>AWARDS!!! AWARDS!!! AWARDS!!! And A Haiku!!!

>

Denise from L’Aussie Writing recently created this award and honored me with it. So did Madeleine and Ellie. Last time I was given awards, my computer and internet were acting up and I lost all the information I had saved about who had given them to me and what the rules were for passing them on.

This time, I saved the info in a draft post. Ha!

About the award…

It’s titled L’Aussie’s Fair Dinkum Award and it’s given out to bloggers who are “interesting and creative” and who “comment as often as time allows.” Quoted from Denise’s explanation.

One of the options she gave was to do a post about being fair dinkum, which has a few different meanings. It can be used as slang, such as “For real?” It can also mean the real deal or genuine.

I’m going with the real deal/genuine interpretation for this post.

In my life, I’ve been fortunate enough to have had many fair dinkum people as friends and family members. My brother is as fair dinkum as anyone could possibly get, and so is my nephew. Their wives are, too. They’re all straight-up, what-you-see-is-what-you-get people who don’t play games or double talk or shove knives in anyone’s backs. They’re true-blue loyal, all of them.

If they like you, that’s it; they accept you, warts and all. When they’re needed, they’re there and they won’t accept any type of repayment. Their (our) philosophy is that we’re family (or friends) and that’s just how it works. Family means being there for each other. Always.

Another fair dinkum person is Honey (he’s my favorite but don’t tell anyone!). Over the years, he’s proved his commitment to me by being patient and understanding when I’m all wonky inside and he let’s me vent when I’m frustrated without being judgmental or condescending. He also makes me laugh like a loon, which is something that has always worked like magic on me. He takes care of my inner child, which means the world to me.

I have some friends who are pretty fair dinkum, too. They offer encouragement and support when I need it and I know that if I needed anything, they’d be there. They let me be myself and value our friendship enough that they’re completely themselves around me, too. A two-way street is a necessity in any real relationship. If it’s not there, it’s not real.

I have to say that the blogging community is the most fair dinkum community I have ever encountered or heard of. All of you are passionate and creative and caring and supportive…..and you show it not only in your responses to the blogs you follow, but in how you lay yourselves out there, too. (That two-way street I was talking about earlier.)

Not only do we need to know that someone will be there for us when we need help, but we also need to be able to offer help.  Otherwise, we end up feeling, well….needy all the time instead of useful and having a purpose and being able to contribute.

So anyway, that’s how I feel about fair dinkum and I love Denise’s award. Not because she gave one to me, but for what it represents. I do love that she gave me one, though *grinning*. Duh! And I also love that Ellie and Madeleine thought of me, too. Wow.

When Denise awarded this originally, she gave it out to the fair dinkum people who regularly show up and give some blog love to her posts. I decided to do the same thing….only, and this is a very nice thing….lots of you show up regularly. I began making the list, going through the last several posts and seeing who showed up somewhat regularly…..and I had way too many names! You all are the best and I really mean that. 
*********************************************************************************
Madeleine also gifted me with this lovely award:
Here are the award rules:
1. Thank and link back to the person that gave this award.
2. Answer the 10 survey questions.
3. Pass the award along to other bloggers who you think have the best blog.
4. Contact them to let them know about their award.

1. If you blog anonymously, are you happy doing this; if you are not anonymous, do you wish that you had started out anonymously so that you could be anonymous now? I do blog somewhat anonymously because of my job. It allows me to be more open without crossing any confidentiality lines. Also, I don’t like to put anyone else’s name ‘out there’ without permission, or their photos. However, many of you know my name through email, so….

2. Describe an incident that shows your inner stubborn side. I’m not stubborn *cough*. Um, it mostly shows up in little things. Like decor and ‘persuading’ my husband to have input in the choices. I am extremely stubborn….in flexible ways. Does that make sense?

3. What do you see when you really look at yourself in the mirror? Lately, it’s been surreal. I’m seeing more of my sister and my mom. I never felt like I looked too much like either of them, though most people swear my sister and I could pass for twins….not sure what that means…..?

4. What is your favourite summer cold drink? Sweet tea, a Set-Up, almost anything from Sonic…


5. When you take time for yourself, what do you do? Read, play on here, nap, watch a movie…

6. Is there something that you still want to accomplish in your life? What is it? Get fit, get published, pay off our house, visit Ireland, England, and Scotland….

7. When you attended school, were you the class clown, the class overachiever, the shy person, or always ditching? My second grade teacher wrote on the back of my report card that I was “shy and timid” and that was pretty much  me throughout school. I did have a circle of friends and we participated in several school activities/clubs/organizations. I was on yearbook staff all through high school and I loved roaming the halls and playing with the Nikon….

 8. If you close your eyes and want to visualize a very poignant moment in your life, what would you see? Too many things….something I said to my mom that I wish I could take back (the ignorance of children); sitting by her bedside in the hospital the night before the day she died (oh, there’s a stubborn incident-I’d already cleared it with the staff to come after work, about 12am, and the nurse on duty told me I couldn’t. I flat out told her that I was staying and I planted myself in a chair and refused to move. She left me alone after that!).

9. Is it easy for you to share your true self in your blog or are you more comfortable writing posts about other people or events? I’m actually kind of comfortable being me on here. 

10. If you had the choice to sit down and read a book or talk on the phone, which would you do and why? Read a book! Unless it’s someone I like talking on the phone with…..


***********************************************************************************

received this yummy award from Donna Hole some time ago….


