>A Christmas Tale I

>

Wonder

The twinkling lights of the small tree cast merry shadows around the otherwise plain and sparsely furnished room. Only a few presents were placed under the tree and there were no stockings to be seen. At first glance, this seemed a sad setting for a Christmas Eve….

The air was bitter cold and the frosted landscape glittered brilliantly in the starlight. The two young girls, laughing at the struggle they were having with their unwieldy burden, watched their breaths appear like mystical vapor, then disappear.

The grass crunched under their clumsy steps and the tiny ice patches caused them to slip as they navigated the uneven ground between the grandparent’s house and theirs. More than once they had to stop and tighten their grip, snickering at each other’s awkward attempts to remain upright.

Smothering their laughter as they approached their home, they whispered excitedly about their hopes for success. They were playing Santa for their three year old little brother.

He had been a “mistake” according to several upstanding community tongue wagers. Fierce frowns had appeared at the news of his impending arrival into the world. Unwanted. Unwelcome. Ill advised. Illegitimate.

Those words didn’t stop him, though. He came into the world sideways and has set it on its ear ever since. And all those unkind words had to be eaten, eventually.

That little boy came to be the apple of most everyone’s eyes, including his grandfather’s, the pillar of the community of tongue wagers. He became Grandfather’s constant shadow, his apprentice, his greatest source of joy, and continues to be greeted with genuine welcome by everyone he meets.

Grandfather’s love for the baby brother is why the two sisters now carried a very large piece of plywood carefully up the steps of their front porch.

For Christmas, Mom had gotten Brother a race track. A large but simple figure eight track that came with two super-fast cars that he would later spend hours racing with his sisters and his mom.

To make the track more sturdy (and able to withstand greater speeds), the grandfather had mounted the track on a wooden platform.

Finally, on the porch and ready to go inside and place the track by the small tree, the sisters opened the front door…..and the large, cumbersome piece of wood slipped. Nearly dropping it, one sister caught the end before it hit the floor, but in the process, they bumped the screen door loudly and began to giggle.

In the hushed quiet of the night, the brother, who was “spending the night” with Mom, was heard to whisper in innocent wonder, “Mama, I hear something. I think it’s Santa Claus!”

The two sisters stopped in their tracks and tried to keep their giggles from becoming outright laughter. Attaining a modicum of control, the younger sister, in her deepest possible thirteen year old voice, said, “Ho, ho, ho!” 


To which came the reply, “IT IS SANTA CLAUSE! MAMA, I HEAR SANTA CLAUSE!!! SANTA CLAUS IS HERE!!!!”

Mom had a time trying to convince Brother that Santa would leave if he didn’t lie down and go to sleep, which he eventually did.

The two sisters placed the track in front of the tree and, locking up, made their way to bed. The older sister knew that something magical had happened in those moments and vowed to remember it always. 

And she has….  
About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on December 4, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. >What a beautiful post, Christmas throught the eyes of a child is such a wonderful thing.

  2. >endearing tale, b! 🙂

  3. >It is children who restore the magic of Christmas to so many jaded adults. Lovely story.

  4. >Nothing is better than bringing joy and wonder to others. Beautiful story.

  5. >What a beautiful story! I agree… Christmas through the eyes of a child is a wondrous thing 🙂

  6. >Oh, what a scene. What a story! Loved it. Oh, and I love the snowy background!

  7. >Wonderful story. And I enjoyed the snow. Was just thinking today that I needed to see some snow to feel like it was really time for Christmas. Was 70 degrees today as we had our Christmas parade in East Texas.

  8. >*Kathryn-thanks! I will never forget the sound of my little brother's sweet voice; he was so excited!*Laughingwolf-why thank you!*Roland-thanks; it's one of the things we try to accomplish is our classroom-provide moments that create wonder…*Tricia-I often believe that seeing (or hearing) the response is more magical than being the recipient! And thank you.*WritingNut-thank you. I'm trying to find that childlike place inside of me and I hope that sharing these memories will help in that direction!*Julie-thank you so much! This is one of my favorite stories to tell at the holidays…*Maryann-thank you. The background is, of course, blogger. But the cool snow falling down is from Simon over at Spellmaking. If you want the code, just let me know!

  9. >What a lovely story. I will think of it in years to come and smile. 🙂 (Love the snow.)

  10. >You gave me tears. What a beautiful story.

  11. >That's a wonderful story of Christmas. 🙂

  12. >Awww, what beauty comes from the most unexpected experiences, huh?

  13. >What a lovely story to share with us this holiday season. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  14. >I think this has to be you–one of the sisters–because your description is so in the moment. What a joy that little boy had in hearing Santa on the porch! It gives me cold chills–both the atmosphere and the intent!Best,Bonnie

  15. >*Robyn-awww, how sweet! Thank you*Anne-thank you. I'm trying to convey the magic of the moments as I remember them and hopefully, I've succeeded to a degree…*Golden Eagle-thanks, it's my favorite time of year!*Tracy-I have often found that to be the truth :)*Mary-thank you and I hope you are, too!*Bonnie-I'm the older sister and I can still faintly hear my brother's little voice in my head. I'm glad you liked it!

  16. >What a lovely story of Christmas. Magical 🙂

  17. >*Lynda-thank you. I think Christmas should be magical, don't you?

  18. >Precious! Made me smile! Could picture it all in my head 🙂

  19. >*Nikki-I just saw you here!!!! I love my baby brother and his wonderful wife. I'm so glad they have Squirmy!

  20. >What a wonderful story…thanks for sharing:) Loved it!!!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

