>A Strange Dream…..

>I am not one to remember dreams. Usually. This morning, I had this one and felt like I should write it down, that it might make a good story somewhere. I just now got the chance and I know I’ve left out a couple things. Here it is, best as I can remember….it’s raw-no tweaking….

The parking lot was the size of an airfield, which was, I suppose, appropriate. Antique looking planes came and went, off-loading emergency patients. Helicopters thumped overhead as we ran for the admittance door. We were to find the administrator’s desk.

I told him that we were going to the wrong door. Regular office hours were over and we would have to go in through the general admittance doors. He didn’t listen. Sure enough, when the door opened to his frantic knock, a nurse, wearing an old fashioned nurse’s hat, informed us that we would have to go in through general admittance, which was all the way around the other side of the large, glass enclosed waiting area.

While he stood for a moment in frustration and tried to get more information, I began looking for a quicker entrance. I walked quickly around the perimeter, convinced that there must be a door somewhere that would save us the time of walking a whole city block. The waiting area was nearly that large.

After a few moments, my search paid off. A door stood ajar in a nearly hidden corner behind some shrubbery. A service entrance, judging by the cart full of cleaning supplies and the collection of full garbage bags, both sitting in front of the door.

I pulled the door, scooting some of the bags, and peered inside. Several people noticed my unorthodox entrance and smiled. I was not the first to come this way.

My husband, catching up with me, came right behind me and went straight to the giant desk where at least a dozen people worked at computers and gave out information. A bright beam of light seemed to go through me. I looked up and noticed a large structure much like those found at basketball games that projected the action, flashed advertisements, and an anonymous speaker gave out announcements.

I looked for a place to sit and found a comfortable bench sofa near some lively older gentlemen. They greeted me warmly but in such a way as to not make me feel uncomfortable. They were remembering “the good old days” and telling tales of friends long gone and adventures they’d had.

Their conversation went in and out of my notice, only snippets registering. Like when the most vocal storyteller spoke of one of their friends as having died and, by way of introduction, indicated that he was right outside the window, waiting. That got my attention. I looked and, sure enough, there was a gentleman standing by the window, looking fit, holding a jacket looped over his harm, having a smoke. What? I paid more attention.

I must have looked frightened and confused because the storyteller assured me I had nothing to be afraid of. I sat there a long time, waiting on my husband, listening to tales that were funny and sad, laughing and nodding in quiet respect.

Finally my husband appeared before me. His face seemed strangely large, as if he was peering from the reverse end of a telescope. He asked me if I remembered the light that flashed on me as we entered the hospital. He told me that it scanned the wound and could tell the doctors exactly what everything looked like. 

As soon as he mentioned the scan, I suddenly looked down and saw a flash of a long, vertical cut over the left side of my chest. A long, deep cut, void of blood, then it was gone.

A voice came over the sports speaker, saying my name. As soon as I acknowledged the voice, it informed me that I was not out of the woods yet…my heart fluttered and began to race. I knew I needed to calm down and I began to breathe, slowly, in and out. The gentlemen told me to not worry….

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on August 28, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. >Wow, what a spooky dream! You could start a novel with that opening and go from there!

  2. >*Aubrie-that's kind of what I was thinking, but I wouldn't know where to begin. I guess I'll file it and see what comes of it….

  3. >Salut!!!My name is bogdan from Romania!!!We can be friends ???http://bogdanstelistul.blogspot.com/I can put on your list of blogs?? thanks

  4. >I agree with Aubrie. 🙂 And how did you wake up? Well I guess that would end the story then wouldn't it? 😀Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  5. >*Bogdan-later this evening, when I finish all the things on my MUST DO list, I'll run over and check out your blog. Sure, we can be friends!*Jules-that's actually the whole thing, best as I can remember. I simply woke up. No creepy or spooky feeling, just the thought that I should write it down for later use…?

  6. >Some of the stories I enjoyed writing the most came from dreams. Don't worry. Everything's fine. They just stole your soul is all. Mmwhahahahaha.Cue the spooky music and Rod Serling's entrance.I believe you have the beginnings of a great horror/alien invasion/paranormal tale.

  7. >AND? Did you wake up?On the surface, cool dream.Underneath? Cool dream. You did a great job conveying the events, the setting, the people, the conversations. Very clear, concise, descriptive, emotive.Is your subcon still mulling this? Many times when I write down a dream the hidden meaning flashes me. If not immediately, then at some point. For me this could be about some mortal heart or soul wound that is presenting itself for healing. With a flourish. Gotta love the way of the warrior.Thank you for sharing this!~that rebel, Olivia

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

