn’t think you could get it if you didn’t have tonsils…I was wrong.

Two nice things about the doctor visit. My BP is down ten points, yaaaaay!!!!! And the doctor (as well as the nurse) was really nice. He actually apologized as he examined my neck. I replied he wasn’t hurting me and he clarified. He said I was so incredibly swollen that he knew it had to hurt. Awwww. 

Got some meds and feel a bit better. Fever broke Monday morning, but I may have to take doc’s advice and call him for some stronger meds. Zithromax is relatively easy for the body to become accustomed to and it’s usually what I get prescribed, so…..

In other news, we have our new class. They are completely adorable. We currently have two sets of twins, but one set’s grandmother  works at a local high school with an in house daycare. Their mom has gotten them into a classroom there, so we’re losing them. Sad, but the two we will be replacing them with are pretty cool, too.

Roo has her first vet appointment later this afternoon. Hmmmm, we’ll see how spunky she is after that. She and Kitty Boss keep us up at night running through the house, jumping on the bed, wrestling, kicking around toys….they have a blast. I guess that worked out!

Tuesday, Newton (where I work) had a massive water main break. It was so bad that this morning the Center had to close for the day. Sad, huh? NOT!!! I can finally do a blog post and do something about my scary looking house. It must have been sick, too. It looks as if it’s thrown up all over the place….

During the next few days, I’ll be catching up on everyone’s blogs and working on my class project. Yeah, finally got info on my class and went to orientation, it’s all cool.

The weather is wonderful. We have a few red leaves out front. Shadows are long in the afternoon. The smell of new pencils and the squeaks of backpacks….  Autumn, I love you!!! Hurry, hurry!!!

Missed you guys, and thank you so much for all your well wishes. They were more appreciated than you know. Really 🙂

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on August 25, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. >I was so concerned about you. You should have seen the doctor much sooner — but I am a coward when it comes to doctors (and their bills), too. So I am the last one to point fingers. Your immune system is still down so be wary of others' coughs and sneezes. Wash your hands often. And take Echinacea capsules. Stay well. Roland

  2. >Wow, sounds as though you've been really ill. Hopefully the meds are kicking in and you're feeling better. Hugs.

  3. >…interesting. My next door neighbor has been at the OSU medical clinic for the past week due to a high fever she's been struggling with for 10+ days. Please take care of yourself.

  4. >*Roland-I'm planning a trip to one of the many health food stores this weekend, promise. Thanks so much for concern, really. I heard, what we at the Center call, a "daddy" tone in there. Made me say "yessir" in my head. For real! *Kathryn-yeah, I've felt better. But I've also felt, and been, worse, so…mmmmm, thanks for the hugs!*Elliot-kind of worrisome about the fever. A couple years ago, something went through the baby room where the little ones would have an unbreakable high fever. We found out there was a specific test you had to ask for that revealed a little known infection. I'll see if I can find out it's name and email you. Sending up a prayer, too.

  5. >glad you're coming around to wellness, again 🙂

  6. >*Laughingwolf-why, thank ya! 🙂

  7. >Congrats on getting your BP down! At least something good came out of the Doctor's visit. My husband also teaches in the elementary school and the students get him sick with all sorts of stuff. Then I get it next.

  8. >*Aubrie-yeah, we teach children to share, and they're really good at it sometimes! I hate that you get it, too! Thanks about the BP. I think a lot of it had to do with cutting out the massive amount of caffeine I was getting. Too, I've incorporated a lot more fruit into my diet instead of sweets. Mostly 😛

  9. >"I had typed a whole rant about inconsiderate, irresponsible, and discourteous parents sending sick kids to school. I deleted it. I'm trying to be nice."Good karma points help with healing. Glad your back with us chick. =^.^=

  10. >*Nicole-thanks, it's nice to be back. And I need all the points I can get!!! Love the kitty thing, gonna learn how to do that 🙂

  11. >So glad you're back and feeling better if not a 100%. And congrats on getting your BP down, that is HUGE. Well done, you!On another note, I love autumn, too. The fall color, the bite in the air, Halloween. I can't wait!

  12. >I really hope that you feel as perfect as can be as soon as possible! I look forward to seeing your comments as always. Get well soon and write on!

