>Is It Time To Say "The Heck With It?"

>

Just a quick, short post for tonight.

When Honey and I were laid off from our jobs, we went back to school. We had lived soooo frugally, living off only one paycheck. The other was put aside and not touched. (We had seen the layoff possibility more than a year before.) I was very excited to have the opportunity I’d always wanted.

I did well in all my classes, especially the EDU ones. Okay?

Well, before I started my maths and my last elective (an English course, natch!), I had one more EDU class to take.

No offense to the people who decide which classes are necessary, but after you take a few EDU classes, they start repeating themselves. Nearly verbatim. I hated it. It was so boring. Too much paperwork about stuff I’d been taught over and over.

The course dealt largely with the responsibilities of a director. I have NO DESIRE WHATSOEVER to ever be a director. Nope, not even for a $5 raise. Not even for a $10 one. Too many mickey mouse things that you have to keep up with, turn in, fill out, etc.

This only made it more difficult to care about the class. Thus, I earned my first ‘B’. I got another one in my Sociology class, which I enjoyed immensely (the class, not the B). And our final project was a hit-not only with the class, but the prof loved it as well and said so. But I still got a ‘B’.

That was the beginning of the end of the enthusiasm. I had a fabulous teacher for my two math classes. Great. Then, I took a higher math and about that time the awful drama with the drug dealer and the drummer guy came to a breaking point. And then the terrible seller we had to deal with getting our house.

I had a breakdown one morning in the Center parking lot. Director insisted I go home.

I dropped that math class. I couldn’t do it anymore.

Now, I cannot make myself care AT ALL about my current class. It’s practically a co-op, just under a different name. I did this already! But the curriculum changed and since I was no longer current, I have to re-do it….and I’m so. burned. out. No exaggeration at all. I loathe and detest school anymore. It makes me sick. And I have a geology course in the spring. I think I’ll like that, though.

Have any of you gotten burned out somewhere? So badly that it’s almost worth it to give up and fail? Does anyone have suggestions about how I can get through this?

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on September 14, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. >You approach it one day at a time. Focus on what the man is saying. I used to try to take notes in outline form, viusalizing the teacher's lesson plan in my head. Anything to keep me awake.Consider it the vegatables on your dinner plate. Apple crisp tastes better but you have to eat your vegetables to get to it.A boring teacher can do a lot of things, but he can't add six weeks to the month. This course will eventually be over. And you will have your degree.Hang in there. Didn't you just say the same thing to me about writing? LOL Roland

  2. >First, take a deep breath. Then decide: does the end justify the means. Is it better to have a degree that was obtained with a few Bs or a C? Does any future employer go back and look at grades? Don't be too hard on yourself. If you just cannot handle it, step aside. You can always step forward again in the future.Best,Bonnie

  3. >Chances are you'll kick yourself in the booty more than once if you don't finish your degree. Pull up your big girl panties and endure one day at a time. Don't let THEM win. Show them you're tough and can handle anything they can throw at you from any direction.

  4. >I like Rolands suggestions. I have to say I know I need to go back to school I hate the thought.Have you tried seeing how many animals you can make out the professors face? At least it will pass the time.Hang in there, it does end. đŸ™‚Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  5. >*Roland-I know, you're right. But I LOVE apple crisp!!!!Yeah, I'm really glad no one can add time to the semester. That would probably make me throw a book at someone!!! *Bonnie-Nope, they don't usually go back. Just, this is a core class and it has to be a B or an A. It's just so BORING! And it seems like the same class over and over. But you're right. I just want the degree.*Carol-This made me laugh out loud when I read it at naptime. I wish I could master posting and replying on my Crackberry….Consider my big girl panties pulled up:)))*Jules-Hahahahaha….I bet you're funny in class. What would you go back to learn?

  6. >This is awful, but…I spent four years and racked up six-digit student loans, only to discover after 12 more years that I loathe my profession and can make more money doing almost anything else than this. I could choke on that every day. And some days I do. Others? I just go about my merry way. La di da. Oh well. Such is life.It's all a grand farce anyway. Just ask Styx.Hang on to those big girl panties (too funny) and keep on trucking. BTW, I loved the part about you having a melt down in the parking lot. It sounds like something I'd do.Hang in there, that rebel, Olivia

  7. >I don't know how you might do it…but it might help if you can find 'something/anything' about the class that you do like…and focus on that during the high stress moments?

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