I’m supposed to share 10 things that make me happy and pass it to 10 friends so they can be happy. 
1. My husband
2. My family
3. My friends
4. All of you
5. My kitties
6. My ‘puter
7. Books and music
8. Soft rain
9. Gray, misty days
10. Kindness
**********************************************************************************
So, here’s the deal. If you’re a follower, these awards are for you. Your ‘visits’ and comments quite often lift my spirits and put a smile on my face and I thank you. Please, pick up these awards and ‘take them home’ with you. 

I feel like you’re all True Blue and The Best and you make me Happy!

Be sure to check out Denise, Madeleine, Ellie, and Donna over at their blogs. They’re wonderful ladies and, while they write about a variety of things, they always write from the heart. They’re some really Beautiful, Happy-Making Fair Dinkum Bloggers 🙂

My haiku:
it is cold outside
my fuzzy blanket is warm
I’m feeling cozy

Oh, snap! I haiku-ed before I looked at the theme for this week. It’s frost. Here’s another one:

draped in winter’s cloak
frosty diamonds sparkling
Mother Nature shines                                                                                                                                                                    

Remember to take these awards!!!!! They’re for you!!!!!
About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on December 29, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. >Oh Congratulations on all the awards, most deserving. And just so you… I feel the same about you. Very grateful for followers! 🙂Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  2. >Nice haiku. Congrats on all your awards, too 🙂

  3. >Congratulations on your well-deserved awards

  4. >Aw what a lovely post. It was very nice getting to know you more – never heard of Set-Up or Sonic drinks before (they sound sort of like a pep-me-up type drink!) and I'm so glad you have some lovely fair dinkum people in your life. 🙂

  5. >Wahoo!!! Congratulations on earning all these wonderful awards. Yay!

  6. >Congratulations on your awards. They are well earned. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  7. >Truly lovely haiku. Magical! Loved your answers to the questions and well done on getting all those awards. Well deserved. :O)

  8. >Love your poems and you got the perfect pictures for them!Sonic cherry limeade slushes … yum..

  9. >Congrats on your awards, and nice to meet you! Fun to learn more about you and visit you in bloggyland. Happy New Year 2011!!!!!

  10. >Lovely awards and you so deserve them. I like that concept of fair dinkum–being genuine is what matters.Here's to a wonderful new year and plenty more blogging friendship!

  11. >I'm glad you have more awards after losing the other ones. You are a wonderful blogging buddy, so you deserve them. In fact, I wrote a post where I'm going to distribute my own made up award. Unfortunately, I haven't figured out how to make one yet. I'm so lazy!I enjoyed your haikus. Stay cozy!

  12. >These are fabulous awards!!! I feel honored to have recieved them. It has been far too long since I've given away awards (it takes so much work!) but I love getting them and one day will return the favor like I once used too!You're an awesome blogger and I adore reading your posts!! Btw – I love your haiku it not only matches the picture but your blog layout as well (which I adore)… it should stay around forever! I love the falling snow!

  13. >I love your haikus! That picture you put with the second one is amazing as well. Fair dinkum – that is funny! What a great award!

  14. >Congratulations on all those awards!Stubborn but flexible… I like that.

  15. >Congratulations on the awards! :)I love the haikus!

  16. >Congratulations on all your awards! I've also named you a Versatile Blogger!

  17. >Wonderful and congrats on all your awards, you deserve them. I love your poems to specially the second one.

  18. >Congratulations on your awards. I love getting "comments". When I first started blogging, I sort of counted them. Soon, I realized that those "commenters" were my new friends. I looked forward to hearing from my friends and worried about them if too much time passed. Thanks so much for being one of those friends!! See you next year!Best,Bonnie

  19. >So many cool awards! And you deserve them all!And thank you for your wonderful way of passing them on to all of us!I agree with FromTheKitchen that you get to be friends with your commenters, and I'm glad I can count you as one of my friends!

  20. >Well done on all the awards and thanks for sharing. Hope you have a wonderful New Year!

  21. >Love my blanket and your writing, too. Thanks for sharing so personally just what the awards mean to you. And for contributing to the blogging community. Your blog shines as does the frost!

  22. >Ahh, the awards couldn't have gone to a more deserving person…and so true what you said about putting ourselves out there. I actually never thought about it really but gosh, we do, don't we!? and you know what? I wouldn't have it any other way becuase of all the wonderful people I have met in doing so. Thank you!

  23. >grats b… and thx 😀

  24. >Your words and photo compliment each other beautifully! The second one is particularly lovely, but I secretly like the first one best (I like being snuggly warm) whether it is "on topic" or not!

  25. >I love both the Haiku's. Congratulations on the awards you really deserve them.

  26. >Aw, thank you! And love the new kitty photo.

  27. >Wow, you have so many awards, and you deserve them all! May your publication dreams come true this 2011! Roland

  28. >What a wonderful post and lovely awards. I enjoyed getting to know more about you. Always wondered why you hid your name. Now I know. LOL Thanks for passing the awards on to all your friends here. What a neat idea.

  29. >Hmm, somehow I don't imagine you as shy . .Very lovely awards; and thanks so much for the shout out :)You're too sweet, WC………dhole

  30. >Congratulations on all the awards! What a wonderful post – such a joy to read about your fair dinkum family and to learn more about you.Happy New Year to you and your loved-ones.

  31. >Congratulations …. What a wonderful post. How kind of you to share your awards with all of us. I agree that our blog friends lift us up with a kind or reassuring word. We laugh at their wit, absorb their knowledge on writing and other topics and best of you they listen to us.Thank you for the awards. I hope the new year brings you pleasure and health.Michael

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