  13. >*VR-me too, me too, me too!!!! Apples, hay bales (achoo!) festivals, popcorn, Snoopy! Autumn RULES! And thanks, especially about the BP. Whew! Still need to bring it down some, though. Working on it!

  14. >*Vatche-wow, your comment sneaked up on me! Thanks! I'll be there!

  15. >Oh man, strep! And home suffering with it to boot. I'm all in to natural healing but there are times, like strep, when we need some powerful help. I'm so glad you broke down and went to the doc and that he was kind to you.You know, those same kids who come to school sick grow up to be adults who go to WORK sick. I'm sorry you had to suffer.Welcome back, I'm so glad you're feeling better!~that rebel, Olivia

  16. >Glad you're feeling better!

  17. >So glad you are feeling better! Strep is just awful, I had it last winter too.

  18. >Poor you! My son is a degree low too, so we have the same problem. If I take him to the doctors' office, I have to tell the doctor to add a degree. Luckily, he doesn't get fevers too often.Parents are inconsiderate to send their children and get their caregivers sick. I'll say it for you… since you're trying to be nice.I hope you're 100-percent soon. I'm glad your new class is adorable. I hope you have a great year.

  19. >It is good to hear you are feeling better. Summer colds and flu are the worst. Strep is rotten whenever you get it. Take care of yourself. Blessings…Mary

  20. >*Olivia-I was told that I couldn't come to work until I saw a doc. I have lots of mommies 🙂 Thanks!*GoldenEagle-thank you very much!*Lydia-bless your heart, I haven't had it since I was a child. You're right, it's awful!*Theresa-my champion! One doc told me that it's actually more common for people to be a degree less than to be 98.6. Maybe they should change the standards of measuring a fever….? I hate it for the kids, they're miserable. Yep, then all of the staff get it and some of the parents have the nerve to look at us funny, like we're going to infect their child. Ah well…Thanks for the well wishes!!*Mary-I agree. Any kind of sickness in the summer makes it sooooo much worse! Thanks 🙂

  21. >Woh, you've really been through it. Echinacea drops helps keeps flu at bay I find. We've had a bad flu season here, but it is winter! Glad you're cheered up by Autumn's near arrival. We're heading into Spring! Da, da, da..:)

  22. >Oh boy. Strep and stress and inconsiderate parents. Geez. I hope you at least found a season DVD of 24 or something to help you heal!Oh wait. That's what I do when I need downtime.Cute post.

  23. >LOLOL I was reading all the comments and had to chuckle at you and Aubrie, "we teach kids to share and sometimes they're really good at" you had me laughing!I'm so glad you are feeling better, that is never fun, even if the children are learning to share and your BP is down (hooray!!) I'm glad to hear that you are slowly coming back to human form and look forward to a full recovery!!

  24. >*L'Aussie-I just recently looked into getting some echinacea…alas, people with weed allergies can't take it 😦 I really am looking forward to autumn!*Jenny-I had Stephen King's The Stand, so I was pretty ok during the times I felt well enough to sit up a bit. I have a friend who is rabid for 24!*Jen-coming back to human form, lol. That's an apt description. For a while, I felt like a slug that had been partially grilled then thrown into an ice bucket! Thanks for the well wishes!

  25. >Nasty bug you had. So happy you're better. Take care and enjoy some good R&R over the weekend.

  26. >*Carol-ah, I wish. Painting, homework, project…think I'll run away. Maybe to Hobby Lobby where all the pretty flowers are in fall shades and the smell of cinnamon fills the air…thanks for the well wishes!

  27. >So glad you are feeling better. That sounded awful! I'm bracing myself for the onslaught of sickness that is inevitable the minute the kids start school…which is soon. I'll have to keep my fingers crossed. Oh and I hear ya. I air is starting to feel a little crisp and my allergies are OUT OF CONTROL. Fall is a comin'!

  28. >Just realized I left a word out of my last post, sorry. I know you're already aware, but I'm back to let you know OFFICIALLY that there's a little something for you over on my blog. :)BTW, have I mentioned how much your avatar kitty looks like my crazy kitten, LucyFur? Lu is eight pounds of fearless purr.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

