>The Birth Of My NaNo Story

>

 Okay, scheduling some posts before I get back to writing. Before I do that, I have to say something about NaNo.

Sure, so far, it hasn’t been as terrible as I thought it was going to be. I’ve found that if I stick relatively close to the routine I’ve mapped out for myself, I do okay. No more HGTV, though!

Also, regarding saying no to tv, the NaNo-quest is helping me do something that is very difficult for me-saying ‘no’ – to all sorts of things.

 I’m learning to say no to television, movies, blogging (which reached an unhealthy point a couple months ago-I was spending way too many hours everyday blogging instead of spending time with my husband, my family, doing homework, etc.), people, internet meandering, and a few other things. Most of these things I just need to learn to do in moderation. Others I need to learn to say no to without all the guilt that I either heap upon myself or is dished out by others.

And I’m learning who is truly supportive of my dream of writing a book and getting published. What a feeling it is to learn that there are people who really believe in you! So, I’m loving NaNo for reasons other than getting something written.

Now, for the something being written. One blogger I visited today asked us to reveal a secret. I almost told this one and decided it could be a blog post. It’s about my NaNo story….

Have you ever seen the movie The Illusionist? The one with Edward Norton? If not, click off the computer and go find it or rent it. It’s that good. In fact, it’s just under Kingdom of Heaven and Gladiator for me. I digress….

When I saw the movie, I fell in love, in a way, with Norton’s character – Eisenheim. His love for Sophie (I had forgotten that was her name-it’s the name of the daughter in my story!), his determination juxtaposed with his melancholy…he, to me, was just a beautiful character. And I loved the

look of him. He appeared professional, able to handle things, yet gentle and kind, trustworthy.

Soft spoken but not to be underestimated. Unflinching but not cruel. Clever and masterful…

And my husband-character was created. Like Athena, he sprang full

grown from my imagination. As soon as he became sentient, my MC, his wife, was born. The daughter-character was only born this week.

From there, the story developed….a little bit. I had the ending from the get-go, but nothing else. So, I put it on a shelf in my mind and left it there for over three years.

NaNo required me to dust it off and see what I could make of it. Lydia Kang and Laura Diamond, in answering a few questions, and William, in letting me bounce ideas off him, helped the story to take shape and direction and the plot was born. I pretty much have the whole shebang now. And just today I learned that my MC loves chant music-primarily Gregorian….news to me!

So, that’s the where and how of my NaNo story. Care to share yours?

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on November 7, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. >I was spending 3-5 hours a day blogging, so I had to reel that in!The Illusionist is one of my favorite movies. Very touching love story and excellent performances from everyone.My NaNo project is a sequel to CassaStar and based on an idea I had many years ago. Of course, like the first book, it in no way resembles the original concept.

  2. >I've never seen The Illusionist, but I found the story of your NaNo novel interesting!

  3. >Glad you found your way back to your story! Sounds like you are focused and doing well with your writing. Way to go!Good for you for saying no to all those things! That is something I started doing a while back and cutting back on blogging. I was a little obsessed for a time, too.Good luck to you! Happy writing…:)

  4. >*Alex-isn't it interesting how characters seem to take over the whole thing and change it into something we hadn't imagined? I loved CassaStar and can't wait to read the sequel! Happy writing!*Golden Eagle-thank you. Inspiration sometimes comes in the strangest of ways :)*Jamie-it's funny, when the idea first came to me, I saw it as a movie. It's been interesting trying to flesh it out. It's always been difficult for me to say no to people, but it's a good way to find out who really cares and who doesn't. And I think blogging is as addictive as gaming!Happy writing to you, too!

  5. >I also love this movie! I haven't seen it in awhile, and now I want to watch it all over again. Like you, I have to discipline myself when I'm writing. I've learned to shut down all social media when I'm writing. Once I've finished my goals for the day, then I allow myself to flitter around to all the amazing blogs.My nano story was born of an actual event in my town. It's a new type of writing for me, but I'm having fun with it. Good luck to you!

  6. >*Julie-I lent my copy to a friend and she must really like it because she still has it 🙂 The whole discipline thing is hard for me, but I'm doing it. Very curious about your story, I hope to find it one day at B & N! Good luck!

  7. >…Eddy Norton the actor is inspiring in the majority of work he's recently done. Good luck on knocking out the NaNo…looking forward to the read:)

  8. >THE ILLUSIONIST is on the top shelf of my DVD bookcase, I consider it that good. I'm glad your NaNo story is jelling in your mind.NaNo seems to teach discipline — which is important for an author to have. Have fun with it.

  9. >I haven't seen the Illusionist. I've ehard good things about it though so I really need to see it now :)I'm having a great time with NaNo. I've added you as a buddy (LynFaw)

  10. >*Elliot-I do love him in most everything he does and thank you for your confidence in me! I really appreciate it.*Roland-having lots of fun, thanks! And now that I've posted about it, I really want to see the movie again!!!*Lynda-ooohhh, yes, you definitely need to see the movie, it's fantastic!I'm glad you're having fun, too and thanks for buddying me; I buddied you right back! 😛

  11. >The Illusionist is a favorite of mine and on my "to be viewed agained" list. Sounds like you have achieved some balance in your life's activities–I know where you are coming from in that.My story was inspired by a few random things and I've been shaping it as I write. The more I write, the more into focus the story becomes. LeeTossing It Out

  12. >*Lee-balance is something I long for and usually have so little of…and I just love hearing how other writers get the ideas for their stories! I'm at that place where things are speeding up and slowing down at the same time, focus and tension and the coming together of plot lines…And dang it! I haven't found time today to see the Illusionist! I really meant to, but, like you, it will have to go onto my list of TTD (things to do)Happy writing!

  13. >Oh yes; Edward Norton and the Illusionist. Awesome. Such a different role that at first I wasn't sure it was him. But those eyes; you can't mistake those eyes for anyone else's. A wonderful actor.And his role as Eisenheim was such a sensual experience. Now that's romance. He was everything to me you described in this post. What's really surprising to me is my Sons' (all of them) responses to this movie. It is a Family favorite.I'm so glad you've found your grove with NaNo. such a worth concept; and I love hearing stories of how it is working out as planned.Good for you having such an awesome experience………dhole

  14. >It's amazing from where a character, an idea, a plot or a storyline can come from. The short answer: anywhere.

  15. >I haven't seen that movie but I do like Edward Norton a lot — except of course when he's playing some psycho skinhead or a serial killer.Even then he's good, even if too creepy to watch. All hail the helpful writer mates: the sounding boards, the devil's advocates, the good listeners, the people who think you're going to make it and wonder why you even worry about that at all. Best of luck with NaNo!Cheers,Kristen

  16. >I haven't seen the Illusionist, but I have heard great things about it. MUST SEE IT, MUST SEE IT!I'm not doing NaNo this year, because I was all ready super involved in my next MG novel. But I am pulling for you. And the novel I recently finished, was started from NaNo. 🙂

  17. >I'm not doing NaNo, but you're going great guns. Keep it up. The Illusionist is one of my favorite all-time movies.

  18. >Thanks for sharing your NaNo story. I hope your writing is going well.I don't have a NaNo story. But I am in love with my WIP, and wish I could make more time for it.

  19. >The Illusionist was a great movie!!!I'm glad you have a nano story! Good luck! 😀

  20. >I love reading about the lives of my blog friends and found that I was spending way too much time reading about their lives and far too little time living my own.So…suffice it to say…I had to make a similar decision…Saturdays…that's the one day of the week I take to peek into the lives of others…write and schedule my own blogs…etc.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

