>New Rules – Already Broken!!!!!!!

>I can’t even last a few hours!!!!!! So, okay, here’s the deal.

Madeleine over at Scribble and Edit bestowed upon me this lovely award just a couple days ago, thank you very much Madeleine!!!!! She didn’t list any rules….. So, since it’s about comments, I’m giving this to anyone who’s taken the time to come and visit during the last four days (that’s the number running around in my head…?). It’s a holiday weekend and those of you who take the time to visit on holidays, well, you’re simply the bestest! Be sure to pick it up before you leave; I mean it!!!!! And go over and visit Madeleine, she’s always got something interesting going on!

Secondly, I took a few minutes to get online and look something up and of course, I had to look at the blog list. I came across a lovely post from MorningAJ, which led me here.

I’m copying this because I don’t have a lot of time. Working on the thing for tomorrow’s post and Honey wants to watch a movie. It’s a rare weekend off for him and we haven’t really spent much time together, so….

If you’re reading this after the 1st of January, it’s not too late to join us. Just notice one thing properly today and write it down in your notebook, or on your blog. You can either carry on until the end of January or do 31 consecutive days. You can then submit your writing for inclusion in our ‘river of stones’ book in the middle of February. Read one for more information!) 



Novelist Fiona Robyn and her fiance Kaspa are curating a new event beginning on January the 1st 2011: a river of stones.

Your challenge, should you choose to accept it, is to pay attention to one thing every day during the month of January and write it down. We call these pieces of writing small stones. We’re especially interested in both ‘writers’ and ‘non-writers’ taking part – it’s not about the finished product, it’s about the process.

What is a small stone? 

A small stone is a polished moment of paying proper attention.

You can see many fine examples at our sister blogzine, a handful of stones. You can read more about the birth of the concept of small stones here and how to write them here. There are some examples of my own below.

Why would you want to join in?

Because choosing something to write about every day will help you to connect with yourselves, with others, and with the world. It will help you to love everything you see – the light and the dark, the happy and the sad, the beautiful and the ugly.

You don’t have to be a ‘writer’ to get involved. The PROCESS of paying attention is what’s important. I’d especially like ‘writers’ and ‘non-writers’ to get involved. If you’d rather not publish your small stones on a blog, you can write them in a note-book. It could change your entire year…

Will you join us?  (copied from here)

It’s a really cool (and thoughtful) writing exercise that shouldn’t take a lot of time…

You can participate daily, weekly, or at the end of the month. You can even just do it privately, at home…

I urge you to go over and check it out.

So, I guess I’ve already blown my blogging schedule. Again. Are you surprised?

I’ll try to get around to some of you through the week. Apparently, I’m addicted =P

Seems like there was something else I was going to say….but I can’t remember. If I do, I’ll put it at the bottom of this….

See ya!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on January 2, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. >Congratulations on your award. The writing exercise sounds like it could be great fun and good practice. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  2. >congrats on yuor award! The river of stones idea sounds great. It's good to get into the habit of writing down observations.

  3. >Congratulations and thank you for passing on the award. The River of Stones sounds like a great and fun endeavor, however, I have challenged myself to 'purge" and let go and share my discards with others. I want to feel 'lighter'… maybe I will participate on the next one.

  4. >That's a very cute award you got. Thanks for passing it on. Didn't you tell me to visit on Monday? : ) I like the idea of the river of stones. Maybe I'll do something like that during a less hectic month. With progress reports due this Tuesday, report cards and conferences in a few weeks, I'm too worried about failing if I join.Good luck with your month!

  5. >I didn't last long on my rules either. I had sworn not to do any blogfests and write on Victor's sequel. So what did I do? I entered Frankie's NO KISS blogfest — and no that is not the story my life! LOL. (I meant the NO KISS)Live each day according to what seems right with your instincts, and you won't go far wrong. Congrats on the award. Roland

  6. >Congrats on that very cute award. The writing challenge sounds like fun but I have just committed to the opposite, some reading challenges. I can already tell it's going to be a busy year!

  7. >What a cute award. Fun for you!I love the concept of River of Stones. I am writing on another blog right now plus my usual and definitely bogged down. If they do this again, I'd like to try and participate.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

