>Some News And Long (Long) Awaited Awards

>

 Well, the last couple of weeks have certainly been, shall I say, entertaining? I have had so many issues with my computer and the internet that often times I just wanted to scream. Or break something.

Yesterday, I finally snapped. The laptop bit the dust at last and, with my husband’s permission, I took it outside and threw it on the carport floor and stomped on it. Many times. 

Here is the result. Nice, huh?

And, if you believe any of that, I have to tell you I’m sorry. I lied!!!

It’s Vatche’s fault. He gave me this award several days ago. Do you see the title? It practically begs me to tell lies. I’m just doing what I’m told! If you’ve never checked out his blog, you’re missing some really interesting

stuff. Vatche is a poet, an observer, and a challenger. Really, you should go on over and check him out. While you’re doing that, I’ll type out the rules. Okay, that’s a lie, too. I’m gonna copy and paste. And thank you very much, Vatche, for thinking of me!

The Rules:
The Bold Face Liar Creative Writer Award requires you to: 
1. Thank the person who gave you the award and link to them.
2. Add the award to your blog.
3. Tell six outrageous lies about yourself and one truth. (Another variant: Tell six truths and one outrageous lie. YOU get to guess which variant I chose – and which statements are true, as well as which are lies.)

4. Nominate six creative liars writers and post links to them.

5. Let your nominees know that they have been nominated.


Can you figure out which group I went with? Do you know which are lies and which are truths? We’ll see.

1. I have traveled as far west as El Paso, Texas.

2. I can write with both hands, at once. One-forward and right side up, the other-backward and upside down.

3. My husband is thirteen years younger than I am.

4. I wrote and directed a prize winning safety skit/video.

5. I have taken socks off a total stranger.

6. I once bit a mercury thermometer in half.

7. I have a hand written letter, addressed to me, from Stephen King.

Okay, now, to pass the award on. I tried to not duplicate it. Meaning, I tried to make sure the recipients didn’t already have this particular award. 

These are all fantastic writers who continually post things interesting, open, challenging, humorous, uplifting, humane, and powerful. If you’ve never checked them out, go ahead while I prepare this next list, okay? Thanks!

This award was sweetly given to me by Olivia, That Rebel With A Blog. Olivia, like Vatche, has a wonderful blog. She posts about her adventures, her life, her writing…and it’s truly great reading. And she’s always there when I need her, which makes her the best kind of friend. Thank you very much Olivia.

The only problem with this one is that I’m supposed to pass it on to five friends. Well, if you know me AT ALL, you know I struggle with rules. So, natch, I’m breaking this one. In my head, I rationalize that it’s okay since I OBEYED the rules with the liars creative writers award. Is that okay?

Also, some of these bloggers don’t really ‘do’ awards, so I figure, in my twisted way, that also keeps me closer to the ‘five’ I’m supposed to choose.

Charlene from Another Painting Blog. She was one of my very first followers and has listened to my sorrows and shared some of her own. She always makes time in her crazy insane schedule to comment and encourage. Plus, she’s a fantastic artist. You should check out her shop on Etsy.

Theresa from Substitute Teacher’s Saga because she is so funny and talented and open. She always encourages me, even when she is in need of the same. She meets challenges head on and and lends her determination to those of us who need help with our own struggles.

Roland over at Writing In The Crosshairs always makes time to comment or reply even though he has a grueling schedule. He, too, encourages me when I’m struggling or down. His writing advice is both wise and practical. His writing, while often dark and filled with pain, is beautiful and offers hope to fellow survivors slogging their way through this life.

Carla at Paper Clippings Of A Wandering Artist for all the encouragement and understanding she has given me. A sweet person, also a talented artist, who takes time to lend an ear or a shoulder whenever it’s needed. She’s very giving, not just to me, but to the blogging community and fellow artists.

Jenny Matlock who has like a gazillion followers yet still manages to reply to all the comments we post, even if it takes two days. She has been there and done that and has helped me A LOT. She’s empathized and sympathized and given advice where and how I’ve needed it. She’s also a very talented writer with a sense of humor and a unique perspective.

