>In A Quandary

>

Ask me how much reading I got done yesterday. Go on, ask. NONE! Honey got off work early and he played WOW and I blogged. It was fun catching up with everyone, so no biggie. I can read today after I get my housework finished. Yep. Another snow day πŸ™‚

I do have one big problem, though. While visiting yesterday (and Sunday), I saw several people struggling with the same problem. Should they work on their current project, an old project, or the new shiny that keeps distracting them? 

All I could think of as I read these posts was, man, that’s rough. How do you make that choice? I offered what little consolation I could and just hoped they would figure out which way to go.

Guess what? Now, I am facing the same dilemma. I’m supposed to begin editing my nano story. Yeah, well…. I just can’t seem to make myself do it. Why? Because my first wip, my favorite one that’s ever occupied my brain-pan, has come a-calling, and WILL. NOT. LEAVE. 

I stopped work on it at the end of the summer because I ran into a plot issue. A major one. Now, it’s resolved itself. Plus, I’ve gotten a few other pieces of clarity that I didn’t know were missing until the MC, Tangi, showed them to me. She’s followed me around everywhere the last few weeks. Well, since about the middle of December.

When I wrote the Harry Potter piece for her, she set up camp in my thoughts and now refuses to leave. I hear music and she shows me scenes. And I want to write them.

Edit the nano story? Listen to Tangi? Where is Obi Wan Kenobi when I need him?!!

Advice?

Oh, yeah. One more thing. Tomorrow is the last day to enter for the giveaway. It will officially end at 11pm EST. If you haven’t been by, go check it out. See if there is anything you’d like a chance at winning!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on January 11, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. >Ooh the biggie question. I have heard that you should stick to your current WIP and not let the other new stuff take you away from it, though others say that chopping and changing is more creative. :O)

  2. >I'm all about finishing what I start, so I would go back to the original and see it through to completion. But that's just me…Mr. Anal. πŸ™‚

  3. >Why not do both. make yourself edit one page of the Nano piece, and as a reward write a scene for Tangi, then do it again. Or make yourself write for your character, then turn your thoughts to editing.

  4. >It is hard to juggle between one project and another. I'm with Summer though, do both.NancyN. R. Williams, fantasy author

  5. >I'd go with Tangi! Let the NaNo novel sit for a few more weeks, and you'll be that much more objective when you DO edit it. And if you hit another roadblock with Tangi's story you can switch back to the NaNo book until your subconscious works it out πŸ™‚

  6. >WOW huh….my youngest son and his girlfriend are addicted to that game…he's moved to North Dakota and has had to be without internet for several weeks…not sure how he's coping:)

  7. >I'm a bit scattered at times but generally finish what I start. I may have numerous projects going at the same time, but they are prioritized so I am able to get stuff done. And thanks for stopping by today and saying hi.

  8. >Listen to Tangi! Go back and finish what you started. You can hit the NaNo book later. Right now, go with what is hot! That's my vote. Of course, I went back to my first love instead of editing NaNo as well. So I might be a tad biased on this.

  9. >It sounds to me as if your heart is with your first WIP ("…my favorite one that's ever occupied my brain-pan…"). My advice? Always follow your heart. Editing can wait.

  10. >I try to stick to what I start since I hate leaving things unfinished, but I've never had a story follow me around for that long . . . so I would go for Summer's suggestion of working on both.

  11. >Sounds like your mind is on the shiny new one. Besides, the more space you give your nano novel the easier it will be to edit later (at least, that's what I have told myself). PS I hope you don't play WoW along with your Honey. I do and I can tell you it's a terrible distraction and time sink!

  12. >I want to thank all of you for your advice. I'm smiling because, well, first of all you took the time to try and help me out. Secondly, because….it's so varied! It totally represents all of our unique personalities and styles, and that's a good thing. I'm going to have to find out which of these works for me. I love this community πŸ˜›

  13. >…some say it's best to hammer out that one piece you've been working on before moving forward. I find it refreshing to bounce in between projects, especially when grinding through a difficult plot, or when backed against an editing brick wall. Sometimes returning fresh can unravel all sorts of loose ends:) Good luck,EL

  14. >It's funny how we all think alike. I was just talking about this with hubby yesterday. I'm tempted to switch lanes and work on something else, instead of polishing my manuscript.I'm sticking with my revisions so I can make it sparkly. It'll just take lots of work. I'll continue taking notes on the shiny stuff for later.Maybe you could move where you're MC is calling you, but make lots of notes for your other project? I know, I know. So many words, so little time.

  15. >Hey WC,I saw allow the Nano piece to settle and go work on waht is calling your name…that's where your energy seems to be at this point in time so obviously it will serve you well!We too had a snow day and a 2 hour delay tomorrow so a little more time to read myself πŸ™‚

  16. >I'm all about both! Enjoy yourself with both. I've never been one to choose, I give myself both if it can happen!

  17. >I'll trust your judgment :-). What works for me may not work for others. I hope you have a great evening. Blessings…Mary

  18. >I'm a little bit of both… but I think you should stick with the one you're working on, unless that creative bug has bitten hard, then I'd say, just go with it! There's a reason for everything πŸ™‚ Good luck to you!

  19. >I'm not sure but sometimes I think writing is like reading. You just have to be in the mood for a particular book to read it and when the mood changes you change books!

  20. >Dude, I just do what the voices tell me. Really. Sounds to me like there is no decision. Just close your eyes and do what they say. Like you didn't already know. πŸ™‚ that rebel, Olivia

  21. >Yep, that's quite a quandary. Since I'm still agonizing over my own dilemma's, I can sympathize, but off no tips. When you figure it out, let me know what the right answer is πŸ™‚

  22. >Sometimes when I desperately don't want to do one thing (because it's hard, because it's not fun, because I don't know how) I find myself highly motivated to do another. It's pretty much the only way my laundry gets done! I say that if you can honestly look yourself in the eye (so to speak–you might need a mirror) and tell yourself you're not just dodging, then go with the book you really want to write right now.

  23. >Which one of your characters is shouting the loudest? Because if you write anyone else you'll be in trouble! πŸ˜‰

  24. >My Nano is sitting on my computer waiting to be edited too – and it's so hard to face because I know what a mess it is! I reread it the other day and it was a little better than I expected, so I think a lot of what was stopping me was thinking how awful it was. So hopefully I'll start editing mine tomorrow – good luck editing yours. πŸ™‚

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

