>Through The Keyhole Blogfest

>

I have a vacation day tomorrow (Dec. 7th) and spent this evening keeping up with all my blogging buddies’ posts. And….I found this. Since I don’t have to get up and the crack of dawn in the morning, I decided to participate. Yikes! My first fest that requires something written….deep breath….

This is the Through the Keyhole Blogfest and it’s hosted by Madeleine over at Scribble and Edit. Here are the rules (copied and pasted from her site):

 Describe someone’s living space in no more than 500 words so that we can vividly imagine the absent person. Then guess from the descriptions posted the type of person who might live in a room like this.


It could be a policeman, assylum seeker, a housewife, an author, a foster child, a Vicar who likes DIY, an axe murder (!) anyone you like, really, but not anyone famous.


All you have to do is visit her site, enter the link to you entry post on the linkey, leave a comment for her, and then check out posts from other participants. How easy is that?


The blogfest is open until December 11 and you can post anytime between now and then. Without further ado, here is my entry:
***********************************************************************************


Snow fell lightly on the uneven and fallow ground. As I looked around, it seemed the tower was situated in the middle of an ancient looking and quite forgotten garden. The scattered trees were fruit bearing trees but, since it was winter here, I couldn’t tell if they still lived.

I made my way carefully to the great, heavy door of the crumbling tower and, finding it unlocked, I pushed it open, cringing at the screeching of the hinges.

There was no furniture in the circular room, nor any windows, only a staircase that seemed to go up forever. Light filtered through cracks between the stones where the mortar had crumbled to dust and blown away long ago and created a dim, shadowy glow.  I made my way to the top of the stairway and found myself in what was obviously the building’s only real room.

A lone flickering candle stood on a table beside a rusted wrought-iron bed; apart from the light creeping in from between the stones, it was the only source of light in another windowless room. Flecks of snow were gathering in tiny piles beneath the cracks; it occurred to me that there was no heat source to be seen, yet the room was vaguely warm.

Carefully, I picked up the candle and held it high so that I might see the room more fully. No pictures or mirrors nor any other adornment graced the cell-like chamber. The covering on the bed was moth-eaten and thin. Tucked under the cover’s edge was a talking doll with a string in her neck and a tattered stuffed animal that may have once been a Pink Panther. The doll’s string lay in a pool under its head; she didn’t talk anymore.

The sight of the broken doll and filthy toy tucked so carefully under the threadbare covering twisted my heart and I turned to see what other things might be in the sad little room.

Shadows bounced off the rough stone walls as I turned with the candle in my hand and I nearly cried out when I spotted the chair.

I reached out to touch it, beyond being repulsed by the years of grime that now covered what was once attractive green upholstery. Batting escaped from numerous tears and holes and no doubt tiny creatures made their home inside of it.

Another small table stood beside the chair and on it laid a pile of much worn papers with what appeared to be childish scribblings on them. I put the candle on the table, knocking off several stubby crayons, and picked up the papers to look more closely at them.

My hands shook. Tearing my gaze from the drawings on the papers, I looked slowly around the dim room and my whole body began to tremble. My breath caught in my throat as the light sound of footsteps penetrated my frozen brain and a dozen crayon drawings of me drifted like the snow slowly to the floor…..
About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on December 7, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. >Wow, that was eerie and creepy and quite descriptive. A sibling, a stalker, a ghost, perhaps?

  2. >Very well described. I guess I'm not too good at guessing games though. I would wonder why the room would be "vaguely warm"–is it a clue?The thing that came to mind was that the room was that of the narrator's own younger self.LeeTossing It Out

  3. >I LOVE that you finished with a cliffhanger! You left me wanting more! Great description and I loved being able to see it in the candlelight! Enjoy your day off tomorrow.

