>Snow Day!!! Gonna Catch Up And Do Some Readin’

>

WooHoo!!!!
So far it doesn’t look like much…..but I think it’s supposed to get pretty bad. Charlotte has cancelled over 300 flights. I feel for those who’re stuck at the airport. The snow can come; I really don’t want the ice they’re predicting for later this afternoon, yuck!
Still, since it was a totally unproductive weekend (lots of little stuff), it will give me a chance to get caught up and to get something yummy cooking for this evening. Snow and cold outside, some hot comfort food inside, yeah….
Originally, I  had intended to do a post about the books I’ve read so far this year. I’m trying to read at least one a month, and the new year weekend gave me a head start…..
The Necromancer is the fourth book in the Nicholas Flamel series. I read this the first two days of the new year.
This is a great series and encompasses lots of mythological tales and characters, as well as historical people about whom legends and mysteries exist. 
I’ve loved this entire series, but I must confess: I’m not the most patient person when reading a series. I want to read the whole shebang. Straight through. So I want this wrapped up!!!!!
I never would have made it reading Harry Potter if I hadn’t had the whole set from the get-go. 
There are advantages to coming late to the ‘party.’
Did you know Nicholas Flamel was a real person?
I have several books started, but I just haven’t been able to get into them yet. I picked up The Gargoyle at B & N last weekend and didn’t even open it until Friday. I would have had it finished by now, but it’s been one of those weekends, and we were busy Saturday.
What can I say? It’s different, a story within a story, which can be boring.
However, this book is not boring. I’m completely hooked and, lately, that’s saying something.
It does contain some adult content, so be aware. It’s not played out as scenes; it’s simply stated as matter of fact and there’s no titillation. Instead, it’s a reflection of the main character. I don’t want to give anything away in case you pick it up.
I’m going to finish this today…..
I won Green Angel in a contest hosted by Theresa Milstein a while back. I was in school at the time and didn’t have a chance to read it. Now, with a snow day especially, it’s time! 
Thank you, Theresa!!!
I couldn’t steal the image for Notes From Nadir by Lisa Maliga when I went to amazon.com, so I posted the contest picture. I was lucky enough to be one of the winners!!!
I hope to get to this one today, too. 
Thank you, Lisa!!!

***I’ve put links in the book titles in case you want to read the reviews yourself***

So, whatchya doin’ today? Got snow? Workin’? In the middle of a good read? Spill!


Update: I got Safari!!!!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on January 10, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. >Now, that the Nicholas Flamel series is into its fourth book, I may start up. Like you, I prefer to have a book or two in the pipeline, so to speak, before I start a series — that way I don't have to wait to find out what happens next.I envy you the snow day. It is the first day of my 8 day straight gauntlet as a blood courier with half of that with nights on call. Sigh. Have a healing Monday, Roland

  2. >Reading and comfort food…Sounds heavenly!

  3. >These look like terrific reads! You are sooo lucky. I wish I had a snow day so I could curl up with cocoa and a good book 🙂 Enjoy!

  4. >Ooooo, what better day to snuggle down and read!

  5. >we got the same snow and icy rain where i live and today there no school. yippeeee! and maybe no school tomorrow cause of the roads being real slickery. me and my 4 brothers and my 1 sister are all home cause of that weather. my brother sebi is making up a big pot of chili. yum! were gonna play some games and watch tv and im doing some blogging. i like when everyones home cause mostly that doesnt happen. im all wrapped up in a special hug blanket i got at christmas so im having a nice snuggly warm day. i hope you have a warm snuggly day too….hugs from lenny

  6. >Sounds like you have some wonderful reading ahead of you! I love cooking and reading on a cold day. Just finished a blog post, now onto revising.

