>Reacquainting, Meeting, Explaining And Introducing….

>

You know how you have those strange kinds of days? Let me back up….

This has been one heck of a week. Back-to-back days of tornadoes/damaging winds/severe thunderstorms/torrential rains…..and I heard the train. The ‘train’ lasted about five minutes, then just stopped. Thankfully, it never reached the ground…..

In addition to the weather issues, I’ve had a sinus migraine that’s been kicking my butt for nearly a week. It eases off, lingers, then reminds me that it’s still around. Atmospheric pressure plays a part in the whole mess, too. Yippee.

I work in childcare. It’s a standard rule of thumb that whenever there’s a holiday, the kids are going to act up, bicker, be cranky, cry, fight, etc. I can honestly say that, for the most part, they’ve behaved exceptionally well. And today was a blast. We had a parade to show off everyone’s costumes. Then each class took a turn trick-or-treating to all the classrooms and the office.
 After lunch and nap time, we all had our parties. The kids in our class deserve gold stars-they were that great!

I was supposed to go to a ‘meet and greet’ sort of thing at B & N tonight for local nano-ers, but I didn’t make it. Headache, remember?

This evening has been spent trying to catch up on everyone’s blogs and I’m still so far behind. So, fair warning: you may see me, you may not. But I will eventually make it around, even if it’s just one time a week. Just for the month of November. Then it should be business as usual. And I’m  scheduling posts ahead of time, too.                

So anyway. Back to the strange kind of day. Evening, actually. I was visiting a blog and Mummer’s Dance came on. Love that song. Have the CD! Continuing! I looked at the list the blogger had and found some oldie favorites. Then I stumbled upon Send Me On My Way by Rusted Root. I hadn’t heard that song in a long time.

I closed my eyes and listened to it again. I saw my MC from my WIP. Her life is filled with death. Horror. Difficult choices. Sorrow. Pain. And much of it at her hands and her choices. So she writes. And sings. Music is her salvation.

She was dancing and singing Send Me On My Way, tears of pain running down her face. She isn’t ashamed of her tears. She’s earned them. For the first time in a while, we were close again. We haven’t figured out one of the critical needs for our story, but the silence caused by the frustration in trying to solve this one thing, is over. Inside of me, she danced again. Her joy, her freedom, her balm is music. It’s where she’s happy. It’s where she heals. As this song played, she shared her joy and released some of her pain. It was real to me once again. 

She doesn’t look like these pictures (all from zedge.net). But they sort of
capture her essence. She isn’t blonde. I think she may have auburn hair. She isn’t beautiful. She’s compelling. She doesn’t do skimpy. She’ll do flirty, though. Really, a warrior would have a difficult time with any kind of combat in some of the outfits, or lack thereof, that I found. And she uses duel swords.

Those she must war against are very capable. Seasoned. And they fear and hate everything she represents. Hopefully, after nano, I’ll have some clarity and we can begin serious work on her story.

In other news, I’ve had fun meeting new people through Theresa’s blog haunting party. If you haven’t already, you should go over and check it out. There are prizes to be won if you share info about the haunt. All you have to do is give a little info about your blog then visit three other blogs from her comment section. Easy!

I would also like to introduce Parker to everyone. He’s finally started a blog! Woohoo! He is my Co-Teacher’s son and he is currently attending a university near me. His intention is to major in history and become a high school teacher. He’s a rabid  an avid Stephen King fan-he’s the one who got me to read IT. He’s also crazy about Harry Potter, as well as the Lost series. 
He is not only a Teaching Fellow, but he’s part of the events staff and just spent a whole week meeting and working with Harry Potter scholars and even got to attend and work a concert. Jealous! 
He’s also doing NaNo with me and could use some support. Like most of us, he works AND goes to school. So take a couple minutes and go over and check him out. You’ll learn a bit about some of the HP experts he met this week. Um, his real name isn’t Parker. It’s William. 
About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on October 30, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. >I hope your migraines go away!Your character sounds like an amazing sort of person. 🙂

  2. >*Golden Eagle-thank you, I do, too! Tangi is pretty cool, but she has a very hard life. Words and music are where she finds balance and a place to 'be' and heal from what her life usually consists of. Thanks for checking out William and following!

  3. >Sorry to learn about the migraines. Thank gosh that "train" didn't touch-down!Here's to a better next-week…

  4. >Thanks for the shoutout! And I'm assuming the character you're talking about is not the one you will be able to write about in Nov.?

  5. >*Mohamed-I'm thankful, too, that the train didn't land. As soon as I figure out what's triggering the sinus reaction, I'll be able to put an end to the migraines. Thanks!*King AFI/William-which do you prefer? You're welcome. Is what we blogger friends are for. Nope. This is the one you've read. The Nov. one is much more fleshed out in my head now. I can't wait to start getting in on paper. Er, screen?

  6. >…she isn't blonde, perhaps a bit wiry. Her skin is weathered from the wind, but can manage a smile with purity if deemed. Mostly hidden under cloak, her true form a mystery. Strands of auburn hair peeking out from under a hood mended of buffalo's hide. And when positive that no one's watching…she dances…Rusted Root's uplifting charm like a gentle rain upon the forest floor…and she dances.And though not blonde or skimpy, she carries an aura that is indeed beautiful. A girl of majestic qualities…I can picture her as if she were at my side, reading as I type:)I think perhaps you've found yourself a character. Hammer it out…I'm sold:)

  7. >*Elliot-dang! That's pretty good! Feel like ghost writing? You can work on that one while I do the other one for nano:) Thank you for your confidence. I love this character and hope I can do her justice. I know who to contact when I need help!

  8. >Oh I do hope the weather straightens out, as well as the headaches. Really nasty stuff!I saw your mention of Harry Potter and got so excited…I've been on 'pins and needles' since I spotted the first preview on TV of the 7th Movie/ PT 1.I told one of my kids that I AM going to that…as soon as it comes out…if I have to go by myself. (That shouldn't be an issue since they are all HP fans…but, normally I am the one saying to wait a few weeks until the theatres aren't quite as busy.

  9. >migrains are the worst… i hope you feel better soon. sending you lots of hugs. thanks for sharing the character too. i'm definitely googling that song! xoxo

  10. >*Charlene-I absolutely cannot wait till HP comes out!!!! I don't too often go to the theater (rip off on prices!) but I'm doing this one. Hope it lives up to our expectations!*Carla-thanks for the hugs and I hope you like the song. It's just a happy sounding one with a happy beat…

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

