>My Holiday Viewing Favorites

>

One of the things I love about the whole Christmas season is the memories of curling up on the couch with popcorn or hot chocolate and watching movies.
Give this a click and listen while you read…it’s magical….
When we were little, Mom would make it a special occasion, an event. She’d splurge and make peanut butter fudge and hot chocolate, the old fashioned way. We’d turn off the lights, leaving the Christmas tree to create its own wondrous atmosphere while we watched Charlie Brown.
This is probably my all time favorite Christmas special to watch. I watched it with my mom, then years later with my brother and my nephew. It’s sweet and funny and I could listen to the theme music all day. 
I fell in love with this one the first time it aired. I love the look of the people and the mice and the songs were fun. It has a sweetness about it and I still record it on DVR when I catch it. 
This was Nephew’s favorite movie when he was young and we’d rent it in the summer time because we both got a kick out of it. I did make sure he understood that Kevin’s behavior and back-talk were disrespectful….
Sometimes, I watch movies according to the season in which I first saw them. I saw Harry Potter years after it originally came out….at Christmas time. I caught the Chamber of Secrets playing on ABC Family and got hooked. I had to go back and watch all of them, in order. Now, I can watch them all year round, but it feels right to watch it at Christmas.
Honey and I went to the movies to see the LOTR movies and they debuted near the Christmas season (I honestly can’t remember exactly when!) and I always feel the urge to see them when it gets really cold outside.

I don’t know if I want to watch this one at Christmas because of all the snow that’s in it or because that’s when I first saw it, but I watch it every year when I’m off for the holiday.

We went to the movies to see this one and of course, I have to see it every year now. I had it on a cd as a radio theater production and Jim Broadbent was in it, too. 
Last year, I was listening to a music station on tv and heard a song that called to me from another room. It was 2002, a group I’d never heard of. The music was like walking into a fairy tale and I fell in love with it. The next day, I went to Barnes & Noble to get a copy, the only place I could find it. I’ve nearly worn it out and it’s not even Christmas music….(but I did hear it at Christmas, so….)
These are a few of my favorite things to watch at this time of year. How about you? Do you have a favorite movie or tv show? Favorite music? Care to share?
About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on December 8, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. >Love that video! It just doesn't seem like Christmas until I watch It's A Wonderful Life. Once Clarence gets his wings all is right with the world for another year.

  2. >Blogger hates me!Anyway, your video was truly inspiring. All your holiday favorites are mine as well. Love your new look, but I miss the crazy cat as does Gypsy. Roland

  3. >i'm all for charlie brown! πŸ™‚

  4. >Due to my age I go a bit further back, Rudolf, Frosty but I do love Charlie Brown. The music was magical πŸ˜€Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  5. >Good picks! Our tradition is watching The Muppet Christmas Carol every Christmas Eve.

  6. >I love Charlie Brown, and Harry Potter and Narnia are always a given. πŸ™‚

  7. >I LOVE a Charlie Brown Christmas. I also love the really, really old version of A Christmas Carol with Alastair Sim. I used to watch it over and over when I was little, to the point I thought everything in London was black and white. :)Great vid. Thanks for sharing.

  8. >It's nice to know your traditions.Since I don't celebrate Christmas, I don't really have a thing. When I was younger, I used to listen to old Christmas Albums – Perry Cuomo and Johnny Mathis, I think. And I loved Charlie Brown's Christmas and The Grinch. And Rudolph too. "I want to be a dentist."

  9. >I loved Charlie Brown too! Brings back so many memories and I have great plans to recreate many of those with my grandchildren (someday).. I have to get some first! :-)Thank you for sharing & remembering with us! We loved it!!HUGS,Coreen

  10. >Good stuff…great memories…we like Its A Wonderful Life.

  11. >Tis the season, however you perceive it. I think December should be more about connecting with friends and family and forgotten memories than with purchasing power or religious ferver. Everyday is a joy; and if you remember what made you happy at a particular moment in time and your own history, then you should celebrate the joy and peace you felt. And still feel at the memory……..dhole

  12. >This just reminds me that I haven't yet taken the time to do anything 'Christmas`y'. Perhaps because there's still so much to do with shipping and running an online business.I'm thinking I'm going to be taking an 'internet' break for a bit…get myself all caught up…and then salvage what I can out of the Season.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