  7. >Congrats on winning and wow I didn't realise Nicholas Flamel had written books. Sounds great. Stay warm and cosy :O)

  8. >When I first read, Nickolas Flamel I immediately thought of Harry Potter and took a double take at the author's name. I've been so busy that I haven't had a chance to read this. Now I learned he was a real person. Intriguing.Thanks for your comment on Michael's blog about my interview with my heroine. I am giving away 3 e-books but you must leave your email. You can drop back over or come to my blog to do so.NancyN. R. Williams, fantasy author

  9. >There was a dusting of snow outside this morning, but nothing more than that.I've never read any books in the Nicholas Flamel series, although I've seen the books in the library several times . . . I guess I should pick them up. 😛

  10. >Hey Lady,I hope you are making the best of your spontaneous snow day today and getting that reading accomplished you hoped for. We had an early out because of the snow so I bet we will be closed tomorrow with the ice coming in. I plan on doing some scrapbooking and some visiting. Hah, I can do that here AND stay off the roads 🙂

  11. >Oh Safari, now you wonder how you lived without it. Call me a fanboy, I embrace it!

  12. >No snow here. It's summer here in Australia — humid and hot.

  13. >Congrats on the wins! How cool you can catch up on some reading with a snow day, too. I LOVE snow days. It means my kids get to stay home and we all sleep in. Happy reading!

  14. >*Roland-be sure to get some rest! Yeah, I'm not too good at waiting for a next installment….*Jennifer-yeah, it's one of the best things about cold weather :)*Julie-ah!!!! I can't believe I didn't think about some cocoa!!! Gotta go make me some :P*Tricia-come on and join me; wear your jammies and I'll share one of my snuggly throws :)*Lenny Lee-man, that sounds like the best kind of day. I loved days when all my cousins and my sister and I would be at Grandma's playing games and eating soup. Thanks for the happy smile!*Maria-I've had a blast today getting to visit everyone. Yay for snow days!

  15. >*Madeleine-thanks! Yep, he and his wife were all kinds of talented and also philanthropists. They lived fascinating lives.*Nancy-thanks for the reminder. Yeah, they're pretty good reads. They weave in a lot of mythology and history and keep a good pace. If you read them, let me know what you think…*Golden Eagle-you remind me of myself in my high school days. I'd go through a dozen books in about as many days. I'm surprised you haven't read them. Your reading habits put mine to shame:)*Tracy-ah, technology. We can communicate world wide…in our jammies, no make-up, and my hair looking a hot mess:P I envy your scrapping, have fun and post some pics! I'll live vicariously.*William-I thought it was only for MAC's!!!! When I saw it was also for PC's, you know I jumped on it! So far, it's worked like a dream :D*Lynda-if anyone actually heard me say this, I'd never live it down since I'm usually a die hard winter fan. But I wouldn't mind a bit of that heat about now….*Carolina-mmmmm, sounds wonderful, especially if they get to snuggle with Mom!

  16. >Oh yay.. a snow day! There was no snow here.. I think we're getting some tomorrow.. I hate the snow though… but maybe I hate going into work more? ;)There's nothing better than curling up with a good book and eating comfort food on a day like this… or writing, of course! Hope you had a good one!

  17. >So much great reading! I love catching up with my reading, but I spent part of my snowy day stuck in a car in a snowdrift. Grrr.

  18. >*WritingNut-I think I ate too much comfort food! We're getting a mist that's turning into ice right now :(*Lydia-oh my gosh! I'm glad you're all right!!! As I get older, I find more and more elements about winter that I dislike….

  19. >No snow where I am, but I wish I had a snow day. I have a lot of reading and other things I want to get caught up on. I keep on having other things come up like you described. Happy reading!LeeTossing It Out

  20. >Snow days…after living in the Midwest most of my life..one would think I'd get used to them. But..I still haven't.And..now I'm having to do a little snow scooping myself..that's not fun…especially at my age:(

  21. Hey lady, I ended up here when I googled Old Man and The Sea for a link for the post I’m working on. Looks like it’s a way old post, no mention of that particular book, but I’m glad I read your thoughts on the Flammel series. I had no idea he was a real person, though the name always sounded familiar. Might have to check out the books, they sound intriguing. Happy New Year 2014!

    ~ That Rebel, Olivia

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

