>Just A Quickie

>

This is just a quick little post with some information that may or may not be handy:
The header I had, the one with the cat in the tree….I took it down. Vladstudio.com has some truly awesome wallpapers, all designed by the owner. They’re all free to download unless you want the high resolution images, then there’s a fee. 
Anyway, so many people had commented about the header that I was going to post a link with some of his examples. To make sure it was okay, I visited his sight and read the fine print. Oops! To use it as a header, I had to buy the right to do so. 
The header you see now was created in Graffiti on Facebook. I made lots of them about a year ago and I put this one into Paint to get the title on it. I’ll still have lots of Vladstudio on my computer as wallpapers, though. If you’re looking for something different, go over and check him out. It’s worth your time, I promise.

I found out last week that my local Barnes & Noble has a program that lets me buy and donate books to a local children’s home. How cool! If you happen to frequent a B & N near you, maybe you could see if they have a similar program.

Honey told me today that his boss frequently buys lots of children’s books. He’ll put them in a container and any children that come to the dealership can pick out a couple and just keep them. He tells them that if they come back at any time, they can have more. He is all about promoting literacy. How cool is that? I just thought he deserved a shout out….

Several of you have also commented on the really cool snow you see falling on the blog. I can’t take credit for that at all. I found it while visiting Simon over at Spellmaking. I saw it there and asked where he found it. He was kind enough to give me the code. I’ll paste it at the bottom of this post. Still, you should take a minute and go visit his site….I’ll wait….

Meanwhile, I had downloaded the Kindle for PC app and on December 1st, I got Talli’s new book, The Hating Game. Wow!

Okay, first let me say I’d be a terrible agent or editor or whatever. Why? Because no matter how hard I try, I can’t pay attention to any of the technical things about writing. When I read a good story, my grown-up let-me-see-how-they-phrased-this-and-stuff brain goes away and the little child in me comes out. Basically, I read like a child sitting at someone’s feet, listening to tales told in the dark.

I get caught up. If it’s something I’m really enjoying, I’ll get taken away and forget about everything else around me. That’s what happened with The Hating Game.

All I can tell you is that you need to get this book. It’s funny, sassy, insightful, colorful, surprising and even sweet. The look behind the curtain of a reality show was eye-opening for sure. The whole thing was a darn good ride and I can’t wait until I have time to read it again.

In March, when it comes out in paperback, I intend to buy a copy. I liked it that much.

So, am I forgetting anything? Probably….

I tried to post the code for the snow and it wouldn’t work-probably because it’s, well, code. I’ll post it in the comments sections.

I already had this post scheduled and, while off visiting bloggie friends, I found a fest I’ve decided to enter. Check it out! Ellie Garrett is hosting a Christmas Tales Blogfest and it’s happening on Dec. 12th. There’s still time to sign up so why don’t you take a second to run over, check out the info, and linky up?

One more thing: DL Hammons, this title’s for you! =P

***I tried to post the snow code and still can’t. If you would like to have it, go to Simon’s blog and look in the comment section…sorry.***

snowStorm.snowColor = ‘#99ccff’; // blue-ish snow!?snowStorm.flakesMaxActive = 96; // show more snow on screen at oncesnowStorm.useTwinkleEffect = true; // let the snow flicker in and out of view

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on December 5, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. >There's a Borders in Fort Wayne, Indiana, that runs a purchase-donate book drive for the children's departments at the local hospitals. It's very cool.

  2. >*C. N.-yay for bookstores! I don't know how I didn't know about these things before. I've been under a rock!Have a great week!

  3. >You are quite talented. I can see right now we are going to have to have some conversations on the side via our emails about some of your techy talents. I long to learn. I LOVE your header and the gentle snow fall. I must get to sleep…good night, sweet dreams…

  4. >It's a pity about the cat header but the homegrown one goes rather nicely with the falling snow!

  5. >That's great the boss gives out children's books!

  6. >Love the header, too!Thank you so much for the kind words about my book! 🙂 I'm so glad you're enjoying it! Thank you for downloading. Sending virtual cupcakes your way.

  7. >This header is lovely too, so not to worry. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary.

  8. >I really like your blog background & the snow falling gently by. Dezmond at Hollywood Spy also has that snow.It's great that a person give kids books! Too bad I didn't have that happen to me as a kid. I never had enough of my own money back then to buy books.I think that it's normal to read a book for the 1st time as a reader, not an editor. Sure is more fun!

  9. >*Donna-hahahahahaha…if my husband heard you say that, he'd laugh for days. I tinker more than anything, but I' willing to share my wee knowledge…*Fairyhedgehog-why thank you!*L. Diane-me, too. He's also an aspiring writer-of non-fictional history.*Talli-hey, the pleasure was all mine and thanks for the cupcakes :)*Mary-thanks; I like tinkering around in Graffiti anyway…*Lisa-even if it's the 5th time I've read it, it's usually as a reader. I have to really make myself concentrate and read only small bits if I want to see its construction elements…

  10. >That's such a great thing for B&N to do. I'm impressed!Your header is so lovely and Christmassy!

  11. >I liked the last header but I love this one because it's Christmas-y and better because you made it. Great job.

  12. >Thanks for the information about B and N…I intend to follow up on that! I also like your header…wonder if I can use KidPix to do something like that for a header? Ahhh, the art of investigation!Thanks for all the info.

  13. >…love the gently falling snow, my dear:)Our B&N also has that program running…it's a wonderful cause, and finds a good home for those classic "re-treads."EL

  14. >*Lydia-I'm learning that it's bookstores everywhere! I hate that I didn't know before! And thanks :)*Carol-you're sweet, thank you. I may try other things when I have time….*Tracy-huh, let me know, will you? Now I'm curious, too….*Elliot-thanks; I love snow and was so happy Simon shared with me 🙂 I'm also loving my B & N, too….I'm glad they all seem to be doing this.

  15. >Thank you for mentioning my blogfest!

  16. >Ah…the best intentions! Thanks for trying to post the 'snow code'…

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

