>Crawling Around In A Dark Mind

>

 Because of some things that occurred this weekend, I haven’t had time to schedule any posts ahead of time. Well, except for the cool poetic list from Tuesday. I will do a post about the happenings later. Sometime.

Just for clarity, I didn’t make that list; you just copy and paste it and change the answers to your own. I read it over on L’Aussie Writing. So, anyway….

My nano story is coming along fine and I’m getting to that place where things are starting to heat up. You know, things are starting to connect and action is taking place and the characters are starting to see that something is going on.

I’m finding out it’s pretty tricky making sure that I don’t give away too much at one time while dropping hints so that later, the reader will go, “Oh! Oh, I remember that, why didn’t I see that?” Or, “Man! I KNEW it!” Even, “Whoa, I didn’t see that coming!” Any of those reactions are good for me.

One of the most difficult things for me is writing through the mind of my antagonist. Oh boy howdy, he’s a bad dude. I could tell you some tales…..! He’s mental. And pervy. He has a long history of cruelty and other things.

I was doing some research this weekend (which made me shudder) and Monday night, I wrote from his point of view. Part of me wanted to be so completely true to him. But I couldn’t. Without going into it, I wrote the scene….and still felt as if I needed a shower afterward.

One reason was because he is so vile underneath. Another reason was, in the back of my mind, all I could think about was the fact that one day (hopefully) people I know will be reading this. And they’ll be SHOCKED! Which is fine to a point, but I didn’t want to put people off. So, I did the scene in such a way as to remain true to his character and his perception, but still kept it creepy. And later, that scene will come back to haunt the reader. Hopefully….it’s pretty whacked out.

Does anyone else have these issues? Is this normal? Is it better to write the scene in such a way that readers won’t be turned off but still creeped out? Or should I just totally spew the filth? I gotta tell you, spewing might work in my head, but I don’t know about on paper….?

And in case you’re wondering, he’s not a vampire. He’s not supernatural at all. But, he is extraordinarily evil….

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on November 11, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. >I run into that problem when I'm writing in the perspective of my antagonists, too. Some of them are just so . . . BAD, you know? But there has to be some kind of balance, somewhere–just enough so the reader knows just how evil the character is but not so much they feel like slamming the book shut. I find that spewing the first time around is the easiest–then, if it seems too off-putting, change it later.

  2. >I've, um…well,…uh….never actually written an antagonist. Every single one of my novels has had an thematic antagonist, or the protagonist is also the antagonist…One of these days, though, I swear I'm going to have a singular person as the antag. One of these days…

  3. >I never had the nerve to write that part of myself, LOL.There are many evils that are far worse than ghosts and goblins though. What a teaser… đŸ˜€Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  4. >I have never written an antagonist who is evil. Nasty but not evil. This has made me wonder though.

  5. >There have been Dean Koontz novels where I skimmed through whole chapters because I didn't want to spend time in the sociopath's mind or hear the helpless cries of his victims.I write 1st person because I want to root the reader in the protagonist's perspective, giving flashes of the antagonist and his deeds. The most horrific monsters are the ones you never catch a clear glimpse of, only seeing the terrible aftermath of their cruelties.

  6. >Roland brought up Dean Koontz novels, almost all of his antagonist are truly evil. The dark side of my brain has always been fascinated with the sociopaths in his novels. Knowing what makes them tick makes the shivers go even deeper.

  7. >It all sounds so much fun…though somewhat scary. Good luck with your novel…I'm sure it will turn out great!

  8. >I can't answer this truly because I don't read anything scary…way too overactive of an imagination here…but I like leaving things hanging … I'm proud of your for doing this project!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

