>My Scariest Reads, Ever…..

> In honor of the upcoming holiday (is Halloween a holiday?), I thought I’d do a post about the scariest and/or most disturbing books I’ve ever read. Here they are in reverse order. Ready?

 Cujo. It terrified me and broke my heart. I was blown away by how real this was and it bothered me to think how easily any animal, even a beloved one, could become a nightmare from hell. It broke my heart because ordinarily, Cujo was a regular, lovable dog who wouldn’t hurt anyone. I got lost in imagining how horrible it must be to become trapped inside your own body while some virus or parasite caused you to become a monster. I imagined the horror and sorrow, the pain and rage, and the helplessness someone (Cujo) would feel and became overwhelmed. I only read this once and intend to never read it again. I couldn’t bear it.

 Way back in the early days of Sally Jesse Raphael, I happened to catch a show with Trudi Chase as the featured guest. I had no idea who she was, but the topic interested me. Multiple Personality Disorder (it’s called something different now). Intrigued, I sat down and watched the interview. I listened, enraptured, as the woman on stage talked-in different voices with different mannerisms. Her face would change and she would look significantly different. She actually frightened me. But I was fascinated. As soon as I could find it, I bought her book and read it. Disturbing. Horrifying. Stunning. Educational. If you ever wanted to read a story about MPD, whether you believe it’s real or not, this is the one to get. Critics suggest that to have as many personalities as Truddi claims exists within her is unrealistic. I’m not a doctor or a psychiatrist. But I do believe the mind is an amazing organ that we still know relatively little about. I believe it is capable of going to incredible lengths in order to protect and survive. I have many of my own self defense mechanisms, so I’m not too quick to cast doubt. I want to get a new copy of this and read it again.

 I used to read lots of John Saul books. This one, though, disturbed me so much that, after finishing it, I never picked up another one of his books. I couldn’t. It bothered me so much that my mind has blocked nearly any recollection about the plot or storyline. I just remember it was about children dying. Horribly. And a sadistic, menacing….something. This is the second most disturbing thing I’ve ever read. I was haunted for weeks after and didn’t feel safe or clean or free for a long time. I dreamed about it. Shudder. 

I cannot honestly say I’ve read this book. I tried. I tried more than once. It scared the absolute crap out of me. I used to hide it under the sofa. I hid it between the cushions of the chair. As I write this, it occurs to me that I would always put it at the furtherest points away from me in the house. The darkness in it consumed me. The threat spoke to me. The unknown stuck its icy fingers of suggestion into my innermost being and twitched. I couldn’t breathe. I couldn’t sleep. I won’t ever try again.

So, what books have scared the crap out of you? Are you reading any scary ones in honor of the season?

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on October 25, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. >Scary stuff, each and all. Years ago I was catching up on some books and read The Exorcist, Rosemary's Baby and The Mephisto Waltz back to back. For the next month I jumped at the least little noise. I love horror novels and ghost stories but the one book that gave me bad dreams was The Haunting by Shirley Jackson. I was a teenager when I read it the first time and I still find it disturbing.

  2. >My scariest read was the summons for an I.R.S. audit! Brrrr. I kept great books and I was still scared to my toes.Stephen King's SALEM'S LOT scared and disturbed me so that up until DUMA KEY, I did not read another book by him.THE MANITOU scared the willies out of me when I was young.As for movies, THE RING scared the snot out of me when I watched it by myself late at night. As I lay to sleep, looking at my TV, I could almost see the slack-haired girl flop frog-like out of it. Brrrr.

  3. >PET SEMATARY by Stephen King is the book that's scared me the most. Next would be FANGLAND by John Marks — I don't know why, but I just found the vampire in it really creepy (and normally I don't find vampires scary at all).

  4. >I read The Exorcist and loved it. But I closed Stephen King's IT at about page six because it scared the pants off me.

  5. >"The Exorcist" scared me as well, and so did Jay Anson's "Amityville Horror", despite the atrocious writing. "Bag of Bones" by King really got me. I was in seventh grade and when Mike Noonan started communicating with his dead wife from the top of the basement stairs I got cold chills that I literally couldn't rub off.

  6. >I so can not read these types of books. I way too much of a wimp.. ha..! I wouldn't sleep for a month. When I was in high school I read the book I think was called 'Night before Christmas' or something like that. It was a great read.. however I slept with the light on for a LONG time! LOL Told you I was a wimp! ha.. Fun post! Thanks!!Hug,Coreen

  7. >As a child I LOVED good scary books and, in fact read The Exorcist and remember being okay with it. Not long after, though, I sat in line for hours to see the movie and slept with my mother for WEEKS after. I even woke up once or twice thinking the bed was shaking. Until that movie I read and liked horror, both books and movie.But that dang thing broke me. I haven't watched or read horror since. Except Roland's stuff which can be disturbing. But his characters are so soulful I can't resist. I do love Stephen King's not scary stuff. His writing is great with a capital G.Loved this post, that rebel, Olivia

  8. >*SquirrelQueen-Mephisto Waltz and The Haunting…I'll have to give those a look-see. Rosemary's Baby creeped me out, but it didn't scare me. Have you seen the movie? The book was great and the movie was pretty good, too.*Roland-The Manitou….another book I'm gonna have to give a look-see. I don't do movies. Nope. I feel, for the most part, they're just after the shock value. The Scream movies were pretty good, though. The IRS summons cracked me up! I trust it all went well…*Jennifer-Fangland…dang! My TBR can nearly reach coast to coast! A creepy vampire-that's how it should be. *Carol-isn't it funny how different people's reactions are? I started Exorcist several times and couldn't do it, but I loved IT! Ha! Interesting.*William-you know I haven't read Bag of Bones. If it got to you, it will probably get to me, especially since you could read the Exorcist. It too, will have to go on my list….*Coreen-I would have on a light somewhere, too. And music-so I wouldn't hear any noises! Not wimp. Smart!*Olivia-I. Cannot. Watch. The. Movie. Nope. And I'd probably never sleep again, so no worries there. I love Roland's stuff, too. I also love King's stuff, even the creepy stuff like Thinner. Just certain ones have some element that really gets to me and I have to put it down and walk away. Okay, I run, but that's beside the point, lol.

  9. >Anything by H.P.Lovecraft is tops for me!!

  10. >I don't think any book has ever scared me any more than Bram Stoker's 'Dracula'. True..I was in high school when I read it…at night…during a nasty thunder storm…and the lights went out at a very scary part….but it left an impression on me..all these years later.

  11. >Wow–I MUST read those books! Can't say I've read any, except CUJO, but will have to re-read that as I was only twelve when I attempted it. I remember enjoying the story but was put off by King's style of writing. What always spooks me are the purported true ghost stories collections. There used to be a series called TRUE SINGAPORE GHOST STORIES that always made me lave the light on at night…

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

