>The Keyhole Blogfest – Reveal

>

As you may or may not be aware, I’ve entered a couple blogfests in the past. I participated in the Show Your Space one, as well as the Halloween Haunt; twice, I’ve participated in the Festival of Trees.

I’ve always been afraid, though, of entering one that required any type of writing. Many years have passed since I’ve written a short story, even one as straight forward as describing a room. Lack of confidence. And lack of time.

When I came upon the information for the Keyhole Blogfest, I hesitated instead of just cruising on by like I usually do when I encounter these types of things. My hand froze on the mouse and I thought about a room I’m familiar with. The room from my poem…..

Several years ago, eleven in fact, something happened that caused me to cry out from my soul, silently, and an answer was given.

In answer to my private lament, a revelation was given that rocked me to the core. I’d known to a degree, but I had no idea, you know what I mean? And of course, the answer was to prepare me for a later revelation, but that’s for another time. Maybe….

In any event, if you would like to read the poem, it’s located on my poetry blog here. The room is actually inside of me (why it was vaguely warm) and is very symbolic. I won’t go into the symbolism or reveal too much about the poem (in case you go read it), but several of you came within a hair’s breadth of having it completely right.

The answer: I was about to encounter the part of me that held all the memories that were too painful for my conscious self to deal with…..

I’m glad that you all enjoyed my entry and I truly appreciate your positive responses and encouragement. Thank you very much.

Now, I’m off to visit all of you. Is it okay if I wear my jammies?

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on December 11, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. >Just read the poem. And was left totally speechless. Absolutely filled with such powerful emotion. I loved it from beginning to end. 🙂

  2. >I'll have to go read your poem. 🙂

  3. >Your writing and poetry are such powerful pieces. I'm sitting here in my pj's too.

  4. >jammies are a necessary part of bloghopping. 😀

  5. >Here it is…early afternoon and you've just 'reminded' me that I'm still in my own PJ's…very unusual for a Monday…but my schedule is so 'out of whack' right now.I guess I need to go get into my clothes and get on with my day…maybe in a bit.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

