>Festival of Trees: The Magic Of Faerie Trees

>

I’ve been so busy with nano that I nearly forgot about The Festival of Trees. I’ve missed a few since the first time I entered the fest. So, this afternoon, (Black Friday) I ran outside and got a few shots from our back yard and then searched for something usable in my picture files. I sort of went outside the box….
 The Magic of Faerie Trees 
from our back yard
one of three giant red oaks
perfect for catching a cloud or a rainbow
 an ancient looking bird house
quiet and cozy enough for the tired and wandering fairy
it swings in mid-air
this red oak
looks like a daredevil slide
used by thrill seeking imps
 a beautiful fairy danced
and was loved by the soil
in a magical setting
 welcomed by a king
sheltered from harm
kender-sprites find a home
caught by the rising sun
the invading army
was halted forever
the last seed from the last sea tree
a gift to the king of the last magical land
from the nymphs of Atlantis
 the human male
beloved of the dancing fairy
the soil has made them one
the last magnificent castle
of the last king
to believe in magic




Go check out the other entries for this festival over at Windy Willow…..

*the first three pics are from our back yard, the remaining ones are from Biltmore House in Asheville, NC*

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on November 28, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. >Now I see why your "I write like" banner reads like JRR Tolkien. Yes, Sam Gamgee would definitely love you.I have a Redwood in my front yard. My ex says it is dead, and I didn't really believe him until now.A crying shame.These are beautiful pictures of trees, and I'm in love with your vision.Just awesome……….dhole

  2. >gorgeous piccies thanks for sharing.

  3. >*Donna-aw, you're sweet, thanks! And I'm sorry about your redwood; those are magnificent trees…*Al-thank you, and thanks for stopping by!

  4. >I really think your first picture is my favorite! I have always wanted to visit the Biltmore during the Christmas season…maybe one day! Love, love the creature in your banner :)–and the quote.

  5. >Lovely. Some trees around us are beginning to turn. Happy Monday!

  6. >Pretty!!! Our trees are naked now (except, obvs, the evergreens). I love your fall photos. My favorite fairy plants come in the spring. (foxglove and moss etc.)Happy Monday!Love,Lola

  7. >Sigh. I love your blog. Your pictures, your prose. You have a way of relaxing me on the days I really need it! What a great tree! I can just see the fairy that lives there.

  8. >ab fab, b… i love ALL trees… the good, the bad… and the ugly!

  9. >Love the pics and the storyline you wove between them….so talented!

  10. >These are absolutely gorgeous pictures! You really do have a way with words 🙂

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

