>Some Scary Truth

>

There is a lot to be said for the modern world we live in. Technology gives us instant access to information, education, recreation, and stranger-friends twenty-four hours a day.

Cell phones connect us to friends and family from anyplace we happen to be. Cable and satellite provide entertainment and news day and night.

Modern medicine and knowledge provide us with defenses against diseases that used to mean certain death, and cures for many others.

Higher education is available to more people than ever before and relocating for job opportunities has become commonplace.

Our modern world is a mobile one. Families move away from each other, leaving behind support systems and familiar neighborhoods. More than ever before, we exist in an anonymous, impersonal, and quite fragile society. Some of this society can be observed quite intimately if one works in a child care center…

Parents have to miss work because they no longer live near grandma or aunty. They dope children with fevers and contagious illnesses because they can’t afford to miss work-for money reasons and because their jobs could very well be on the line. They have no back-up.

A parent loses a job….and there is no one to turn to because they don’t really know their neighbors, especially if they live in an apartment building, and their family is too far away. The same scenario if a parent becomes very ill. Our center has become the grandparent to many families over the past few years….

I put all that out there so I could say this…

I don’t know my neighbors. I do know that the elderly lady that lives next door would probably call the police if a stranger came poking around. That’s what she did when the inspectors and contractors showed up during our pre-purchase days…

And, because of our crazy hours, I couldn’t tell anyone too much about what’s normal and what’s not….

Saturday, while we were all at Scarowinds, Honey got an Amber alert on his phone. A little girl who lives somewhere in my city was reported missing. She’s 10 and is a cancer survivor. She lost part of her hearing and the lower part of a leg because of the disease. But she survived. 

Earlier this morning, the alert was cancelled. It has now become a homicide investigation. Apparently, the family moved around a lot. Their last residence was in my childhood hometown. They moved to my adopted city two months ago. Aside from her immediate family, there is no indication that anyone has seen or heard from her for a month. 

A month. What about schools? Well, if they moved around a lot, she may not have even been registered in a new school yet. What about neighbors? I’ve lived here almost a year. I barely keep up with anything my neighbors do. They’ve lived at their new place for only two months. Would people really know what was normal or not? Several people weren’t even aware a child lived with them.

Let me state up front that I love the internet and my computer and all the friends that live in the mysterious cyber world. I also believe, strongly, that with all our modern conveniences, we’ve forgotten how to connect with other people, face to face. And we’ve forgotten how vital it can be to have those connections. Those connections could be life saving.

A child is missing, presumed dead. That she exists at all is a surprise to some people. She survived bone cancer. And she’s only ten years old. So young, so strong, and so vulnerable.

Our modern world has some frightening flaws….

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on October 12, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. >These stories really strike a chord with me. They are horrifying. Especially now that the parents are the focus of this investigation. As someone who wants children, but can't have them on my own, I get very, very angry when someone has the gift of a child and chooses to extinguish that life on their own. I have a very hard time not being bitter. And I feel so terribly for the child. Why was she not loved? That poor thing. I can't imagine what her life was like. That no one noticed her! People were surprised by her existence! But I'm very upset with the family member that admitted they knew she was abused. She claims she called child services, but why wouldn't you follow up? I know all my neighbors. I make it a point to. I do it so that we know to look out for each other – for the kids as they walk home from school, for the homes when someone we don't recognize is loitering. But I know my block is the exception, not the rule. It's very sad.

  2. >Mankind is anything but kind. Words to live by : mind your surroundings. Don't meet the eyes of the predators on the street or the parking lot. When going to your car, have Pepper Spray or your longest key sticking out of the fingers of your right fist.The schools, police are overwhelmed. Neighbors are transient, inner-focused. Life has become harsh.In the comments to my latest post, I picked my 5 favorite words and the reasons why in reply to Francine's award. My words fits your post.Have a better tomorrow. My prayers are with all the little children in jeopardy. Roland

  3. >This story is becoming too common these days and that is frightening. A child turns up missing but it wasn't reported right away. The amber alert is canceled and the suspects are one or both of the parents. Roland's words above are good but for many children these days it isn't the stranger who is the threat, the real danger lives under the same roof. We have only lived here a few years but we do know the immediate neighbors at least as far as casual conversations go. We are lucky that our neighborhood is quiet and for the time being crime free. It is much better than the big city where we used to live.

  4. >I know this story and followed it on CNN in fact, I found myself crying over a child I did not know. :(Yes this world is flawed and even more terrifying is the fact it is becoming complacent. :(Wonderful post, hope it opens some eyes.Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  5. >I agree with you. And a perfect photo for your story–this is the scary part. I've been keeping up with this story, too, and my heart and prayers go out for that beautiful, valiant little girl.

  6. >GRRrrrrr!!!! I was posting replies to your comments and, not thinking about what I was doing, clicked to another page to look for something. Of course, all my replies were lost!!!! Duh…Anyway: Throw away kids are all over the place (that's what I call the unloved, unappreciated, unvalued children) and, sadly, they often end up in a story like this one. We do need to be careful and mindful or our surroundings and pray for all the unprotected out there. One day, we may get to see how much our prayers changed things for them…Some of the worst dangers do lurk inside of homes and within families….and this is often the hardest to spot or change. We need wisdom. We also need to be available to children who need us-as a friend, an ear, or even a shield.The world has become complacent and the unfortunate consequence is that these beautiful children suffer for it.

  7. >unreal… but it IS real, sadly 😦

  8. >A scary and thoughtful observation. We live in a cul de sac and I have made it a point to know all of our neighbors. It's sad that we feel we can't trust anyone anymore. And sad to see the situations that so many children are placed in.

  9. >I was thinking…just the other day…about this same thing. How modern technology has really changed our worlds.In some cases though..it has been a good thing (at least for me.)I don't like that we don't connect in person like we used to…but, there still seems to be a 'need' to connect…as we see in blogs, facebook and other ways of 'instant communication.'I don't have text on my phone because I don't know how to text and have no desire to learn…yet each of my kids…and even some of the younger grandkids all know how….

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