Vatche from The Student Writer’s Mind who, in spite of his youth, is very wise and kind and is always encouraging. He is also insightful and challenges me with his poetry, his queries, and his determination. He always responds and encourages. Always.

Mary at One Perfect Bite, who also has gazillions of followers, always comes by and wishes for me a good day and makes me smile with some witty remark or a kind word of encouragement. She also posts recipes that are relatively simple and healthy and my husband, family, and co-workers appreciate that!

Aubrie from Flutey Words, what can I say? She has shared her writing with me and encouraged me in my own. I admire her determination and her ‘chin up’ attitude. Her determination gives me hope and encourages me. There’s a ton of strength inside of her and she shares it willingly. She also has a pretty great sense of humor.

Ed Pilolla, not just because of his humor and candor, but because he’s been a great cheerleader for my poetry. He makes me smile when I’m being whiny. He makes me appreciate when he’s open. And he causes me to hope when he’s doggedly determined.

All these people and so many more of you I consider my friends. You’ve been there. You’ve encouraged and listened, advised and helped. I appreciate you more than I could ever say.

Thank you.

I have more awards to pass around but this seemed long so I’ll do it tomorrow evening. Have a great Labor Day weekend!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on September 6, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. >Thanks, Words Crafter, for the award and especially for the kind words.Yes, my schedule is grueling. I am the only worker at work tomorrow for Labor Day. Sigh. Job security.Have a great week, Roland

  2. >Congrats on the awards, so deserving. OH how I wished the laptop dance had not been a lie! I was getting happy just thinking abut it πŸ˜€Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  3. >What a nice post for me to read after waking up! This is better than an Emmy Award. Truly. Thank you!I could write pretty much the exact words about you.I'll check out the other nominees.I love your computer lie. Mine has been acting funny for some time, giving me a blank screen. Because MAC has $100 off educator discount + free iTouch until tomorrow, I bought a laptop yesterday. Now I'll be paying this off for the next 6 or 7 months.These are the lies: 2 and 6. If # 7 is true, I want to see it!

  4. >Thank you dearest. And I'll bite, you took socks off a total stranger.

  5. >Congrats on all your awards. I'm just getting to know you, so since I live in Texas, I'll guess that El Paso is as far west as you've traveled. But I actually thought a couple others could easily be true as well. Call me Miss Wishy Washy πŸ™‚

  6. >Congratulations of those well-deserved awards and thank you for passing one of them on to me. It really is appreciated. Have a great holiday. Blessings…Mary

  7. >You're an excellent liar, because these were brilliant :)Congrats to all those receiving awards!

  8. >Hi I followed you over from Denise's blog. I'm afraid now you'll have to keep me. I checked out you poetry blog and I'm hooked. You have a new follower on both blogs. I agree about Roland's blog it is great. Now I will have to check out some of the others. There are so many really good writers and wonderfully helpful people out here in blog land, isn't there.

  9. >Congrats on the awards, and thanks so much for sharing AND for the kind words. :)I, too, like #5. I'm not sure it's the most likely, but I hope it is because I want to hear the story behind it!

  10. >Aww thank you so much for my award! I'm voting for #1 being true. πŸ™‚

  11. >thank you so much for the award and congratulations on yours too… it's such a beautiful thing, to have such wonderful friends xoxo!

  12. >…many thanks for the award and your kind words:)I'm dearly hoping the line, "I've taken socks off a complete stranger," was a fib. I'm cringing at the thought.Getting a personal letter from King…if true, I'd frame it over the mantle!

  13. >WOW, BECKY! Thank you so much for the kind words, no, "kind" is an understatement, THE AWESOME WORDS, that you've said about me. It's great to know that someone is a fan of mine in the blogverse, so thank you a million times over!And thanks for participating with the award and stuff. I really appreciate all of your comments, thoughts, and insights! Write on!

  14. >Becky…You HAVE to be one of the Sweetest people I have ever been so privileged to 'meet'. I do LOVE reading your blog…it does make me feel that I know you! And..I consider you a dear friend.You always leave such words of encouragement and try to brighten my days…Thank you for being You!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

