>My NaNo Experience Thus Far

>

Before NaNo began, I was really nervous. I had read all these things about having no time to write, putting life on hold, cooking lots of meals ahead of time and freezing them for later use…..

And I have to tell you, it hasn’t been too bad at all, for me anyway. I have created a simple routine. Nap time is two hours, relatively speaking. One of those hours is my lunch hour. I try to use as much of that time to write as possible. Then, when I get home, I do a tiny bit of housework, grab a bite to eat, take my shower, put on my pj’s, and write for a couple more hours.

How long I write in the evenings depends on a few things: how much I wrote at work, and how much sense the words are making. It has been interesting at times.

A few things I have learned:

1. It totally ruins my process if, when I’m ‘grabbing my bite to eat’ I decide to watch Bang For Your Buck. I become engrossed and need to watch the next HGTV show, or maybe a rerun of Dr. Who. Worse still is if I check to see if a good movie is showing on one of the channels. I have to drag myself to the daybed and make myself pound out a few words. Lesson: NO TV!

2. Having a routine actually works for me. Have I stuck to it? Sorta-kinda. Not today so much. I watched Dr. Who, HGTV, and most of Alvin and the Chipmunks. Lesson: STICK TO THE ROUTINE! IT WORKS!

3. Most of the stuff I read about NaNo before it began was HUMOR. It really hasn’t been too bad at all. Of course, I have fur-babies that are pretty self sufficient. They don’t have any soccer practices to go to. Roo has a check up tomorrow (sorry, today), but that’s pretty much it. When we had planned to go to the beach, we bought an auto-feeder. I don’t even have to worry about feeding them anymore! The best advice I read beforehand was 1-don’t use contractions (it helps with word count) and 2-don’t edit, just write. Lesson-FOLLOW THE ADVICE AND BE THANKFUL FOR THE VERY FEW DEMANDS ON MY TIME.

4. When I upload my story, I get to see the word count on my NaNo page. I also have a widget here on the blog. It’s very satisfying to see that count go up. It’s also nice to see it help boost my regional count. (I’ve learned that these guys are competitive!) Lesson: TAKE INSPIRATION WHERE I CAN GET IT.

5. Assistant Director promised me that she would hold me accountable. The first time she asked me if I had written anything was on Tuesday. Every year, when Director gets her new calendar, I try to schedule off two days-Honey’s birthday and mine. How cool that my b-day was the first day of NaNo and I was off work! So anyway, she asked if I had written anything and it made me feel good to be held accountable. She cared! And, she’s asked about my progress throughout the week. Plus, Co-Teacher has also been very supportive. I work with some great people.

Honey has been outstanding, making sure that I am undisturbed at home. Director and William, who are also writing in NaNo, have been very enthusiastic, as have several of you. Lesson: REMEMBER TO APPRECIATE AND BE VERY THANKFUL FOR WONDERFULLY SUPPORTIVE FRIENDS AND HUSBAND.

6. Writing on the daybed is like my happy place. Usually, I have some sort of music in the background, but, since I had to use a story idea/people that I hadn’t really developed before, I’m still working on what kinds of music they like and/or that fits them. I’m listening a lot to the Coraline soundtrack and Enya keeps popping into my head. Also, instrumental music such as bagpipes and uillean pipes-mournful, haunting music….and I need to find some kind of dark instrumental music. We’ll see….

Anyway, I have also learned that sitting in the floor, in the dark, during nap time is a very conducive place to write. Nap time is a two hour block during which teachers take their lunch hours. So, one hour is mine, and the other is Co-Teacher’s. Typically, I can get anywhere from 1200 to 3000 words during that time. Today was an exception I think. The only time I’ve gotten 3k. I was so into it, concentrating so hard, that when it was time to put everything away, I was sweating from the heat of the computer and shaking from the intensity of my concentration.

Co-Teacher was so sweet-she started the after nap pottying while I put my things away. Lesson: WRITING IN VARIOUS PLACES CAN BE A GOOD THING!

I’ve learned a few other things but I’m tired and want to go to bed. I have to put Roo into her carrier for her check up at the vet tomorrow-something Honey usually does. Not looking forward.

I think some of you got the impression that I was pictured with the cool dragon guy in the RenFest photo. Nope. Not me. He was posing for photos with different people and those people would pose with him for the rest of us. Everyone was so nice. I didn’t meet any rude people at all there. Well, except for Dead Bob. He might be in the next post I schedule.

Hopefully, I will get a chance to get around to all your blogs tomorrow. I’ve missed you all! Good night!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on November 6, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. >Dark instrumental music. I've got you there. Black Audio. But their music is all about sex…so many not. But give them a try they're really good and I think you'll like them. They only have one cd so it shouldn't take to long to listen to all 13 songs.

  2. >I use music to write by as well. I'm glad you're having fun. This hopefully will instill in everyone the importance of a work routine in writing. Have a great weekend.

  3. >Keep up the good work! And I confess, I hardly turn the TV on because it sucks my creativity and precious writing time like a black hole. A big black hole.

  4. >Good for you for mostly 'sticking to your guns'…I love Enya…and I'm crazy about Enigma..love the haunting and native sounds when watching the 'Return to Innocence' video.

  5. >i used to listen to music while drawing or painting… i haven't done that in a while. i love enya – very relaxing. i also love regina spektor. (i also wanted to say thank you for your message xoxoxo)

  6. >This is so awesome, way to go!! You're doing all that and blogging, too. I'm impressed!~that rebel, Olivia

  7. >Sounds like you're doing things pretty much right. I've been keeping up fairly well too, but I would like to have a big push forward to account for more slack times like Thanksgiving. I hope I can get a surge going next week.As for music, right now I have a box set of the complete symphonies of Anton Bruckner that I keep listening to over and over. It's intense music that stays in the background and provides a good writing soundtrack.Keep up the good work!LeeTossing It Out

  8. >Hey there, you're doing okay! Yep, routine's the thing. My routine of 2 hour sessions every week Morning at the library, so no one can ask me to do anything is working so well. I'd sorta decided not to write on the weekends, but today, Sunday, I'm plugging away. I don't like my NaNo calendar to show up those ugly red squares!Go go NaNo. And now you know the truth about us NaNo veterans – we are a bunch of jokers trying to scare off the competition! Ha ha..:)

  9. >*William-I will give them a look-see/listen-to, thanks!*Roland-routines are new for me; I'm usually flying by the seat of my pants!*Lydia-ah, I just learned that lesson. Thoroughly.*Charlene-isn't Enya great? And I had not even thought of Enigma, thanks!*Carla-gonna have to check out Regina Spektor, I saw her somewhere online….and you're welcome!*Olivia-thanks, I'm really enjoying it right now. Let's see what it's like when I get into the thick of the action :P*Lee-ah, another musical person I need to check out. I love finding new stuff, thanks. I'm trying, too, to create a cushion. I've got a few things going on later in the month and I don't want to be stressed. Good luck!*Denise-isn't it funny to see what pushes us? Your red squares-me…it's seeing all the people ahead of me on my buddy list! Writing in the library sounds so wonderful….and, uh huh! The truth is out-that's okay because next year I'll be one of the jokers scaring the newbies! Muahahahahaha! :p

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