  4. >Always end with a cliffhanger. I do. Glad you have a day off tomorrow and get a chance to do a little of resting and writing. Roland

  5. >Oh I'm intrigued by this one. Doll and stuffed toy implies young girl. "drawings of me" implies that the resident is known to the writer. It feels like the writer's daughter, locked away for some reason many years ago. I really want to know who this is………

  6. >I've missed you so since I've been away; and my timing couldn't be more perfect. What a beautiful story.I was thinking a lighthouse, and then a Rapunzel story, and now I'm wondering if she hasn't wandered into a dream of her long forgotten childhood.Vividly descriptive and haunting. Not a bad haunting; but in a good way. Something that will stick with you long after you close the book. Awesome.This is, of course, what you want of the reader; to return again and again to the writing that captured their interest so completely.Well done……….dhole

  7. >Wow I loved this piece, I was also thinking Rapunzel to start with and then my thoughts turned to a forgotten childhood. Beautifully written.

  8. >This was compelling; like, "turn the page you fool" compelling. :)Guess… ?I'm waiting for the page to turn 🙂Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  9. >Wow, that's great writing. For some reason it reminds me of Rapunzel. I love the eerie tone. 🙂

  10. >Ooo…this is spooky and atmospheric. I think it's a sibling or someone they knew earlier in life. Love the cliffhanger ending!

  11. >I'll be back for the conclusion of your story. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  12. >Whoa. Eerie! Very intriguing, indeed. Who is this child? How does she know the narrator? How is it that the room has cracks with snow, yet still be warm? Love it. Want more.I also like you new festive header. :)Love,Lola

  13. >I would say that it's someone who has a bitter memory–who wants to return to the way things were, but knows that they can't.

  14. >Eerie. I love it. An example of EXCELLENT writing. Love the cliffhanger. AWESOME! I want to read more of this. 🙂

  15. >You've left us all screaming for more! What carefully-crafted descriptions. Loved it! You've put your day off to excellent use! I didn't enter this one, but it has me thinking…

  16. >Excellent! You've left me wanting to return–and I shall. Write on!Best,Bonnie

  17. >Wow! Great job on whetting our appetite. Nice!

  18. >This is so evocative (and mysterious!) and beautifully written. It has a dreamlike quality to it as if the items were symbolic. (the voiceless doll representing the lost voice of the inner child, the pictures tumbling representing the failure to live up to the dreams of childhood, the windowless walls showing feelings of being trapped , the cracks giving tantalising glimpses of other possibilities, the snow betraying the narrators fear of change when the familiar is so warm)On the other hand, the whole piece speaks of age, and I think the occupant might be adult in body, but a child in mind. I agree with the idea of a sister, or even a child the narrator thought she'd lost.

  19. >***I'm doing a group response because I don't want to accidentally give anything away.First, I want to say a big, giant thank you for all of your positive comments. I haven't written a short story in a really long time and threw this one together rather quickly. I've seen errors and places where some tweakage needs to happen, so you're all very kind.This has been really fun for me, reading your responses and guesses, as well as reading the other entries.Some of you are so close!!!!!!I'll do the reveal on December 11 along with the other entrants.Thank you again for all the encouraging words; they mean more to me than you could ever know.

  20. >This is quite intriguing. I was thinking of a Rapunzel story or some other such captive fairytale child. Other than that I am stumped! Thanks for joining in Great entry :O)

  21. >I have a key award that you can pass on to anyone who guessed your room's occupant correctly over at mine. Thanks for joining the fest it was great fun to read your entry. :O)

  22. >Very creepy- perhaps a murderer of some kind a stalker type? I'm at a loss really but it doesn't seem like a good person.

  23. >HiNot sure if I've missed the revelation elsewhere on your blog but just wanted to say I loved the piece, especially the ending. I'd say the narrator has been trapped there, by someone or something from their past, and that the occupant of the room may, in fact, have been there all along, watching. Certainly they weren't far away because the candle is still burning, and the room is warm… Great stuff:-)

  24. >I am so impressed by your story…just makes me want to read more..more..more!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

