>Sensational Haiku Wednesday!

>

Jenn from You know….that blog? hosts the Sensational Haiku Wednesday. Haiku is poetry that consists of three lines, 5-7-5 syllables. It’s really not too difficult and it gets easier each time you create one. I’m getting hooked on the exercise of it. Why don’t you go visit and linky up and give it a try?
This week’s topic is Doldrums. I went a little crazy and did a two-parter. It’s still a bit uneven, but that’s okay with me. 
Iโ€™ve loved faithfully
Endured your cold harsh beauty
Since I was a child
Now I am older
I find you bleak and severe
The weight of you cruel
the sound grew and intensity built and I waited and watched as more leaves leapt from the ground and joined in the merry dance of the wind



Reminder: Today is the last day to enter the Favorite Things Giveaway. It will officially end at 11pm EST.

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on January 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. >I love that you're doing this.The first one is powerful. You reveal so much in two sets of 5-7-5.

  2. >Your poem is beautiful, very expressive.

  3. >I love your poetry ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. >Love those!I have an award for you at my place.

  5. >Beautiful images and emotive words to go with them :O)

  6. >I can't pick, I loved them both. Each has a different depth with so few words ๐Ÿ™‚Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  7. >I love your haikusSo desolate, so wintryI must read againMy novel on sub to editors has some haikus in it. Also, limericks! ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. >i love your haikus too! have a great day!

  9. >You have amazing haikus! And I really like this pictures too.

  10. >I LOVE them BOTH!! Such talent you have! I still do not understand haikus…I will need to google it…

  11. >Gorgeous, and really powerful paired with the pictures–the pictures induced the right mood for reading them!

  12. >Awesomesauce! I love haikus. I love the emotion packed into such few words here. I love the open endedness.

  13. >So, so beautiful. You've said so much in a clear, pure way – these are exquisite.

  14. >That was great. I really loved it. That is a real art.

  15. >Gorgeous haiku. Thanks for sharing!

  16. >Those are nice – and gorgeous visuals, too.

  17. >Your poetry is wonderful. I especially love the first one! I know just the person who would love to read this so I'll send her your way!I especially came by to thank you for responding to my 'disaster' post. I appreciated your thoughts. I kept my head above water and am now watching the river go down. I am still isolated in the CBD as am surrounded by water and no businesses are operating.BTW I have a Publication Party started on my blog. I'd love it if you could come by and read what authors have to say about getting published. Perhaps you could leave a comment about your aspirations. There are prizes each week. Please come by. The champagne's free!Denise ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. >I love these, they are so powerful. And such wonderful pictures too ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. >I can only echo whatโ€™s already been said: superb words accompanied by fantastic images!

  20. >I wanted to say thank you to everyone for your kind words. I'm really loving the challenge and trying to improve each week.It's been a crazy week for pretty much all of us and getting back into the swing of things has been a challenge!Again, thank you for stopping by and I really appreciate your taking the time to read and comment. Sorry I've been absent these last few days.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

