>My Very Personal Upcoming Mid-Life Crisis Treat

>

I have to admit that I crack on older men driving around in a Miata. I think of those little cars as strictly mid-life crisis cars for men. I know that’s not fair, even if the majority of drivers are older men….
What’s your point, you might be wondering. It’s this: very soon I will be having a birthday. I don’t know if 46 will count as mid-life enough, but I’m using it as an excuse. I’ve been struggling with myself, the ghost voices from the past, and the lies that were drilled into me as a child. 
So. I’m taking some smallish steps in some new directions. This spring, God willing, will mark the end of my college days (unless I take some courses of my choosing). I’m allowing myself to be more real (complicated explanation). And, I’m making a bold, permanent statement-to myself, to the ghosts that try to haunt me, and to the world.
I’m doing something a little different for my mid-life crisis….
Some people choose to sit in a chair and indulge their sweet tooth. I could do this! But I’m not.
 Some people pack up and see the world. Or climb it. Travel isn’t an option….yet. And I won’t be climbing mountains via this method-ever!
 Some people look for one of these…..
 …..or one of these. I already have one, thanks. And he’s pretty terrific.
Some people buy one of these. This is my dream car-a Bugatti Veyron. It can top over 200 mph. I would LOVE to drive this. I love like to fly down the highway go fast the speed limit…..but-it’s not an option either. 
My option? This:
חָקַק
It’s going to be my tattoo. I’m going with a friend tomorrow after work and have it put on the inside of my left wrist. It’s in Hebrew and it’s from my favorite book-Isaiah. 
It’s a very powerful word from a very powerful verse that saved my life. 
Are any of you old enough to be experiencing a mid-life crisis? How or in what way did you ‘celebrate’ the event/period?

In case any of you choose to try to translate this, here’s a link to its origin, meaning, etc.

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on October 7, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. >what a lovely choice!!! i think tattoos are beautiful and so are you! btw, i have a HUGE crush on karl urban, so i'm so happy you posted a photo of him too (tee hee). sending you lots of hugs…

  2. >*Carla-thanks! Did you see Star Trek? He was a better Bones than the original! He completely cracked me up. I actually plan to have both wrists done and then, as a reward for getting into shape, one on my back. But I gotta do the work first!Have a great Friday!

  3. >Happy midlife crisis. I'm all for getting tattoos. I have two and have a third planned. Maybe it's the red wine, but I checked the link and couldn't figure it out. I know a little Hebrew so I can sound it out, but I don't know what it means.

  4. >Inside your left wrist? Ouch. Won't that hurt? That area is rather sensitive, isn't it?The ancient Chinese said that Westerners put too much emphasis on one day (birthday) and not enough on each day granted us.Have a happy tomorrow. Wishing you long life and no crisis mid or otherwise. Roland

  5. >*Theresa-I'm emailing you the meaning….and I'm curious what tattoos you have and are planning to have!*Roland-it's not really about the birthday. It's actually been a long time coming….and it's a reminder to me, a statement to others. Since I have a pretty high pain tolerance, I'm not worried. I'll take a photo of it and post it. Thanks for the wishes, and right back at ya!!!

  6. >I think you have your midlife crisis under control. I hope your tattoo brings you great pleasure. Now from the sublime to the ridiculous—you can use chicken in place of pork. A deli chicken would be fine and fast. Blessings…Mary

  7. >Brave you getting a tatt. Love this post. Happy Birthday!

  8. >I like the look of it, but I am terrified of needles. I could never get a tattoo because of that. Having said that YOU GO GIRL. I think the everyday reminder would be great. I couldn't figure out the meaning either. Maybe I need the red wine Theresa's having.

  9. >That choice for a tat looks very neat! I'm not there yet- LOL I'm not even thirty yet. but I'm glad your are trying a new direction and i hope it pays off for you in some way that makes you happier with who you are and where you are at.

  10. >i don't get it, either! :(but if it makes you happy, go for it :)hope your b'day is swell… had mine earlier in the week 😉

  11. >Have a great B-day! I'd be afraid to get a tattoo, but good for you for braving it all!

  12. >I'm 'beyond' mid-life….how scary is that???

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

