>My Very First Tattoo!!!

>

I did it! This afternoon, a co-worker/friend and I went to a place right up the road from the Center and we got tatted together.

This was her sixth tattoo, my first. The guys there were super nice and friendly and were excited that I was there to let them give me my very first tattoo. Everyone laughed when I pointed out that my wrists were ‘veiny’ and fair skinned and wondered if that would make a difference. They reassured me that it would not be a problem, and it wasn’t.

I was told by several people that the inner wrist is a very painful place for a tattoo. It did hurt pretty good when he made a few of the downward strokes…but it was bearable. Otherwise, it was not bad at all. Whew!

Flossie May, my co-worker/friend, who was getting a tiny heart on the outside of her ankle, called out to me from her little room to ask if I was okay. She was sure I’d cry out. Or even scream! Ain’t she sweet? She’s young enough to be my daughter and most of us ‘mommy’ her-it was sweet to see the ‘mommy’ in her coming out.

There was some confusion about its meaning. That’s my fault because I linked the definition of the root word, which is what this is. It’s from Isaiah 49:15,16  “Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you! See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are ever before me.” What I got is the Hebrew script for the word ‘engraved.’

I found this verse in 1998 and it became very meaningful to me because, for the first time in my life, I believed that I belonged to someone-not because they had no choice, but because they chose me.

Now, I can’t wait to figure out what’s going on the other wrist. Then, when I get back into shape, I’m getting one on my back! (I’ve had these planned for nearly two years…) I see now why people say it’s addictive!

Oh, one more clarification. I have a birthday coming soon, not today. It’s actually next month….

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on October 8, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. >wow…tattoos arent for me…but that doesnt mean they arent for other people… 🙂 that was very brave of you… 🙂 CoOL… 🙂

  2. >I don't think I could ever get a tattoo, but I'm not saying never. It would have to be something meaningful to me, like this is to you. Hubby has one, though.

  3. >It's breathtaking! I have one on my ankle I got in medical school. It's a symbol of a circular flower, and the petals represent my family and how they cannot be separated from who I've become.

  4. >i absolutely love the meaning of it… what a beautiful tattoo! and… congratulations!

  5. >Beautiful and meaningful – which is what a tattoo should be. I don't really get the body as a canvas thing. THIS I understand.

  6. >Like VR said, when a tattoo is both meaningful and beautiful, it fulfils a uselful function.Hope your weekend is healing, Roland

  7. >What a beautiful verse to refer to with a tattoo! Wow, you were brave! My birthday is next month as well 🙂 Happy Birthday to us.

  8. >You are so brave. Good for you!

  9. >*Tracy-thanks! I was a little nervous but I was so excited that I didn't care :)*Carol-my husband doesn't want one, either, but he likes mine…funny. I do tend to like symbolic things….*Lydia-thanks very much and I would LOVE to see a photo of yours. It sounds beautiful and unique!*Carla-ever since I read that verse so long ago, it's been sort of a 'life verse' for me. I've known for a long time that I wanted 'engraved' to be, well, engraved on me somewhere…*VR-before yesterday, I would have said the same thing. I still feel that way, mostly. But, I have to admit, I was pretty high after getting this one and I can truly understand why people go back for more….it wouldn't be for me, though.*Roland-thanks. It didn't hurt quite as much as I thought it would and then only in places. So much of my life has been inconsistent and impermanent, I wanted a permanent reminder of this promise….*Aubrie-thanks, you're sweet. And woohoo for November birthdays!*Becky-hahahaha-I was actually nervous but very determined. And thank you!

  10. >While I won't be getting a tattoo, I love the symbolism of yours. My skin is naturally tattooed with freckles–the bane of my southern grandmother and mother. They always admonished to "cover up". I suppose we were all to go around looking like mummies!!Best,Bonnie

  11. >Interesting meaning to your tattoo! I'm of a mind that permanent marks should be meaningful–yours certainly is. 🙂

  12. >It looks awesome! Congratulations. And the meaning behind it is powerful and beautiful.I'm impressed you did it in just a sensitive place. Mine are on my shoulders – so wimpy!

  13. >Congrats! I got a one a few years back and I love it!

  14. >While I've never understood, or liked, big gaudy tattoos a small meaningful one is very impressive. Yours in very nice, congrats.

  15. >A very meaningful reminder…and permanent too!!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

