>YouTube – It’s Great For Finding Lost Treasures!

>

My Thanksgiving was a little bit different. My husband went to Asheville to see his mom and have lunch. His dad is a sales manager for a large company and had to work, so he wasn’t able to be there.

Neither was I. I have some kind of wicked cough, sinusy/headachy thing and my sister in law on Honey’s side is pregnant. I wouldn’t for anything want her to catch whatever I have.

So, I stayed behind and nursed a headache, coughed, and laughed internally at my raspy, nearly non-existent voice whenever Honey would call to check in on me.

I think, too, that Roo has been online, chatting with the kids in my class. I’m positive she’s taking advantage of my inability to call her down when she’s doing something she’s not supposed to. Kitty Boss is just taking advantage of my being camped out on the daybed today by curling up with me.

Anyway, I took the opportunity to read everyone’s Thanksgiving posts. After that, I thought about working on finishing my nano wip. I wasn’t really in the mood, so thought if I listened to some music I had downloaded for my MC, I could get into the mood. It kinda worked….

I went to Youtube and started looking for some Josh Groban and switched to Sarah Brightman. I found a video I hadn’t seen in years-Sarah and Michael Crawford doing “Music of the Night.” Happy sigh….

On the side, where the suggested videos are, I saw something that literally made me catch my breath. Really? Someone had posted this?!!!!

Way back, more than 10 years, I found this little movie. A treasure. I’ve bought it twice now; once on VHS and then on DVD. It’s called Rigoletto and stars Joseph Paur and  Ivey Lloyd.

Paur has a voice that wraps itself around me and turns me into a gooey puddle of liquid bliss. I found several videos, but I will only post two of them. These have only the words; the ones with scenes from the movie aren’t as pure in sound….

If you’ve eaten too much turkey, potatoes, or pie, sit back, close your eyes, and let his voice soothe and enchant. It’s completely amazing…..

This is called The Curse and it was the first time Paur’s character sang in the movie. It told a little of what had happened to him in his world.

This one is called April Child. Paur’s character has by this time befriended many of the children, including his student’s best friend. Now, I’m not telling you anything about the movie, except it is a  tiny  bit like Beauty and the Beast but with a different message altogether.

I hope that you’ll take a few minutes to listen. Neither are very long at all, and, if you do listen, let me know what you think.

Has anyone else ever seen the movie?

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on November 25, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. >I'll have to come back later – when football isn't the only sounds allowed in the house – and listen to the videos.I love finding forgotten treasures on u-tube.Hope your cough is better.Have a great weekend……….dhole

  2. >I have this movie still! I watched it all the time when I was a kid. I love the music in it. Thanks for posting!

  3. >Haa! Blast from the past:)Funny stuff!

  4. >I love the music in Rigoletto! I hope you feel better soon. It's tough being sick during the holidays.

  5. >Happy Thanksgiving! I hope all that downtime was restorative and you're back on top of your game very soon!

  6. >Paul's voice reminded me of the lead in the 'Phantom' I was fortunate enough to attend a couple years ago…so beautiful!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

