>The Three Little Lost Girls – An Anniversary Tale, Sort Of….

>

I came home from work today and, as usual, Roo ran to greet me. I put away my backpack containing my laptop, my purse, and the mail, while she twisted her way between my feet. She stood on her hind legs and reached up with her front ones. She wanted to be picked up and cuddled.
Roo is a rescue kitty; she wandered up to Pooh late one night and made her way to us the next day. Honey picked her up on his way home from work, even though he hadn’t originally wanted to.
We already had a rescue kitty, Kitty Boss. She had wandered into the warehouse of the satellite company he worked for, starving and desperate for food. He reluctantly brought her home, too. Both times, he brought them home because I wanted them.

It’s interesting to compare their behaviors and personalities. Roo was rescued at seven weeks and Kitty Boss at seven months. Roo is much more outgoing and fearless-she’s had a secure life/home since she was still a baby. Kitty Boss is more reserved and skittish. She was nearly full grown before stability came to her. She lived in a state of hunger and fear for much longer than Roo and it still shows to anyone outside our little family.

As I picked up and cuddled Roo for a few moments, it occurred to me that this would be her first Christmas. I was excited for her since she’d formerly been homeless and in need of veterinary aid-she had several health issues in the beginning.

I thought of how much joy she’d brought to our family and how Kitty Boss loves her, even when she’s being a pest.

Then it dawned on me. Honey had rescued all three of us: Kitty Boss, Roo, and me.

I had been a lost girl, too. I had accepted my life of aloneness even though I didn’t like it. I was broken and insecure in more ways than I could tell  you in a week.

Honey and I met at work and one day, he just started talking to me. We became friends, then best friends, then…we got married. Not that he’s ever asked me, mind you. He just made up his mind that it was a done deal.

That was nine years ago this coming December 20th. Truly, I’m not the easiest person to put up with sometimes. I still have insecurities and scars that affect me, but Honey is pretty darn terrific at dealing with me.

When there is a sudden noise or unfamiliar voice, Kitty Boss’s eyes widen and you can see her gearing up for flight to the nearest hidey-hole. If there is food on the counter or something shiny on the floor, Roo won’t hesitate to go after it and eat it, even if it’s plastic. I’m an emotional eater; I’m reactionary; I’m a ‘worst case scenario’ thinker…all the time; I’m also impulsive. These things don’t always make for happy-smiley-fun days.

And, yet, here we are, rescued, the three of us, by a guy who probably had no idea what he was getting in to when he brought us home.

We are loved and cared for and even spoiled. He probably wouldn’t give you a nickel for any of us, but he wouldn’t trade us for a million dollars, either.

Kitty Boss has learned to hide less and has taken on a mothering role to Roo. Roo jumps on the cabinets less often and she never gets on the table anymore. I’ve learned about Daddy through Honey’s patience and generosity; I’ve also learned to be a little more optimistic and hopeful about things.

Honey, like my Daddy, is a finder of lost things. Like my Daddy, Honey is kind and patient and gentle (his name actually means ‘healer’). He makes us feel safe and loved and welcome.

As I consider this Christmas, Roo’s first, Kitty Boss’s third, and my ninth, with Honey, I realize how full my heart is. We are very fortunate and I am thankful beyond words.

His lost girls have come a long way….

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on December 15, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. >What a warm fuzzy family you have! I'm so jealous. No kitties for me because of allergies.Sniff.I hope you all have a purrfect Christmas.

  2. >Gypsy is a jealous princess. The apartment is her court, and I'm her court jester. No other claimants for the throne need apply!I will pray that this Christmas is a special and blessed Christmas for your loving husband and your feline extended family!Victor shares a rare Christmas Eve with a revenant Santa Claus in a children's hospital ward. See the fireworks on my latest post.Have a great end of week, Roland

  3. >WC~ What a very touching poignant story you shared that is just lovely! For you, I am thankful for Honey…we all need a tad of 'rescuing' even if it's from ourselves. He is obviously a grand person who sees beauty and potential in others. I am so very thankful Honey found and rescued you. You've given so much to me in the short time I've known you; compliments, support, and encouragment so what you've received; you GIVE! I'm glad to be the recipient of those gifts…Happy Day!

  4. >What a beautiful post, sounds like you have such a loving husband. Enjoy your Christmas with your special man and your furry friends.

  5. >Oh how sweet. Honey sounds like a fine man, and yes, you are a very lucky girl.

  6. >such a delight… on so many levels, b :)christmas blessings to all!

  7. >This is beautiful. I hope Honey reads it. In my view, all of you are very fortunate, very loving, and very much loved.

  8. >a family of animals is so wonderful. i miss having a dog. i'm allergic to cats, tho i still pet a cat when i can, which means i must-must-must wash my hands right away. beautiful family of rescues.

  9. >That's a wonderful story. 🙂

  10. >Beautiful.It is wonderful that they are healing you as you are healing them!

  11. >This was beautiful. Remember, though, that you are an important part of the equation, too. I suspect those that 'rescued' you have gotten as much as they've given.This was really touching.

  12. >*Lydia-thank you and I'm sorry that you have allergies of any kind :(*Roland-thank you very much. I love when you write about Gypsy!!!!! I also very much liked your wicked Santa story, wow!*Tracy-awwww, you're sweet 🙂 Honey is very patient and he call me on it when I get out of hand. His sense of humor is like meds for me.*Kathryn-thank you, and I will, and right back at you! :)*Anne-yep, I give thanks every day….and thanks! He's pretty special….*Laughingwolf-thank you and blessings to you, too!*Carol-thank you! We're also quite crazy most of the time, which makes life interesting :)*Fairyhedgehog-thank you :)*Ed-you're a brave man, being so allergic. I wish for you a dog, and a place to have it. *Golden Eagle-thank you very much :)*Al-thank you; I spoil the kitties and my husband spoils me and we all love him :)*Jenny-*grinning* yes, Ma'am. I truly hope so 🙂 And thank you!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

