>What I Want, And What I’m Giving Myself For Christmas

>

Well, today kicks off the official Christmas shopping season. I haven’t decided if I’m going to go out into the chaos or not. Being sick, I won’t care if people are rude.

This is the season that really makes me miss my mom. Our relationship was difficult, but we had a few things in common and the absolute love of Christmas was one of them.

I get all nostalgic and remember the days of Christmas cards arriving in the mail and being taped around doorways and on the refrigerator. Making Santas at school and curling paper with scissors for his beard and using cotton balls for his hat. I remember the wonder of waking up and finding our stockings filled with the candies and bubble gum that we always wanted and rarely got. Back in those days, they were a treat, not a staple.

It seemed like people got along better and treated each other more kindly. Time moved a bit slower and there was more meaning to things. Now, we live in a disposable society that requires instant gratification. We’ve forgotten, to a large degree, how to cherish. 

For that reason and so many others, Christmas has become dear to me. I want to slow down and savor it. I want to feel the cold air and smell the pine trees. I want to bake cookies and wrap gifts. I don’t want to feel required to go into debt or make anyone else fee that way. I want the times when we got a gift, one gift (or a couple more-not piles and piles like people seem to expect today) that was special and meant something to the giver and to me. I want to find a measure of the Christmases we used to have and bring it, as a kind of gift, to my family and friends so they can experience what was once a truly magical time.

Because my mom somehow made it special for us, while living in a poverty we were unaware of, the memories I have of Christmas are terribly special. ***So, fair warning: I’m going to be sharing those stories throughout the month of December.*** (I intend to get the blog published one day and may share it with family members who want a copy. At the very least, I want a copy for myself. This is the first ‘diary’ I’ve ever kept!)

What do you want for Christmas?

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on November 26, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. >good idea, b!no reason why it can't be a great success 🙂

  2. >I look forward to these series of posts. I find writing about difficult and/or special times helps me make better sense of them.Happy holidays!

  3. >Truthfully, what I want for Christmas is to be laying on a beach somewhere warm and soaking up the sun. Christmas and I haven't gotten along for a very long time. I have memories from Christmases past but I don't like to dwell on them. Not that they weren't good, they were, they were fantastic, but I can't deal. I'm much too cynical these days to deal with Christmas "spirit" therefore, ignore it most of the time. Of course now, with Monster Baby, it's different. I HAVE to force myself to celebrate when I would just rather go somewhere for two weeks to forget.I can't wait to read your stories. Other people's memories I can handle. Just not my own.

  4. >*Laughingwolf-thanks and I'll try to make them good reads!*Theresa-I think that's what makes us become writers, I have to do the same thing.*Anne-I've gotten terribly cynical and that's one of the reasons I need to do this, so I can remember.I think it's morphed into something ugly and I can't stand what it has become. Personally, laying on a beach somewhere sounds pretty good, but I'd pick a snowed-in cabin somewhere away from everyone. And I have lots of instances where other people's memories are okay, but not my own. Interesting….

  5. >I'll be back to read every one of those stories. I hope you had a great holiday. Blessings…Mary

  6. >I'm looking forward to reading the stories!

  7. >I'd like for Christmas to slow down, too. These will be great stories. I'm looking forward to them.

  8. >You've reminded us of simpler times!And there's really nothing I want for Christmas.

  9. >Christmas on the beach…Anne's got things figured out:) Too much commercial & hoopla for me. EL

  10. >I look forward to your Christmas stories. I like to hear from those who love and cherish the season because so many of *us, me included* don't like we should.

  11. >I think you said everything I'd wish for as well. Cherished memories of a time gone by, bottled and shared today. That would be some Christmas. Can't wait for the stories. 😀Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  12. >I can't wait to read more of your stories. Christmas seems a lot more stressful than it used to be:(.

  13. >*Mary-I'll try to make them worth your while!*Golden Eagle-thanks! I'm going to need to get to work on them so they're presentable!*Carol-if Christmas goes by like the rest of the year has, I won't have time to even get the first story posted! Who's got that stinking remote? =P*Alex-you know, I don't really want anything either. Just my family, some good food, and lots of laughs.*Elliot-I couldn't agree more!*Karen-the last several years I've felt disconnected-busyness and stress have sucked all the joy out of the entire season (October thru December) and this year *gulp* I'm putting my foot down. We'll see how that goes….*Jules-oh, I could get lost in nostalgia. I just want to capture some of what used to be. Did that make sense?

  14. >Saw your comment on my blog today, and I would be thrilled if you shared it on Facebook, etc. You support of my stance on the mad rush to shop today was much appreciated.And I really enjoyed what you shared here about your Mom and the simpler approach to Christmas. I think that resonates with a lot of us.

  15. >*Maryann-thanks and I'll link it tomorrow on facebook. I thought about that news commentator and what the guy said. That's a very sad statement of our time….

  16. >I enjoyed reading your honesty. Memories are wonderful and sometimes gloss over the pain, but that makes them wonderful!

  17. >Memories are the best part of every Holiday Season…and few people remember the piles of gifts they receive…only that one special gift that really 'meant' something.My youngest daughter and I were discussing what to do for the 'little' ones this year and I pointed out that the gifts her nieces and nephews seemed to cherish the most..were those 'one of a kind' gifts that reflected each personality.So that's what we're going for…

  18. >*Linda-the mind is sometimes good that way. It allows us to look back through tinted filters and see what was warm and sweet. Thank God!*Charlene-yay for you and your daughter. I wish you much luck and success with your plan.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

